We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 318
USD 187
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 373
USD 220
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 187
USD 132
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 204
USD 150
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mets Shibuya(Shibuya)(Great Value!)
USD 153
USD 102
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 173
USD 128
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 164
USD 132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 163
USD 150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sakura Fleur Aoyama(Shibuya)(Great Value!)
USD 109
USD 93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 250
USD 173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,925)
Filter reviews
1,929 results
Traveller rating
975
728
150
38
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
975
728
150
38
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeshibuya stationsky view roomtop floorcorner roomstar hotelmt fujiminute walkbusiness hotelcity viewexcellent hotelpark hyattspacious roomlost in translationtokyo standardsjapanese standardsfamous shibuya crossing
Filter
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 1,929 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

This is a nice hotels, location is great and rooms, even though small, are comfortable and well laid out. Where it falls for me , as a non Japanese speaker, the staff is stiff and not many have ability to help in english. They are efficient when they understand but not warm. Probably due to language barrier, but would not recommend unless your functional or want just location.

Stayed: January 2015
1  Thank Phoenixmontreal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Whenever we travel, my wife and I like to experience as much of a place as we possibly can and also have the luxury of going back to a quiet retreat at the end of the day. We wanted to experience the grittier side of Tokyo that Shibuya, Shinjuku, Harajuku and it's surrounding environs had to offer, but we knew that staying at a hotel right on top of the "Scramble" just won't do. The Cerulean, despite the mixed reviews, was our best option. It was also a plus that the hotel is a mere 5 minute walk from the Shibuya station which serves as a stop for the Narita Express.

The Cerulean is located across an 8 lane road from the Shibuya station. The neighborhood behind the hotel pleased us as it is quiet and affluent. The topography is hilly. Crisscrossed by narrow lanes that encourage a leisurely stroll. Home to the Shibuya Cultural Center, a scattering of cafes and restaurants, low-rise apartment buildings, small homes straight from an architectural magazine and a few old wooden houses, it is a world apart from what images of Shibuya usually convey.

The hotel is par for the course in Asia as far as 4 to 5 star hotels go. The modern lobby with its high ceilings, medium-toned wood paneling, immaculate dark tiled floors and floor to ceiling glass walls looking out onto a lush garden is imposing, dignified and elegant all at once. It was meant to be this way as The Cerulean is not a budget hotel. The restaurant beside the lobby has a split-level design to allow diners at the rear to also have a view of the garden. The rooms were huge. Really. And we had an amazing view of the mountains. As is expected in Japan, everything was up to spec. The decor was modern, but the medium tones brought the energy level down a notch. The bed and linens were fantastic. The bathroom was big and clean. For the amount of money we paid for it, we were surprised at how much we got. As it is in a mixed-use development, there is even a Family Mart (24 convenience store) and an Italian restaurant just outside the side entrance.

During our stay, we found that the hotel is truly a convenient base from which to experience what we call the "left side" of the Yamanote line (on the JR route map, the Yamanote Line is depicted as a circle). There is, of course, the Shibuya "Scramble" touted as the busiest intersection in the world. It is easy to find as the intersection is right outside the "Hachiko" exit of Shibuya station. Also, if you want to experience eating like a local, head to the food court at the basement of the Shibuya station called the Tokyu Food Show. Your. Jaw. Will. Drop. There are no tables and chairs. Instead, what you get is wall to wall of any kind of Japanese food you can think of. Tempura, sushi, sashimi, sukiyaki, ramen, tonkatsu, yakitori, etc.

From Shibuya station, it is just one stop to Harajuku station which is the gateway to five, yes, five points of interest. Yoyogi Park where skaters and the youth of Tokyo hang out. The Meiji Shrine which is a must see. Takeshita Street of Cosplay fame. Omotesando/Aoyama which is touted as the Champs Elysee of Tokyo. And Cat street. (Top Tip: Don't get turned off by the description of Omotesando/Aoyama as the Champs Elysee of Tokyo, otherwise, you'll miss the chance to wander the side streets off of the main drag where hip and cool local labels have located their stores.) Shinjuku, known for its shopping, eating, non-stop nightlife and red light district, is also just a couple of stops from Shibuya.

If you want a Shibuya hotel that removes you from all the hustle and bustle at the end of the day, then The Cerulean is the right choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank mark_ocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

Large hotel in a great location in Shibuya. Only a 2min walk from Shibuya station. Bathrooms were great and the beds comfy (though the normal hard Japanese style).

Views were great over Tokyo and the mountains. We stayed here for our only night in Tokyo and loved it. Shibuya is great place to walk around at night and take in all the Japanese culture. Very safe also.

Recommend for a short stay in Tokyo. Easy access from Narita on the NEX, only the third stop.

Stayed: January 2015
Thank TheDnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Cerulean tower is a large hotel with no atmosphere and slightly unhelpful and unfriendly staff. We found it to be impersonal and cold. The food in the hotel was extremely expensive - $8 cappuccino for example. The foyer was very busy. The hotel does have convenient access to shibuya station

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonnieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

This hotel is generally well equiped and very well located in terms of the airport bus and the metro stations but is not focused on the needs of foreign tourists. I booked this hotel online and got quite a good price for my week long stay. The price didn't include wifi, charged per device, nor breakfast at a rather high 3326 Yen per day.
Room quite large but rather compact luggage and hanging space, inadequate for two guests each with large suitcases. Room very overheated and offers complementary tea bags but charges for in room coffee. Reception, concierge and porter Staff not terribly helpful possibly due to their limited English language skills.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Mt Fuji
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews