We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfortable apartment in a district outside...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ota, Tokyo, Tokyo Prefecture, Kanto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
danna701
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A comfortable apartment in a district outside Tokyo”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in Kamata, an area a half-hour on the train from Tokyo. And yes, we saw Mt. Fuji on several occasions, morning and at sunset. But I would recommend the apartment with two strong caveats. First, you must be traveling light enough to take public transport from Narita and then switch to the JR Railroad which takes you to Kamata Station. We took a taxi from Narita and it was costly and the driver had a hard time finding the address. But we are an elderly couple and being on a long trip, we had lots of luggage. So ease of transport was primary for us, but very expensive. Second, if you are not Asian, you must be comfortable being "the other." During the 8 days we spent, walking out and about in the neighborhood, we saw two other Westerners. We have lived in countries where we were the minority, so it was a familiar experience to us. But we did miss having conversations with other people; we do not speak Japanese and most people we encountered did not speak English. That made getting accurate instructions difficult at times.

The apartment was very comfortable for the two of us. We slept in the larger bedroom; the bed had a box frame and we stubbed our toes and said bad words a few times before we adapted! But the second bedroom had one single bed very close to the floor, and a 4th person would actually have to sleep on a mattress on the floor...that would not have been suitable for us. The kitchen was new and modern though I would have liked to have a small frying pan and spatula, to fry an egg for breakfast. There should have been 4 knives and forks, not everyone eats with chopsticks. There were two large closets with a great supply of hangers; no drawers, but some counter space in the large bedroom and a shelf over both closets. I just kept my things in one of the open suitcases in the spare bedroom. The shower and tub were great, lots of hot water and good water pressure. There was a washing machine and you dry the clothes by hanging them on the shower rod and turning up the heat, it took about 3 hours.

It would have been good to have instructions about the heating, the way to use the stove/toaster, the heater in the lavatory in English. Pictures just aren't adequate. But Felix, the caretaker, came and turned the heat on for us and also took my husband to the train station to get a travel card and showed him how to put additional money on the card.
We learned the train and subway system with only a few mistakes, so we got around in the city okay. All in all, it was a good amount of space for a very reasonable price and we found it a pleasure to be in an actual neighborhood.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Kindly note that the location is not outside Tokyo. It's in fact in south Tokyo - nearer to Haneda International Airport. OTA ward where my apartment block is at ...is part of 23 main wards (or districts) of Tokyo city.

Haneda International Airport is also in fact the preferred direct access airport due to its nearer & cheaper distance into central Tokyo as compared to Narita Airport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment was very convenient to Kamata station which made it easy to get to Tokyo and surrounds. Having a supermarket close by meant we could prepare our own meals when we wanted to but otherwise there were plenty of places around the station to eat. The apartment was clean and the WiFi worked very well. The owner sent us clear directions on how to get there and access the apartment together with detailed instructions on how to operate all the appliances in the apartment and information on the surrounding area. A couple of small inconveniences were that there wasn't much in the way of western cutlery or crockery and the towels were made of a polyester chamois material that wasn't very absorbent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenient location
Liked least: Towels
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2015
Hi Philippa,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We have replaced the bath towels with 100% full soft cotton type. As for kitchen utensils, we shall review in the new year.

Cheers!
Chong
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment!! Very close to train station.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment was absolutely stunning. We loved staying in the apartment it was very clean and comfortable. We were staying in the apartment with my husband and myself along with our 6ft 3" teenage son and it was more than spacious enough for us. The view of the city from the twelfth floor was fantastic. The instructions to get the apartment and also the instructions to get into the apartment were spot on. Felix will help you with anything that you need to know and he was very quick to answer any email that you would send to him. There were many positives in the apartment and only a couple of negatives. The wifi was not too good and also there could be a few more pots, pans and cutlery placed in the apartment. Other than that we had a very nice comfortable stay in Tokyo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: THe closeness to the train station
Liked least: Not enough crockery and cutlery in the kitchen
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Security, location & cleaniliness
Liked least: No drinking glasses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Membrado
Alameda, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The place is very nice , it was our first time visiting Japan but we stayed for 10 days, the place is new and very clean , very close to train station and 2 stops away from the Tokyo center. The place is very close to supermarket and different restaurants and stores that are not expensive but sell excellent stuff esp. very convenient if you get hungry at night because some stores is open 24 hrs. Before arriving at Tokyo the owner constantly communicate with me and the detailed instructions how to find the place is great . Also Felix was so nice to heck with us.The pocket wifi is very useful . Definitely will stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing