We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,844)
Filter reviews
1,844 results
Traveller rating
536
904
283
75
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
904
283
75
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meguro station shuttle bus spg platinum bamboo lounge cafe california shuttle service japanese garden health club the hotel offers club lounge nice garden chinese restaurant quiet location narita airport upgraded room business traveler concierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
866 - 871 of 1,844 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed here 2 nights with 3 young children and managed to get two adjoining rooms, which were a delight after 3 weeks Papua New Guinea ! The staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Especially at the "travel desk" they gave us very practical information about the subway and so on. The Airport Limousine Bus is also an advantage and a comfortable way to get to/from the airport.
The main disadvantage are the extremely high prices of the meals. Breakfast for 5 persons costs over 13.000 YEN and consists of a menu instead of a buffet.
Our experience in the Japanese restaurant wasn't what we expected of it. The 10.000 YEN menu per person was well below what you would expected for that price. The entree tasted like a jelly fish ; the raw fish didn't look fresh and the tempura dish was quite tasteless. The desert was a joke: one scoop of icecream and that's all.
The Japanese restaurant named Tokyo in Hilversum - the Netherlands, is twice as good and is half the price....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagschev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stayed here for 6 nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed myself. The hotel may be a little old but the lobby area is spectacular and the Tour Desk phenomenally experienced and helpful. The restaurants were great as well with good food and reasonable prices.

All in all the stay was great, the only drawbacks (both of which I found minor) were the plumbing noises from the rooms next door, not all that surprisingly given the amazing toilets they have in Japan with a variety of built in features which woke me a couple of times and the location which necessitated a taxi ride to the nearest Metro station (only a couple of pounds) so that you could get out into the city proper.

Definitely recommended for the first time visitor to Tokyo though. One thing though - you can't use the pool if you have visible tattoos (unless you cover them up) it's a cultural thing but that applies to all hotels

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gray_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Having stayed at the Westin Tokyo a couple of times, I decided to try the Sheraton Miyako on the last business trip since it is the only other option to stay within the SPG network. Overall, I was a bit dissappointed with my experience and am probably not going to come back here again.

The hotel has a lot going for it. Though located in a quiet residential neighborhood, it has convenient bus transfers to Narita and is about a 2500 yen cab ride away from the financial district or the Ginza shopping district. It has 3 restaurants on property - a Chinese, an American, and a Japanese. All serve great food with attentive service. In general, the service in the hotel is considerate without being overbearing.

However, it is an old property in the midst of a rehab, and that leads to pretty uneven standards. A few examples include:

1. Some rooms are remodeled with newer bathroom fixtures, LCD flat panels, digital AC controls etc. But if you are a SPG elite like me and have the misfortune of being "upgraded" to a deluxe room in the SPG floor, you may get a 20" tube TV, antiquated manual AC controls that may not work well, and bath room fixtures that show their age.

2. Internet in room was fast and free. But no in-room wifi. You have to drag the wire to put in a LAN connection. And the wire is not long enough to let you work anywhere except the desk. There is a quota of LAN users that fills in rather quickly every evening, and one evening I was basically told I have to wait for others to get out of internet before I could get in.

3. While the Narita airport bus is great, the hotel is not on the Haneda airport bus route. Haneda is the airport closer to Tokyo that a lot of business travellers prefer given that it is 20 minutes way from the city as opposed to Narita which is 90 minutes away.

4. This is more of a personal thing. I need to catch up on the financial markets when I am on the road, so having Bloomberg or CNBC is great. The only English channel available here was BBC. No English entertainment channels as well. (This was probably more of a function of the Analog TV with a 14 channel restriction)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrmNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The room rates alone make the Sheraton Miyako Tokyo Hotel a good option for someone seeking the comfort and convenience of a city hotel without the cost that's typical of a such a property. The room rates, however, are the only discounted feature. The hotel's restaurants and services are extremely expensive. Even more perhaps than you might expect of a Sheraton branded property. Still, the Miyako Tokyo is clean, well maintained, and provides excellent service. The rooms are comfortable and well maintained.

The hotel concierge service is a highlight. All of the representatives spoke very good English and provided terrific service. We were given lots of maps with explicit directions and guidance. They provide Japanese taxi cards for easy access to various sites and assisted with dinner reservations and train schedules.  

There is a free shuttle that runs every 15 minutes until 10pm to Meguro Station where you can catch the Metro or JR trains. Each morning to 10am another shuttles will take you to Shinagawa Station whee you can catch the Shinkansen bullet train. The  metro station is a 5 minute walk and sits on both the Toei and Tokyo metro lines which provide several easy options into Tokyo.

You may have heard that cash machines are a challenge in Japan since many local banks do not take American debit or credit cards. The best option to beat this tend is to use an international bank machine such as HSBC or Citibank which are open 24 hours. Another option is a post office which is just across the street from the metro station, about 5-10 minutes from the hotel.

All in all, the Sheraton Miyako Hotel is a good option for your stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I stayed here for two nights and had a very typical Sheraton experience -- nice property, good room (albeit a little small by US standards), decent amenities, good service. While it's certainly not a "luxury" hotel, it's a very safe bet for anyone looking for a reliable hotel in Tokyo. While the hotel is not in the heart of Tokyo's tourist districts, it's a short walk to the subway and there's a shuttle bus that runs to Meguro station on the JR line (i.e., you can get anywhere you want to get to pretty easily).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canucklleheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews