We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel along the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice hotel along the bay”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

i liked this hotel, we had a great view of the bay, with the rainbow bridge and many of the towers that sprinkle tokyo. it's a large hotel in daiba, and it's in a nice location to run along the water. the trails reminded me of running along river thames in london (industrial parts, natural parks, overgrown shrubs, sand banks, etc.). did not interact much with staff, but they were courteous when we saw each other! i liked the lobby, it was open with access to hotel wifi. you are located across the way from a mall, so if you forget items, this area has a lot of shopping areas to find things. close to transportation so it's not difficult to go across the bay and into other parts of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlflyingsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    1,022
    213
    72
    37
See reviews for
1,062
806
194
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I made a tripadvisor account for the purpose of writing a review for this hotel.

Our room was on the 12th floor, with ocean view, and the view was breathtaking. I spent hours on the terrace at night, just enjoying some snacks and looking out towards the city. The room itself is big in size for Japan, the bathroom is as well, beds/pillows etc where all perfectly comfortable.

What made me really love this hotel is the staff. The Japanese will in general, treat tourists very well, but I really felt like I was treated like royalty here. Every staff member, went completely out of their way for us, between literally stopping us from touching our luggage upon entering, until it was placed in the middle of our room, moving chairs behind us if seen standing up for too long, offering warm towels while standing in any line, and having 15 minute conversations with us to help us get around the city, and tell us the most cost effective routes around Japan.

For the people complaining about no free internet - for 1080 yen (roughly $10-$15 USD) for your ENTIRE STAY (not per night) the staff will personally bring a router to your room, and you will enjoy incredibly fast (in my experience close to 1 megabyte per second) internet access. If you really don't want to pay that, wifi is free in the main lobby - which - is also, extremely comfortable and nice looking, just ask reception for the password.

The only downside of this hotel is its location, while there is plenty to do on the island of Odaiba, if you want to go into back onto the mainland of Tokyo, the fastest way is a 300 yen train ride on the private Yurikamome line, however the station is literally right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Varun3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hmm.. where to begin? I had high expectations after reading about this hotel on this website. We chose this hotel because it was our third time to Tokyo, and we wanted to stay somewhere quiet with a pretty decent view of the Rainbow bridge.Plus, we haven't really been to Odaiba on previous trips, and Grand Pacific Le Daiba was fully booked.. therefore, we booked this one.
First of all, I totally agree that English is a big issue. The people at the check in counter could understand a limited amount of English, and only few of them can converse in English. If you asked a question out of their general comfort zone, looks of panic immediately shows in their faces.Then, instead of holding up the lines.. they would just politely ask you to go to your room, and call customer service, which I did. HOWEVER... there is a BIG but for this.. apparently there is no communication between the Customer Service people and the front desk. I was asking for two adult tickets to Disney Land, being a Disney Neighbor-Friendly Hotel, usually, they provide tickets on sale at the front desk and a free shuttle bus to Disney Land. What happened was that, they asked me to call customer service, so I did.. and the friendly nice guy on the other end assured me that it would be no problem, and I could just collect my two tickets from the front desk. So, I went to the front desk again, and asked them for the two tickets... WELL.. the guys there were pretty annoyed as they told me that there were no tickets available until next week. As I try to explain to them what the customer service guy said to me, they were just kind of annoyed or didn't understand what I was saying, at the point where both parties were kind of losing some hair. In the end, their only response was " i can't do anything about it"... uhh.. ok.
Then, I asked to book the bus to Disneyland.. and be warned, as there were only four buses leaving in the morning, and four buses returning at night. They told me that the buses were fully booked as well. Well, it is the summer season you know, the hotel might consider adding more bus times in order to accommodate your guests, or else why would we want to stay in a hotel that's far away from the city, but closer to Disneyland? Big minus for this hotel at this point. We did go to Disneyland in the end, without any of the hotel's help. It was just insane trying to reason wtih them.
Thirdly, we were placed in a room which was right across from their service elevator, which meant that there would be people going in and out and slamming the doors. We complained about this to the front desk upon check in and requested another room, but the manager was dead set on not changing the rooms for us, but did promise that he would tell the staff to quiet down. However, during our four day stay, there was quite an amount of slamming doors, but we were NOT allowed to change our rooms.
There was also another peculiar thing we found in the rooms... not sure if that's typical in Japan.. or at least, we really haven't seen in any other self-proclaimed 4-5 star hotel. There was porn available pay per view, but with a preview for the porns available on the tube. I was pretty appalled by this, seems like something you would only find in a motel, but not in a 4-5 star hotel! When I mentioned this to a couple of Japanese friends.. they were pretty surprised as well. Being a JAL hotel, we really didn't expect this kind of service or treatment, and as I mentioned I would not stay in this hotel again.

Con: No free internet or WIFI here, for internet addicts, probably not the best place to stay.
English language a big problem.
Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that faces Tokyo Bay and Rainbow bridge... don't get stuck with the one facing the Metro station.
Food is REALLY pricey in the hotel, would suggest eating in Diver City, Decks or Aqua city right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fleurbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel was absoluetly wonderful from the get-go. Upon arrival, I was dismayed to see the check-in line about 15 people deep, however, there were waiters passing out complimentary beverages to those waiting. And the view out the window was spectacular making the wait bearable. The staff really made you feel being catered to and many speak English so communication was never an issue.

We were given a room with a great view of the Rainbow Bridge and could also see the Sky Tree from our balcomy. We had a triple occupancy room which meant two twin beds and one additional twin mattress (??) that was set up lower on the floor. It looked almost like a futon. In any case, all the beds were very comfy, even the quasi bed on the floor.

The bathroom was very spacious with a glass door that separates the bath area from the vanity / toilet area. It was a Japanese style bath with a separate shower area and a western style tub to soak in.

The stay also included a breakfast buffet, which was...ok. If it isn't included in the hotel stay; skip it. Opt for a cheaper rate withouth the breakfast if you can. The view from the restaraunt is great but not worth paying extra for this breakfast buffet. Food at the hotel is pricey. Prepare to spend close to $100/person if you're eating in...:-( There are so many great places to eat outside of the hotel within walking distance so take the time to explore. You'll be happier and richer that way.

To end the review on a positive note, the hotel is excellently situated, especially for spending a day in Odaiba where there is plenty to do. We spent an entire day exploring the area and had a great time! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Wow where to begin.
Japan is amazing! This hotel was conveniently located to the metro,food,shopping and had everything one might need 24hours.
- The room we stayed in was #1004 and the beds were very comfortable, the linnens cozy bathroom clean and large. Toiletries given were way above average.
The balcony was good sized and again the view at night was beautiful.
- If you are a night owl the metro stops at midnight and does not begin untill 5 am, so make plans an advance.
- I would recommend the Nikko to anyone not on a budget. A very luxerious proper place to stay. Free wi-fi in lobby.
- Staff was top notch.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4,057 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo Odaiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo Odaiba

Property: Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Address: 1-9-1 Daiba, Minato 135-8625, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Nikko Tokyo)
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minato
#4 Business Hotel in Minato
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#7 Spa Hotel in Minato
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price range (per night): $210 - $842
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo Odaiba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront area of Tokyo Bay, Hilton Tokyo Odaiba enjoys spectacular 180-degree ocean views, with each guest room overlooking stunning views of Tokyo's skyline, Rainbow Bridge or Tokyo Tower from its private balcony. The hotel is also strategically situated only minutes away from a popular entertainment and shopping area as well as a key business and commercial district. With a wide selection of dining options and two levels of flexible meeting facilities, Hilton Tokyo Odaiba offers both business and leisure travelers a memorable stay like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Wotif.com, Rakuten, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Hilton Tokyo Odaiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Tokyo Hotel
Nikko Tokyo Minato
Hotel Nikko Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing