We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel with easy access to different parts of city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The hotel is located very close to the West exit (Takanawa 高輪口) of Shinagawa Station. Just cross the road and enter the opposite mall called "Wing". Walk up a few stairs and the hotel entrance is just around the corner.

The hotel is huge and with four different buildings. I stayed in the recently renovated high floor double in the main tower. My room was facing the station and can see the Tokyo tower on the far left. Those facing West or North would likely to have a better view (Shinjuku or Tokyo Tower respectively).

The room is very modern and is large in Japanese standard. The bathroom also is of good size and have a bathtub. There is a small and empty fridge, boiler and safe in the room. You can find a drink vending machine on the same floor.

I checked in at around 10:30pm and need to wait for a while as only 2-3 counter were in operation. It would have been better if more staff is stationed, but the wait time is still acceptable.

My room rate did not include the breakfast, and it would cost Y2000 per day per person, which is too expensive to me. There are McDonald's and some other cafes nearby that serve breakfast, and also a 7-eleven right next to the hotel in the mall "Wing".

Check-out was swift and the luggage service is good.

Narita Express stops right at Shinagawa Station and there are a lot of lines that stops here too, so it is pretty convenient to explore around the city by rail.

Overall, this is a huge hotel with a very good location, and the double room that I stayed was well worth (in Tokyo standard - it is an expensive city).

Room Tip: Try to book one of the high floor room on the main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,240 of 3,707 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

This hotel is situated just opposite Shinagawa rail station which makes it an excellent choice for tourists. We spent 10 nights here in October 2009 to spend time with our son who was studying in Tokyo. This is a large hotel with many shops and restaurants within the complex. Our room was comfortable and clean with everything you could need. Staff were helpful and friendly. I would stay here again and would be happy to recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveladdict999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

First, a disclosure: this was my first visit to Japan and I have no other hotel to compare it to.

We were booked into a North Tower twin room - 2 twin beds in a tiny room, with a tiny bathroom, and tiny closet. Tiny walking space. Even a tiny (1 cup) teapot.

Other than the size, there was nothing bad about the room, but there was nothing good about it either. Bed was uncomfortable. Lots of street noise. Bathroom access was terrible - 1 step up through a tiny door with nothing to hang onto - if you have bad knees (I do) the bathroom is a nuisance to get into.

The location is fantastic. It is right across from the Shinagawa train station so almost anyplace in Tokyo is easily accessible. There are many restaurants in the immediate area.

I would not stay here again. But i know for my next trip to Japan to plan on spending 4 times as much for a room. We spent less in China for a suite in a 5 star hotel. Japan is simply expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The 11st floor main tower room was clean and reasonably quiet but room view to annex tower. The bed was comfortable. Internet access is not free (1000yen/day) at main tower but overhearded that Annex tower is free. Swimming pools also not free 1000yen/person for indoor pool but outdoor pools is closed and open for summer season. Shinagawa station is just over the road and direct train to both airport. 1450yen to Narita and 400 yen to Haneda. So access to everywhere in Tokyo and beyond is quick and easy. This is a huge hotel and consequently being in the public areas is a bit like being in the railway station - busy and noisy. Check out timing is 11AM too early and let us leave baggage at bell counter until flight out at mid night.I stayed here for a holiday and walk aorund the area and nice to see local japanese culture living condition, it's good value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

old dated hotel. decor old. bathroom small. but very conveniently located close to Shinagawa Station- where one can catch the JR trains, Keihin trains, Narita Express, Bullet train, etc.
also not far from ginza by taxi, or tsukiji fish market by taxi. also close to roppongi.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinagawa, Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa, Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Shinagawa, Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinbashi Shiodome, Odaiba
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
#14 of 117 in Minato
3,296 reviews
Kanda, Akihabara, Ochanomizu
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 82 in Chiyoda
2,103 reviews
Shinagawa, Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: AU$145 - AU$328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, JAPANiCAN, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing