We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad points”
Review of The Westin Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good and bad points”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Nothing to write home about its what i would expect from a hotel of its stanard, Good sized room nice bathroom with bath and walkin shower.
down sides not many english language channels on the TV and also no free wifi

Overall the stay was ok but not sure i would stay there if i was the one paying (Business trip)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank code21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    606
    143
    40
    29
See reviews for
337
470
154
480
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Just another very average-nothing special-overpriced older Westin in a large city. For a three-night SPG award stay, we were pre-upgraded to probably the best possible non-suite room, the view facing corner room on the floor of the executive lounge. Yes, the rooms are larger than many of the new modern hotels and it seems the hotel has been maintained well though the bathroom definitely had the 1980s/ early 90s decor. The breakfast buffet (way subpar when compared to the Taipei Le Meridien where we stopped next) and executive lounge offerings (way subpar when contrasted with the Seoul Westin Chosun that we came from) were nothing to rave about; with lots of dining options a short walk away, we did not try any other F&B outlets on property. The staffs were accommodating and polite. The SPG Platinum amenity we selected was a novelty item, a mini, USB-plug-in keyboard vacuum.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rm_1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed five days during private trip to Tokyo. Never before been to Tokyo and therefore didn’t know what to expect from location, now I can say that Ebisu and nearby Daikanyama are very cool areas for both shopping and having drinks in the evening. Not so crowded and loud as overrated Roppongi and Ginza but with great restaurants, bars and some serious shopping (specially Daikanyama).
Now back to the hotel. It is old Europe style of hotel with perfect service and food. I noticed few comments on style of the hotel, many of Westin hotels are more conservative style hotels but this type in addition is very popular in Japan as everything coming from Europe and USA. Rooms are very specious for Japanese standards, clean and for sure not outdated. I have been on 11th, non smoking floor, and room was spotless, really nothing to say negative. I stayed in many modern, new and progressive hotels that needed refurbishment only few years after opening. On top of room price they include a lot of taxes incl 10% service charge which increase overall price (wasn’t aware of that). Concierge Masako was very helpful with very good reco for sushi bar, one of nicest concierge I encountered around world. I was there during golden week and both lobby bar and breakfast were overcrowded, you have to apply for waiting list for lobby bar in the afternoon, obviously very popular, not sure is it always like that or just due to holidays. Traditionally you pay for internet and there is no discount for more days which is only thing I regret, wireless in the lobby is for free though.
Both metro and JR stations are 10 min from the hotel and you can use moving escalators to speed your walking, good thing is that from the hotel you go directly via underground passage to the station, very usefully if it is raining which I experienced.
Yebisu garden place in front of the hotel is nice combination of shopping and some restaurants incl few breakfast options as Westin breakfast if you don’t have it in your rate is more then 30 EUR.
I used limousine bus from airport to the hotel and it took hour and half to get to the hotel. Found it very convenient as transfer to and from airport. I took return ticket where you get 2 days metro pass (pls note that in Tokyo you have two metro operators, one is private with four lines and this pass is not valid for private one).
Overall very good experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
1,058 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had never been to Tokyo before so took a stab at this hotel by using our SPG points for free nights. We knew nothing about the neighborhood so let me start from scratch. If you are staying here, fly into Haneda which is only a 30 minute taxi ride away ($USD 90) but still much easier than getting to the hotel from Narita which is 2 hours + drive away. The hotel is gorgeous, we loved the marble and the columns and it feels very European. The check in staff and the concierge staff were some of the best we encountered on our three week Asian tour. The room was lovely and we had a great view of the Tokyo Tower out of the window. Room service on our final day was fantastic; a young man delivered a club sandwich and fries to my room;, took off his shoes before entering the room, bowed, brought in the food, bowed, went to the door, turned around, bowed again and then put his shoes on and left! The service and courteousness of all the Japanese people we encountered in Tokyo helped us to fall in love with the city. The room had a great shower, and a heated toilet seat with built in bidet which is intimidating at first but once you use it, you will love it! After the primitive holes in the ground we encountered in China, all the toilets in Tokyo were amazing! The hotel is right across the street from a mall with nice restaurants and a Starbucks, great for breakfast as the hotel breakfast is very expensive. The train station is right there and you have access to both the JR and the subway so convenient, and so easy to use. It's close to Rappongi (one stop on the train away) for night life and on the same line as the Ginza district which is great especially at night. The only negative is that the downstairs bar permitted smoking, which meant we did not use it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuko K, Yuko Kikuchi, E-commerce coordinator, Marketing The Westin Tokyo at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking much of your valuable time to review us.
We are happy to hear of your delightful stay with us. We take pride in our immaculate Japanese hospitality, catering to our guests with genuine personal care. Do take care and hurry back, we anxiously await for your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Westin Tokyo as a solo female guest and loved every minute of it. In total I stayed for 7 nights and after spending each day walking around Tokyo it was always a delight to come 'home' to the Westin. The staff were friendly and helpful and in particular the house-keeping staff serviced my room beautifully. If you are a woman staying at the Westin on your own make a note to ask about the 'women only' floor on level five. It was lovely and quiet and security was never an issue. I often relaxed in the lobby and took advantage of the free wi-fi - the lobby staff always made me feel welcome to lounge around at my own will. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance to Ebisu station. I often went to the fantastic food hall in the Mitsukoshi department store across the road from the hotel - the takeaway salads are the best I have had in a long time. The supermarket is also very well stocked for those familiar items you want to take back to your hotel room. Mitsukoshi itself was a great place to purchase quality gifts to take home. There is also a great wine shop called Wine and Party - worth a visit. I am already missing Tokyo and plan on visiting again - I will certainly be staying at the Westin Tokyo.

Room Tip: Level 5 is a 'women's only' floor - for many women travelling on their own this is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EurobodallaEnvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meguro
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 82 in Shinjuku
4,288 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,842 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,926 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tokyo

Property: The Westin Tokyo
Address: 1-4-1 Mita | Ebisu Garden Place, Meguro 153-8580, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Price range (per night): $350 - $573
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of immaculate Japanese service, we tailor each guest's stay with personal, instinctive, and heartfelt hospitality. Enjoy the quietness in an upscale neighborhood of central Tokyo while staying close to the heart of actions happening at popular downtown sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Starwood APAC, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Tokyo Hotel Meguro
Westin Hotel Tokyo
Westin Hotel Meguro
Westin Tokyo
Meguro Westin
The Westin Tokyo Meguro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing