We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Small but Fine Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Tokyo Ginza
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Great Location - Small but Fine Rooms”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The Mercure Ginza has a fantastic location, and that its key asset. It is also right on top of a metro station (which is handy but there are metro stations everywhere in Tokyo, its train system must be at the top of any scale). The hotel staff were helpful and spoke good English (which in Japan is not a given). You can walk to any of the many Ginza amenities and shops in no time at all. As Ginza is centrally located in Tokyo, this is a great place to use as your base.

The rooms were not big. But this is Tokyo where space is at a significant premium. Despite their small size I found the rooms reasonably comfortable. The toilet seat is typical Japanese which is great. Everyone should have one at home. Bed quality and cleanliness were also good.

Internet (ethernet, not wifi) is available at NO cost in the room. It is also of excellent quality. That is definitely a big plus. Wi-fi is available (also for no charge) at reception.

I booked the Mercure online and got a very reasonable rate through one of the most popular booking websites.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone going to Tokyo on holiday or business. It is not a corporate hotel but it is perfectly adequate on the things that matter: location, cleanliness, and fast and free internet access.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
営業部, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    748
    186
    37
    12
See reviews for
328
442
127
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Portugal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The Mercure is an average hotel centrally located in the shopping and business district of Ginza. At first I was not pleased by the receptionist's attitude, when on arriving around Sunday lunchtime after a gruelling 10 hour flight from Europe, heavily jetlagged into the bargain, she told me check-in was at 3pm, and to come back later! She offered to keep my luggage, but I told her there was no way I was going to go away and insisted that there must be at least one room ready for me. Five minutes later she handed me the keycard to a room, and I thought she might have checked room availability first before she told me to go away and come back later. Not what you want to hear after such a long transcontinental flight.

Room rates are reasonable, around half of what you pay at the priciest locations in Ginza. Breakfast is not included in the price, but there are a number of good, clean cafes in the neighbourhood where you can eat well for Y 800-1000. The other main complaint with this hotel is that the reception is not on the ground floor as you enter, but you need to take a lift up to the second floor.

The room I got had two beds in it, so had very little free space and the reception staff described this to me as a free upgrade, but I'd have preferred a room with only one bed and more space to open my luggage out in. There is a heated toilet seat in the bathroom which I found amusing to operate. Overall this hotel is not top luxury but it does the job at a sensible price.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by their claims of a free upgrade which in reality is often a worse room with le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
営業部, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times which by itself would be a recommendation. This hotel sits right in the middle of Ginza shopping and eating, everything less than a stone throw away.
The rooms are very tight though; it is a miracle almost how they managed to squeeze all facilities in. To recommend these rooms as comfortable depends very much if you are traveling alone or together. I would think of these rooms as single person rooms no matter if there are double rooms in the offering; two pieces of luggage represent an issue because there is very limited storage capacity in the room and space around beds is very limited too.
None of the rooms have a view, most of them are looking at the Tokyo race authorization building or its neighboring building, both not worth to have a look at at all.
If plans are to hang out in the city all day this hotel is a very good choice of hotel because it sits on top of a subway station Ginza Ichome. Breakfast, dinner and coffee places all over. Tokyo central at the doorstep of the hotel, it's all right there as soon as you leave the ground floor entry.
But when you are dependable of the hotel facilities my recommendation would be different; go and look further.

Hotel staff is pleasant and helpful; breakfast is extended continental and sufficient but it does feel like you are in Paris instead of Tokyo. That is to be expected though from this chain of hotels. Some staff speaks French too, English language use is common for all.

All in all, when you are looking for a luxury hotel with associated facilities do not go here. If you are looking for good international standards without frills and whistles, cleanliness, pleasant staff, perfect location to explore Tokyo (central) and a good price this hotel needs to be on your shortlist.

Room Tip: There is a section female rooms in this hotel; excellent idea. Rooms at higher floors are having my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
営業部, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

- no rain shower and poor bathroom
- expensive
- so so breakfast
- no AI-club platinum recognition
- poor bed linen quality
- no gym room
- no business center
- average hotel although standard service and equipment for this category

Good points:
- free wifi internet in lobby and room.
- central position in Ginza
- kind female staff

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cosmicdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Mercure Tokyo Ginza aims to be a good value 3 star hotel in the heart of Tokyo. As you mentioned unlike some of our more expensive competitors we do not offer a fitness club or business center, but a competitive price in the best possible location. Our multi-lingual staffs have a wealth of local knowledge and are always here to assist guests with whatever type of request they may have.
Regarding the benefits of platinum level members, there are variations depending on the brand you are staying in, and for Mercure hotels members receive automatically double points.
Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is really nice small business hotel just a few minutes walk away from the main shopping street in Ginza.

Rooms are small but then you are in Tokyo, but beds are comfortable, shower powerful and very good toiletries supplied and replenished every day. Internet access (cable) in rooms and wireless in restarant is free, as is breakfast which is very good with a wide selection.

The airport buses don't stop at this hotel but the Marriot is only 5 minutes away from Taxi so getting to and from via there is easy and they book you on for the return journey even though you are not staying there.

You can walk from the subway directly to the hotel so very handy if that is your mode of transport, if not then get reception to call you a taxi or turn left or right when you come out of the hotel and you are on the main street where lots go by.

Lots of restaurants within walking distance, Yakatori street is only a few minutes away and the food there is excellent as is Hajime, at which the food and ambience is truly amazing - high in the price stakes but worth every yen that it costs and more - the taxi stops at the front of the building so you walk past the parking lot turn left and walk down the stairs - booking in advance is a must as this is a secret jem so although open for long hours always busy.

Back to the hotel, if you want a large corporate hotel then this is not for you, but if you want a smaller, clean, well appointed hotel in a good location with good access then it is perfect.

Staff all speak English and are very helpful, restaurant menu if you do not want to go out is also very good, bar area great for relaxing in the evening or for afternoon meetings or catch-ups.

Room Tip: No problems with the room at all so any would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lettzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
営業部, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Hotel Monterey Ginza
#16 of 91 in Chuo
829 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tokyo Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tokyo Ginza

Property: Mercure Tokyo Ginza
Address: 2-9-4 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#7 Family Hotel in Chuo
#9 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price range (per night): $173 - $327
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Tokyo Ginza 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is in Ginza, the Heart of Tokyo. The Location is perfect for business guest heading to Tokyo Big Sight around 15 minutes by taxi or the International Forum in 10 minutes walking distance or leisure travelers looking for a perfect located place to stay. For the Time beside the business we are perfectly located near the Ginza Dori and Harumi Dori shopping streets as well as the Kabuki Theater. Ginza is famous but less crowed then other areas, Ginza Dori as the luxury branded shopping street nearby and the quite area we have, makes Ginza to the best area after a long exploring day in Tokyo. We are in such a colorful and impulsive Area, were you have so many different kinds of people, many cozy, really tasty, high qualitied restaurants and Cafe Shops around the Hotel. These places are the best opportunity to start or end your day in a quiet, peaceful surrounding with a relaxing flair. Right under the Hotel, within the Building, we have Ginza-Itchome Station, served by Yurakucho Metro Line, heading to Tokyo Disney Land or the Sunshine City in Ikebukero. Furthermore, it’s a really short but nice walk to Higashi-Ginza Station and the Ginza Station itself, sometimes you don’t want to go in the underground because of the awesome window decoration of Louis Vuitton or a funny attraction driving on the Ginza Dori. The walk to JR Yurakucho Station is also fascinating because of all the beautiful shops and building you passing till you reach the Station where the JR Yamanote Loop takes you to all the must see parts of Tokyo in the shortest time. From Shibuya Crossing, famous for the huge crowed crossing at the same time over Harajuku, where the colorful Lifestyle meets the peaceful and historical Yoyogi Park and Meiji Shrine to Shinjuku Area, with the skyscrapers district and the government building, from where you could see Mount Fuji on a clear day. The Mercure Tokyo Ginza offers a distinctive French flair and state-of-the-art technology, our French Chef let you escape to the paradise with his French creations combined with one of our imported well-balanced wine from France. Accor Hospitality is far more than a worldwide leader in hospitality, we are a big family who sharing the same passion in all the corners of the world. Welcoming people and provide a home, far away from home is our promise to you, because that's what our hospitality profession tells you - FEEL WELCOME ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Rakuten, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Tokyo Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ginza Tokyo
Mercure Hotel Chuo
Mercure Tokyo Ginza Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing