We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveller rating
762
660
113
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
660
113
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tokyo tower shimbashi station great hotel fish market hotel starts great view of tokyo floor to ceiling hotel is located rooms are small walking distance city view limo bus great shopping excellent location loved this hotel the main shopping street japanese standards
Filter
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Visited this hotel April 2011 for sakura (cherry blossom time). Reception on 16th floor offers fantastic views of Tokyo. Bedrooms are typically Japanese, small and cramped but overall good value for Tokyo. Get a room overlooking Hamarikyu Gardens and Rainbow Bridge. Internet by cable free once you find the hidden connection! Restaurant limited selection and pricey. So we used Hotel Com's just down the road who have an excellent buffet breakfast!
Staff are very attentive and friendly. Excellent location within walking distance of Ginza for shopping, Hibiya Park, Imperial Palace. Close to Shimbashi Station and Yamanote Line with connections to Nippori and Tokyo which both have links to Narita with fast train. Shiodome close by offers fantastic sky restaurants

Room tip: Rooms on East Side overlook Hamarikyu Gardens and Rainbow Bridge
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Positives:

Location is fantastic and central. Hotel is on Narita Limousine Bus route (the journey took 90 minutes in the evening). Furniture in rooms is very modern. Lobby is fantastic, as are room views. Internet price included in room rate (for cable, wireless is extra) - speed was fine. Lots of convenience stores nearby. Rooms are very quiet - I heard no noise from my neighbours and the cleaning doesn't start until 10am, so you won't be woken early. Street noise is almost non-existent.

Negatives:

Room size is small, which was not a surprise, but similar to London hotel sizes.

I was given a smoking room, which stank of smoke. I immediately asked for a non-smoking room and was told as I did not specifically request a non-smoking I could not have one. Really? I have never experienced this at a hotel before. I was also disappointed by the reaction of the staff member I spoke to, who was not at all apologetic about this situation.

No English lanuage TV channels.

Pillows are quite hard (maybe this is Japanese style).

Room tip: Request non-smoking room or you may end up with smoking room.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eloisehawking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I picked the hotel for the price -- affordable luxury and it was in Ginza (the sort of Beverly Hills of Tokyo), since I didn't want to stay in the loud/obnoxious touristy areas. The hotel starts on 16th floor, so it does offer some amazing views. As a solo traveler, the room was what I expected, small, but not cramped, and very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful with my sightseeing questions. Hotel is about a five-minute walk to Metro and seven minute walk to the amazing Tsukiji fish market. Plenty of great eats and shopping in the area. What keeps the hotel from five stars -- no wifi and the internet in the lobby was always booked, and they charge after a certain time. The bar/restaurant was underwhelming and pricey, plenty of other places in the area to drink and dine. Final thought -- the toilets are fun!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccc1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed at the Mitsui Garden Hotel in Feb 2012.

I have stayed at many different hotels in Japan and so can honestly say that the room was small even by Japanese standards.

The good and the not so great:

Good:
Location is great if you want to visit Ginza
Lobby: The lobby is nice and has a great view of Tokyo Tower
Bathroom: The bathroom/shower is very nice and relatively spacious

Not so great:
Room: The room is tiny and there is not even a desk or a chair. Not having a desk or a chair in a hotel room, even in Japan is very unusual.
Closet: There is almost no closet at all and to make matters worse, there is no drawer to put your clothes. If you don't plan on unpacking then this room/hotel may be fine but if you plan on staying a few days in Tokyo, try somewhere else.
Breakfast: Breakfast was included in my rate but it was very average. I've had much better breakfasts at other hotels in Tokyo.

It is a nice looking hotel with good service but I wouldn't go back. There are way too many better options in Tokyo.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queens93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Recommended by a business colleague, this is a nice choice when staying in the Ginza region of Tokyo. It is conveniently located by several subway and rail stations, and an easy cab ride from Tokyo station when you are coming from the airport via Narita Express.

As you'd expect for Tokyo, it has a very modern feel and nice design. Some furniture in the lobby is showing signs of high traffic use, but overall, the property is in good condition. The hotel is usually busy, but the excellent staff manages the property well. The staff speaks English well, so they are able to handle your questions and requests well.

The Hotel entrance is on the street, but the lobby is on the 16th floor. A dedicated elevator inside the street entrance is fast and efficient (you don't have to share elevator with other building occupants).

Rooms are typical Japan size, small, but they are in very good shape and have nice beds and fixtures. Internet is via ethernet cables, so you my have to search out a place for your Wi-Fi device. The views from the rooms are nice, and the view from the lobby is fantastic. On a clear day, you can see Mt. Fuji peeking out from behind the Tokyo tall buildings.

There is lots to do in the local area, obviously there is Ginza for shopping, and the Tsukiji fish market is a must do.

Room tip: Ask for a room that would face towards Mt. Fuji (west) if the weather is clear.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews