We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hotel in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Tokyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The rooms are amazing, both comfortable and highly technological. Add a great location to the typical Peninsula service and you have a terrific combination.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanibel_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    341
    88
    22
    19
See reviews for
383
569
101
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

These guys are a mess. The left hand doesnt know what the right is doing.

Wrong meals delivered by room service, took 40 minutes to get our breakfast in the restaurant, poor service, approached by staff about matters that had nothing to do with us..... we cut short our reservation and moved to the MO as quick as we could.

Let me just say that I have stayed in many hotels in Tokyo and all over Japan, and I can advise that this is by far the most over rated and over priced. Both the Mandarin Oriental and Conrad are streets ahead.

Regarding breakfast, there is no buffet, which is fine, however if you are on a bed and breakfast plan, you breakfast bill is limited to 3800Y ($45) which is also fine, until you realize that the (very bad) cup of cafe latte costs 1200Y !!! $15 for a cup of coffee at breakfast. ha. add a smoked salmon bagel to that at $30 and you have hit your limit. Fancy an orange juice, or anything else ? well, now you have got to pay (alot), for a breakfast that was supposed to be included in your package.

Further, when you are in a bustling city like Tokyo, you are looking for your hotel to be a refuge, an island of calm. The Peninsula is not this. You enter through the main restaurant, which is almost as noisy as the streets outside.

Having stayed at other top hotels in Tokyo, I know there is much better out there, and I will not stand for this nonsense. The other contenders are just so far ahead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MrChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The service was poor and getting decent was impossible. They really need to do something about their whole Food and Beverage Department. Whoever is running it needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I hope I'm lucky enough to come back here some day. Everything about the hotel is beautiful, elegant, and luxurious. The rooms are large, the bathrooms fabulous, and everything is done to the highest standard of comfort. Really, this hotel has thought of every detail.

The location is wonderful, too: just opposite the Imperial Palace, a 7-minute walk from the Ginza, and a 3-minute walk from the Yamanote Line train, which seems to connect to pretty much everything. And if you need to take the subway, there's an entrance to the Hibiya Line from the basement of the hotel!

We were traveling with our granchildren, 8 and 10-year-old boys, and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful and engaging. On arrival day, there was even a table set up in the boys' room with three plates; on each was a large cookie, some mini colored marshmallows, and two small tubes of frosting so that the kids could decorate their own cookies. At every encounter--with restaurant staff, front desk, and concierge--we met with warm, excellent service.

Among the luxury hotels in Tokyo, I can't imagine a better choice than this.

Room Tip: The only difference between a Superior and a Deluxe room is the size of the closet and the amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRuthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

There is no doubt that the facilities at the Peninsula are first class. The rooms are so gorgeous you almost didn't want to leave. Bathrooms were lovely, dressing area was a very nice touch, room was comfortable and extremely inviting. Being in the room was a pleasure. My only reservation is that this was obviously a touristy hotel, which is not a bad thing in and of itself, but I suppose it depends on what you would like to experience. The staff in the hotel were so used to speaking to people in English that when we used what little Japanese we knew you could see the surprise on their faces. When we asked for recommendations on where to go to eat we were directed towards Western cuisine restaurants. When we asked how to get somewhere the first question was if we were going to take a taxi. This a luxurious hotel that serves luxurious people, but if you are like me and actually would like to get down and dirty in the place you are visiting (keeping in mind how difficult it would be to get truly dirty in Tokyo) then this may not give you what you are looking for. Also, Ginza area seemed pretty quiet after the shops closed, but I may not have been looking in the right places. Again, gorgeous hotel, friendly staff, but not really for the adventurous at heart.

Room Tip: Room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheba_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Property: The Peninsula Tokyo
Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price range (per night): $693 - $1,907
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing