We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I hope I'm lucky enough to come back here some day. Everything about the hotel is beautiful, elegant, and luxurious. The rooms are large, the bathrooms fabulous, and everything is done to the highest standard of comfort. Really, this hotel has thought of every detail.

The location is wonderful, too: just opposite the Imperial Palace, a 7-minute walk from the Ginza, and a 3-minute walk from the Yamanote Line train, which seems to connect to pretty much everything. And if you need to take the subway, there's an entrance to the Hibiya Line from the basement of the hotel!

We were traveling with our granchildren, 8 and 10-year-old boys, and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful and engaging. On arrival day, there was even a table set up in the boys' room with three plates; on each was a large cookie, some mini colored marshmallows, and two small tubes of frosting so that the kids could decorate their own cookies. At every encounter--with restaurant staff, front desk, and concierge--we met with warm, excellent service.

Among the luxury hotels in Tokyo, I can't imagine a better choice than this.

Room Tip: The only difference between a Superior and a Deluxe room is the size of the closet and the amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRuthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    332
    84
    21
    19
See reviews for
359
547
99
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

There is no doubt that the facilities at the Peninsula are first class. The rooms are so gorgeous you almost didn't want to leave. Bathrooms were lovely, dressing area was a very nice touch, room was comfortable and extremely inviting. Being in the room was a pleasure. My only reservation is that this was obviously a touristy hotel, which is not a bad thing in and of itself, but I suppose it depends on what you would like to experience. The staff in the hotel were so used to speaking to people in English that when we used what little Japanese we knew you could see the surprise on their faces. When we asked for recommendations on where to go to eat we were directed towards Western cuisine restaurants. When we asked how to get somewhere the first question was if we were going to take a taxi. This a luxurious hotel that serves luxurious people, but if you are like me and actually would like to get down and dirty in the place you are visiting (keeping in mind how difficult it would be to get truly dirty in Tokyo) then this may not give you what you are looking for. Also, Ginza area seemed pretty quiet after the shops closed, but I may not have been looking in the right places. Again, gorgeous hotel, friendly staff, but not really for the adventurous at heart.

Room Tip: Room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheba_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this fabulous hotel. It is a short ride from Tokyo station and located nearby great shopping and nice restaurants. The staff (particularly the concierge staff) were exceptional, helpful and friendly. The rooms are very well appointed with nice amenities and ample sized dressing area. The bed was comfortable and had plenty of pillows. My only minor disappointment was with my massage service. The prices are quite high for a 50 minute massage (which turned out to be 30 minutes after a long Q & A) and my therapist was not as skilled as I had hoped. My husband, however, had a great massage by a therapist that "went right to work" as soon as he entered the room. You must visit the spa. It is very nice treat. We will definately be back for an other stay at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneP683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

In the best three hotels in Japan.

As written in the review below, the one thing The Penninsula Tokyo has over the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo and Park Hyatt Tokyo are the size of their rooms. And what a significant difference. The rooms are immeasurably large, the bathroom is like the size of a tennis court, and the walk-in dressing room is the size of most apartments! The service is impeccable, and the proximity to Ginza shopping district is a great attraction.

Very hard to compare the three hotels mentioned, but a few pointers;
1. The Peninsula Tokyo has much much much larger rooms.
2. The service is faultless at all three hotels.
3. The Peninsula Tokyo is more service by numbers, lots and lots of door staff, receptionist and management in ther lobby. The Manadarin Oriental Tokyo is more subtle. The Park Hyatt is more discreet.
4. The Peninsula Hotel Tokyo has their main dining area in the middle of the lobby, and is very crowded so even for tea, be sure to book.
5. The Peninsula Tokyo is in the best location for travel to most attractions in Tokyo.

Truly a magnificent hotel and their limousine service to local areas is brilliant.
Be sure to ask for a Peninsula Teddy Bear and go downstairs to see their chocolatier & patisserie - wow.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention prior to arrival if youre staying for a special occasion. You'll be upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeanutVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights as a part of our japan trip. The service was very personal- they upgraded us to a better view room because of our honeymoon. The room is one the best In Tokyo, we stayed at the mandarin oriental as well but nothing compares to the size of the room at the peninsula. The happy hour at Peters bar was great with beautiful views of Tokyo. Great hotel location in the heart of Ginza overlooking imperial palace and walking distance from the famous fish market. If I had to say one bad thing, it would be considering it is such a top end hotel, it only has one main restaurant. however I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professional_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Property: The Peninsula Tokyo
Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price range (per night): $778 - $1,524
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing