We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Peninsula Tokyo
Nearby Hotels
USD 545*
USD 416*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 1,010*
USD 952*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 590*
USD 401*
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 804*
USD 645*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 163*
USD 112*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 334*
USD 149*
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 290*
USD 260*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main(Chiyoda)
USD 332*
USD 254*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Niwa Tokyo(Chiyoda)
USD 224*
USD 204*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 361*
USD 149*
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,783)
Filter reviews
1,783 results
Traveller rating
1,271
368
97
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,271
368
97
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdressing roomnail dryerwalk in closetlobby restaurantvalet boxpeter bardeluxe suitepark view roomrolls royceimperial palaceinternet radiomood lightingespresso machinetop floorchinese restaurantdressing areahuge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
964 - 969 of 1,783 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this fabulous hotel. It is a short ride from Tokyo station and located nearby great shopping and nice restaurants. The staff (particularly the concierge staff) were exceptional, helpful and friendly. The rooms are very well appointed with nice amenities and ample sized dressing area. The bed was comfortable and had plenty of pillows. My only minor disappointment was with my massage service. The prices are quite high for a 50 minute massage (which turned out to be 30 minutes after a long Q & A) and my therapist was not as skilled as I had hoped. My husband, however, had a great massage by a therapist that "went right to work" as soon as he entered the room. You must visit the spa. It is very nice treat. We will definately be back for an other stay at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer for views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneP683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

In the best three hotels in Japan.

As written in the review below, the one thing The Penninsula Tokyo has over the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo and Park Hyatt Tokyo are the size of their rooms. And what a significant difference. The rooms are immeasurably large, the bathroom is like the size of a tennis court, and the walk-in dressing room is the size of most apartments! The service is impeccable, and the proximity to Ginza shopping district is a great attraction.

Very hard to compare the three hotels mentioned, but a few pointers;
1. The Peninsula Tokyo has much much much larger rooms.
2. The service is faultless at all three hotels.
3. The Peninsula Tokyo is more service by numbers, lots and lots of door staff, receptionist and management in ther lobby. The Manadarin Oriental Tokyo is more subtle. The Park Hyatt is more discreet.
4. The Peninsula Hotel Tokyo has their main dining area in the middle of the lobby, and is very crowded so even for tea, be sure to book.
5. The Peninsula Tokyo is in the best location for travel to most attractions in Tokyo.

Truly a magnificent hotel and their limousine service to local areas is brilliant.
Be sure to ask for a Peninsula Teddy Bear and go downstairs to see their chocolatier & patisserie - wow.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention prior to arrival if youre staying for a special occasion. You'll be upgraded, greeted with a bowl of strawberries and champagne!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeanutVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights as a part of our japan trip. The service was very personal- they upgraded us to a better view room because of our honeymoon. The room is one the best In Tokyo, we stayed at the mandarin oriental as well but nothing compares to the size of the room at the peninsula. The happy hour at Peters bar was great with beautiful views of Tokyo. Great hotel location in the heart of Ginza overlooking imperial palace and walking distance from the famous fish market. If I had to say one bad thing, it would be considering it is such a top end hotel, it only has one main restaurant. however I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professional_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Peninsula during the Tokyo Marathon weekend. (couple with toddler) Like other reviewers, this is our favourite hotel, despite the hefty price tag.

Our Top 10 list:
10. Master consoles on BOTH sides of the bed. The buttons switch off completely without that irritating green electronic glow, but if you need to check the time or adjust the aircon, just nudge it/brush any button, and the buttons are illuminated.
9. It seems silly at first, but the valet box service is a great idea, allowing you to fetch your morning paper without having to open the room door in your bathrobe or pajamas.
8. Great bathtub worthy of any spa. Well-placed controls within reach of the tub.
7. Great shower, with both the rain shower and hand-held options, allowing you to use both at the same time. Can't believe other 6-star hotels don't do the same.
6. Coffee machine in the room. A nice touch.
5. Great gym/pool. If you didn’t bring your gear, they will loan you workout gear in perfect condition.
4. For a business hotel, it's surprisingly good for families with kids. We arrived to find a room equiped with child-sized bathrobe, peninsula bear logo'd slippers, bath toys (starfish and bear sponge), child-safe toiletries including a cute toothbrush kit, and a plate with little Japanese biscuits set out on the low coffee table.
3. Generous room sizes meant that instead of traipsing around town all day/night, we were quite happy to enjoy our retreat. We even ate-in and bought bento boxes from Mitsukoshi's famed food hall to enjoy our 22nd floor view. And if either parent needs to make a business call, the sliding doors and separate areas allows you to section off the areas, still leaving a generous play area in the dressing room and bathroom to muck around in.
2. Convenient location – walking distance to shopping in Mitsukoshi Ginza, Tokyu Hands in Ginza, Muji/Loft. Lots of little ramen and other food shops within a 5 min walk. For greenery, the Imperial Palace and Hibiya Park are within easy reach.
1. Impeccable service. As we were there for the Tokyo Marathon, and constantly outdoors, we sometimes returned to the hotel looking wind-blown and felt slightly scruffy walking through the lobby, but the staff provided top-notch service and even lavished lots of attention on our little 2 year old toddler.

Already looking forward to our next visit.

Tokyo tip: Be sure to visit Mitsukoshi's food hall. it's amazing. Direct connections below the Peninsula means that if it's raining outside, you can get from your room into the food hall and back without having to step outside at all. (Hibiya line)

Room Tip: If you are bothered by the elevator "ding ding" sounds, ask for a room away from the lift lobby.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrsDIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We love the Peninsula. We stayed many times as a family, this time with both our kids and we have stayed a couple as well as individually and every has been great. They have actually improved our stay with kids. They have always been kid friendly but this time, the amenity package for the kids in the room was really fantastic. They provided kid size toothbrushes, bath slippers, little robes, bath toys and sponges, diaper pail, super nice cribs, anything you would want for kids. They even have kids plates and things when you order room service. It's our four year old's favorite hotel in the world and she has been to the George V in Paris and other Peninsula hotels.
The rooms are wonderful but the real reason we love this hotel is the staff. They are superbly trained to meet guests needs. Once I left my wedding room behind and when we called after to see if it was still there, they had found it and mailed it immediately. The room service is also excellent.

Room Tip: There aren't any bad rooms as far as we have experienced but if you are a light sleeper, make sure you let them know this. Sometimes, you can hear doors slam.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews