We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
USD 335
View deal
Trip.com
USD 272
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/11/21
Preferred HotelsUSD 377
Booking.comUSD 405
eDreamsUSD 405
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,984)
Filter reviews
1,984 results
Traveller rating
914
770
213
50
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
914
770
213
50
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden garden tower beautiful garden main building trader vics breakfast buffet lots of restaurants excellent hotel luxury hotel imperial palace subway tokyo station english fuji mt concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,984 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2019

Excellent very large hotel complex in perfect central location. Walking distance to subway and central Tokyo. Wonderful staff, amazing shops (restaurants a bit too pricey) and of coarse signature Japanese garden is a bonus.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sunvoyager512
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2019 via mobile

Excellent service at Excecutive Lounge, staff was very helpful and professional. Lot of places to shop and eat within hotel, easy access to public transport and nice location.Throughly enjoyed the stay.Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DC2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2019

The hotel is huge. There are two buildings connected and when you check in, they give you a map. You actually would need it to walk inside the hotel. There are many restaurants in the hotel. The breakfast buffet is a bit disappointing although it's better than the one in Prince Gallery. However, Prince Gallery's in-room dining definitely beats New Otani's. The hotel is located close to Akasaka shopping and restaurant area, but it's not connected directly to the Metro stations. You have to walk outside for 2 minutes. The facility is a bit dated but the rooms are nicely renovated. The Japanese garden is definitely the highlight. It is the place to have a refreshing walk either in the morning or in the evening after coming back from office.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2019

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nts at the start of our Japan Tour with Riviera Holidays. This massive but pleasant hotel has 1479 rooms, built for 1964 Olympics by an ex-Sumo wrestler Mr Otani & is set in a magnificent old gardens. The hotel is located in the heart of Tokyo, close to the Japanese Parliament, nearest Metro stop just a few minutes’ walk (station names in English). Also nearby is a good selections of shops and restaurants. We were on the 28th floor, in a comfortable large room 4806. Our view was just of buildings at back, others were luckier. Our biggest problems was getting a table for morning breakfast. We had been warned about the queues. The selection and quality of food was good and staff very pleasant, but the queues tedious - not sure there is a solution, when all tour groups & business men needed to eat early. Our deal was B&B - evening meals were above our price range so we walked to a nearby restaurant.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank HappyWalker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

The Main is a large part of the huge, centrally located New Otani Hotel. Yet it is so well run, it almost feels like a boutique property. We found nothing but perfection in our three nights here. On arrival, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite. Booking direct really helps these days. A package we had had sent there a few days prior was waiting for us at check in; another was delivered to our room the next day, right on time. The breakfast is wonderful, though costly, but there are many options off property should that be of interest. We dined and had drinks at the onsite Trader Vic’s, an historic favorite of ours. Other nights we walked through the amazing garden and found ourselves surrounded by restaurants across the street. This hotel is a classic, reflecting Japanese culture brilliantly. It is clean, lovely and elegant. We will stay nowhere else when next in Tokyo.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gbpsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews