We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent! Super fun for the family

We enjoyed our Udon noodle and calligraphy classes. Wakana was an excellent teacher. We started... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2023
Paoosa
,
Scaggsville, Maryland
via mobile
Fantastic cooking and calligraphy class. The best way to take a break from busy Tokyo. Kids loved the experience!!

Fantastic cooking and calligraphy class. Wakana is amazing! She taught us how to prepare udon... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2023
Ed_likestraveling
,
Laurel, Maryland
via mobile
Read all 95 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Chiyoda
from AU$207.85
More Info
1-Day Tokyo Bus Tour
5,130 Reviews
from AU$181.20
More Info
from AU$197.46
More Info
from AU$166.28
More Info
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
93
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
93
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews udon noodles tea ceremony from scratch couple of hours kanji teacher lesson art dough class knowledge oishi japan encouraging
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were in Japan for a few weeks and wanted to have a less touristy experience. I'd dabbled in learning the language a bit on and off for a few years, but had little to no knowledge of kanji. Wakana was so patient and encouraging, smiling the whole time. You can really tell she's passionate about what she does. We also made udon - that was a fun experience - as well as tsumami-zaiku. If you're going to Tokyo or already there, experience Wakalture!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank pnkdroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2018

As I know quite a bit of kanji already, I still found it interesting to try my hand at shodō under the eye of Wakana Sensei. She taught me some meanings of kanji that I had no idea about, as well as other parts of the Japanese culture. It was really interesting, as you get to learn about kanji, and also understand more about how difficult it can be.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank goukadesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a private lesson from Wakana. She is extremely friendly, fun, and a great teacher. I would highly recommend this as a great activity if you’re looking to learn how to make Japanese foods and experience more of the Japanese culture in an intimate setting.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

The calligraphy class with Wakana was lots of fun and very informative. Wakana was a very knowledgeable and patient teacher. We really enjoyed her class and left with a piece of work that we were all proud of. A must do experience whilst in Tokyo!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank g0ndi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing time learning udon noodles and calligraphy! Wakana is a very friendly and kind teacher

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Raz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews