We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience!

Such an incredible experience!! Wakana taught an amazing class on calligraphy and included so much... read more

Reviewed 8 March 2024
Getaway698302
Excellent! Super fun for the family

We enjoyed our Udon noodle and calligraphy classes. Wakana was an excellent teacher. We started... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2023
Paoosa
,
Scaggsville, Maryland
via mobile
Read all 96 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Chiyoda
1-Day Tokyo Bus Tour
6,183 Reviews
from AU$179.24
More Info
from AU$195.32
More Info
from AU$164.48
More Info
from AU$242.51
More Info
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
94
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
94
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews udon noodles tea ceremony from scratch couple of hours kanji teacher lesson art dough class knowledge oishi japan encouraging
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We did Calligraphy class, Udon noodles and Tsunami-zaiku (flowers) at Wakana's place. Wakana was a great teacher and we had lots of fun. We learned a lot about calligraphy. We did the words "music" and "angel". Calligraphy is done right-handed. But as we are left-handed, we have to change our writing but Wakana was very patient and nice and showed us everything. At the end we were very happy with the results :-) And we loved Udon noodles, they really taste delicious! We also made Tsunami-zaiku which was little tricky at the beginning but with some practice and Wakana's help we could manage easily. The flowers are a great and colorful souvenir for bringing home. I can recommend Wakalture to everyone who is interested in Japanese culture.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DaniH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Took my girlfriend to have a calligraphy class with Wakana when we visited in February for her birthday. Wakana was exceptionally friendly, talkative and also a great teacher! We enjoyed a class which never felt rushed and had some great souvenirs to take home at the end of it. On top of all this, Wakana was kind enough to make a origami flower to give to my girlfriend for her birthday. Genuinely thoughtful and friendly person who I would highly recommend to visit if you're in Tokyo!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank R5723INcarlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic experience we had with Wakana at Wakalture! We booked in at the last minute for a 1.5hour Japanese calligraphy lesson and she was more than happy to oblige! She provided all our materials and provided us with a Japanese translation of our names and a word of our choice. With a lot of help from her we left with a piece of our own calligraphy to be proud of. She is an incredibly talented calligrapher and lovely to spend time with. Fantastic Japanese cultural experience with a true artist and Tokyo local, she has great knowledge of the local area and even showed us a great restaurant and helped us plan some more of our trip. Just wonderful!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic time. Wakana-san spent a couple of hours teaching a family of four (with two daughters aged 10 and 14) the basics of Japanese calligraphy (Shodō). She made the experience interesting and fun and helped us get a further insight in the many layers of the deep Japanese culture.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ginkopc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2018

With 23 years of experience in calligraphy, Wakana is a fantastic teacher. She is patient (calligraphy is a lot harder than it looks!) and supportive in how to improve your technique. She also explains all about the different Japanese languages/alphabets so that you get a grasp on what you are actually writing, rather than just telling you what to write. The class is held in her lovely home and you walk away with your own wall mount - a unique souvenir from your trip! I got lost on the way to the class and so was late and she was most accommodating. As for the udon cooking section of the class, it was really fun! Who knew stomping on dough was so therapeutic? I was lucky enough to sample a secondary cooking class making tamagoyaki omelette which I got to eat along with the noodles at the end. What is even better, the udon recipe is so simple that you can actually make it at home for your friends :) So glad I got to sample two Japanese cultural practises at once, and it was a workshop I won't forget!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Elle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews