We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wakalture Experience -Japanese Calligraphy and Cooking
Open today: 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Cooking and Calligraphy Lessons

We decided to visit this experience as we like to support local business and, of course, meet local... read more

Reviewed 24 March 2020
gkenrick
,
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Fun and interesting experience

My wife and I were staying in the area and visited Wakana for her calligraphy and cooking classes... read more

Reviewed 24 March 2020
G2427MTpaulk
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 84 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Chiyoda
from USD 65.10
More Info
from USD 47.70
More Info
from USD 94.53
More Info
from USD 363.00
More Info
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
82
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Wakana was very friendly and spoke excellent English.

We always wanted to try some calligraphy and we can certainly recommend Wakana as your teacher! Also being students of Japanese language we also enjoyed learning some more kanji characters and their origins.

Wakana is very knowledgeable about calligraphy and has been studying it for over 20 years.

This is in Akihabara near to all the shops and is a great activity to plan around a day in this area of Tokyo.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to try some calligraphy it's a lot of fun!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Wakana was a wonderful host for my Japanese culture experience. Because I had a particular interest in tea ceremony she arranged a private lesson with Besui Sensei, who was phenomenally gracious! Sensei’s daughter also assisted and demonstrated. I felt so honored that Sensei was so willing to patiently share her decades of knowledge to a mere novice patiently answering my many questions. I was humbled and thrilled!

The day continued with a cooking class in noodle making and omelets. It was great fun to learn how easy noodle making can be. She is a very patient teacher. Thank goodness! I had so much fun with the omelet lesson that I bought the special pan so I could make it for my family.

Yes it’s fun to tour a country but it’s even more memorable to delve into the culture. Next time I want to try calligraphy. Wakana has been practicing the art for years. Thank you for an unforgettable day!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 342ninae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Wakana very kindly made time to see us as we were at the end of our holiday and I desperately wanted to do a Japanese calligraphy class. It was a lovely experience and Wakana is very thorough in explaining the different Japanese styles of writing, how to hold your brush etc. I would highly recommend Wakana for a true Japanese cultural experience.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Turtleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 January 2018

If there was one experience in Japan that I felt like I gained the most from, it was this one! Wakana is such a sweet person to be around, and my wife and I both felt like we connected with her over the course of the experience. Not only did Wakana teach us how to make homemade Udon Zaru style, she also taught us Japanese Calligraphy. There were a couple things I learned about both of these as a bonus: 1. Zaru Udon is just as good if not better tasting than Zaru Soba (which is my favorite style of Japanese cuisine) and 2. I learned a lot about Japanese language and grammar from Wakana in the process of picking which word to paint. My favorite part about it was spending time in a Tokyo home, with someone who knows Tokyo and the culture so well, and just feeling like I was hanging out with a really cool Japanese girl in her home environment. We talked about travel, and food, and the "always improving" mastery culture that is well known in Japan. By the end, this experience made me feel like I was reunited with a really awesome family member in her home. Highly recommend this experience to anyone!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Apshinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Wakana is a great teacher who knows her stuff! She speaks English and teaches a variety of classes. We took udon noodle making and calligraphy. Both were challenging, but Wakana was encouraging. She even had this lefty writing right handed! It was fun to see the positive results from our efforts. Check it out, it's definitely worth it!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews