We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wakalture Experience -Japanese Calligraphy and Cooking
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience with a lovely teacher

I had a combination of a calligraphy and an origami class and I loved it! I didn't even expect that... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
lamaju0
via mobile
Very fun and different

My wife and I both love to cook. We came to japan looking to try and learn about its culture and... read more

Reviewed 1 November 2018
AllanG61
,
Ft Lauderdale
via mobile
Read all 65 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Chiyoda
from USD 85.50
More Info
from USD 139.00
More Info
from USD 125.00
More Info
from USD 90.00
More Info
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
64
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews calligraphy class udon noodles calligraphy lesson great teacher patient teacher japanese culture noodle making making class traditional tea ceremony a lot of fun private lesson great activity ueno park learn how from scratch interesting things explained everything
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Wakana is a great teacher who knows her stuff! She speaks English and teaches a variety of classes. We took udon noodle making and calligraphy. Both were challenging, but Wakana was encouraging. She even had this lefty writing right handed! It was fun to see the positive results from our efforts. Check it out, it's definitely worth it!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Wakana’s class in calligraphy and udon-making was one of the most memorable parts of my trip to Japan. I loved that every part of both activities felt like a learning experience -- between practicing calligraphy techniques and making udon from scratch, Wakana gave context each step of the way, and I learned so much about Japanese culture from her. At the same time, there was no pressure to be perfect. Wakana has a huge passion for what she does, and it really shines through in the way that she teaches. She’s so easy to talk to, has lived a super interesting life, and is full of stories! I highly recommend her class if you’re looking for a fun and unique cultural experience while in Japan. Arigatō gozaimasu Wakana-san!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Leila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Wakana was so helpful and nice from the beginning (emailing about logistics, location finding, changes to schedule). She was a great teacher and so friendly.

The session was perfect for my family of three (My wife, 7-year old daughter, and I) to get have a much more rich experience in enjoying the Japanese food culture beyond the usual hearty meal you can get at the nearest train station.

We also did the origami session to pass the time which my daughter enjoyed. Wakana was patient in teaching her the folding techniques as well as had some cute ideas for Pokemon characters.

It's a perfect experience for an mid-morning itinerary before you set out into the city. Next time we're in Tokyo, we'll probably do the other classes. Interestingly, we also did the instant ramen class in Osaka a few days later. The Wakalture Experience Udon class provided a great context to how instant ramen impacted the culture and industrial history.

The walk from the train/subway station isn't very long and it's a quick stroll. It may be helpful for Wakana to post some street photos or building pictures so you can find the right location off the main road. Also, bring a bottle of water just in case you get a little thirsty after the meal.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We are a family of four with no knowledge of calligraphy and we enjoyed very much our lesson with Wakana. We have been provided with explanations on the history of calligraphy and the teaching method was both very smooth and very efficient. It is definitively an experience that we recommend to visitors in JAPAN, as a very pleasant way to meet with one of the iconical cultural aspects of this country.
If we come back to Japan, we will definitively get another calligraphy course with Wakana!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank onosjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Honestly, I overslept to my appointment with Wakana because of the jet lag and Wakana was so understanding and flexible that we rescheduled it.

I really like how she taught, she was very patient, her explanations were understandable and her English fluent. Also I had very positive vibe and it was a lot of fun! :) Wakana managed to make me like calligraphy and I would love to continue learning as it was peaceful and calming experience.

Most recommended!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Pawel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews