We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent! Super fun for the family

We enjoyed our Udon noodle and calligraphy classes. Wakana was an excellent teacher. We started... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2023
Paoosa
,
Scaggsville, Maryland
via mobile
Fantastic cooking and calligraphy class. The best way to take a break from busy Tokyo. Kids loved the experience!!

Fantastic cooking and calligraphy class. Wakana is amazing! She taught us how to prepare udon... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2023
Ed_likestraveling
,
Laurel, Maryland
via mobile
Read all 95 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Chiyoda
from AU$207.03
More Info
1-Day Tokyo Bus Tour
5,155 Reviews
from AU$180.49
More Info
from AU$196.68
More Info
from AU$165.62
More Info
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
93
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
93
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews udon noodles tea ceremony from scratch couple of hours kanji teacher lesson art dough class knowledge oishi japan encouraging
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Wakana was so helpful and nice from the beginning (emailing about logistics, location finding, changes to schedule). She was a great teacher and so friendly.

The session was perfect for my family of three (My wife, 7-year old daughter, and I) to get have a much more rich experience in enjoying the Japanese food culture beyond the usual hearty meal you can get at the nearest train station.

We also did the origami session to pass the time which my daughter enjoyed. Wakana was patient in teaching her the folding techniques as well as had some cute ideas for Pokemon characters.

It's a perfect experience for an mid-morning itinerary before you set out into the city. Next time we're in Tokyo, we'll probably do the other classes. Interestingly, we also did the instant ramen class in Osaka a few days later. The Wakalture Experience Udon class provided a great context to how instant ramen impacted the culture and industrial history.

The walk from the train/subway station isn't very long and it's a quick stroll. It may be helpful for Wakana to post some street photos or building pictures so you can find the right location off the main road. Also, bring a bottle of water just in case you get a little thirsty after the meal.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 547MarkM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We are a family of four with no knowledge of calligraphy and we enjoyed very much our lesson with Wakana. We have been provided with explanations on the history of calligraphy and the teaching method was both very smooth and very efficient. It is definitively an experience that we recommend to visitors in JAPAN, as a very pleasant way to meet with one of the iconical cultural aspects of this country.
If we come back to Japan, we will definitively get another calligraphy course with Wakana!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Olivier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Honestly, I overslept to my appointment with Wakana because of the jet lag and Wakana was so understanding and flexible that we rescheduled it.

I really like how she taught, she was very patient, her explanations were understandable and her English fluent. Also I had very positive vibe and it was a lot of fun! :) Wakana managed to make me like calligraphy and I would love to continue learning as it was peaceful and calming experience.

Most recommended!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Pawel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Our host was very pleasant et so nice. It was a great lesson of calligraphy! Great discovery! I recommend it

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Fr_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Wakalture experience was one of my best souvenir in Tokyo. We had a calligraphy lesson. Wakana is very nice, welcoming and very patient with us. She explained us the base of caligraphy but also history and fun facts. She adapt her class because I tell her it was my friend's birthday, it was so nice. We had a very good memory of this day. I recommend this !!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Kellynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews