We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent! Super fun for the family

We enjoyed our Udon noodle and calligraphy classes. Wakana was an excellent teacher. We started... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2023
Paoosa
,
Scaggsville, Maryland
via mobile
Fantastic cooking and calligraphy class. The best way to take a break from busy Tokyo. Kids loved the experience!!

Fantastic cooking and calligraphy class. Wakana is amazing! She taught us how to prepare udon... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2023
Ed_likestraveling
,
Laurel, Maryland
via mobile
Read all 95 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Chiyoda
from AU$207.03
More Info
1-Day Tokyo Bus Tour
5,155 Reviews
from AU$180.49
More Info
from AU$196.68
More Info
from AU$165.62
More Info
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
93
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
93
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews udon noodles tea ceremony from scratch couple of hours kanji teacher lesson art dough class knowledge oishi japan encouraging
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We are a family of four with no knowledge of calligraphy and we enjoyed very much our lesson with Wakana. We have been provided with explanations on the history of calligraphy and the teaching method was both very smooth and very efficient. It is definitively an experience that we recommend to visitors in JAPAN, as a very pleasant way to meet with one of the iconical cultural aspects of this country.
If we come back to Japan, we will definitively get another calligraphy course with Wakana!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Olivier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Honestly, I overslept to my appointment with Wakana because of the jet lag and Wakana was so understanding and flexible that we rescheduled it.

I really like how she taught, she was very patient, her explanations were understandable and her English fluent. Also I had very positive vibe and it was a lot of fun! :) Wakana managed to make me like calligraphy and I would love to continue learning as it was peaceful and calming experience.

Most recommended!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Pawel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Our host was very pleasant et so nice. It was a great lesson of calligraphy! Great discovery! I recommend it

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Fr_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Wakalture experience was one of my best souvenir in Tokyo. We had a calligraphy lesson. Wakana is very nice, welcoming and very patient with us. She explained us the base of caligraphy but also history and fun facts. She adapt her class because I tell her it was my friend's birthday, it was so nice. We had a very good memory of this day. I recommend this !!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Kellynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stop by at Wakalture during our honeymoon in Tokyo. We had such a great time! It was a nice private setting in her house. We made udon noodles and origami. The noodles were absolutely delicious and making origami was so much fun. I felt like I was a kid again. If you plan on coming to Tokyo and want a real Japanese experience, stop by Wakalture!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank JazzyNorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews