We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A just 5 miles from Skegness - but in a different...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Post House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andycath
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A just 5 miles from Skegness - but in a different universe”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Cracking Little cottage - it is little - but for a couple - possibly a couple with small kids its great. We had our two big dogs with us and used it for a base to walk the Lincolnshire coast ( Grimsby to Gibralta Point). You will need a car - it seems more remote than it actually is - Wainsfleet only about 1.5 to 2 miles away. The hamlet is nothing like the seaside resorts of Skegness / Mablethorpe or Cleesthorpe - they leave me cold but this place was nice. Pub selling food that is dog friendly is only 50 yards away.

I think you would need to travel - not enough to do in the immediate location to keep you occupied for week.

If you are booking through Trip advisor - while it allows you the option to select any dates - the owners responded that week rentals can only start on a Friday - just mention it as you might wait for a day to find out its not suitable for your dates.

But give it a go - it was nice

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherlock2...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our heaven for a week”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at the Post Office. We were welcomed by the owner as soon as we drove into the drive, then shown around what was a lovely clean and bright cottage. There was a welcome pack of coffee, tea, sugar, milk, a lovely box of Chocolates and wine. The cottage was lovely and warm, even when the temperature went down to -3.

The wood burner may only be small, but it warmed the entire cottage, with the central heating working as a background heating.

The kitchen was well equipped, with washing machine/drier dishwasher microwave and full sized cooker, which were all lovely, clean and worked as they should.

The location was what we were looking for, quiet and just off the beaten track. It only took just a few minutes to get to Burgh le marsh to get supplies and just five miles away from Skegness.

Would we stay again? the answer would be a big YES!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakey_jan...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a magnificent mini break!”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

a truly beautiful cottage, just as you see in the photos, provided an ideal destination for a cosy winter break (the log burner topped off the stay!!!). also the BEST shower/bath I have ever experienced - which was very much appreciated after a wintery walk on the seafront!friendly, helpful owners who couldn't do more for you - including moving my car out of the parking space as I am not brilliant at reversing! thank you april!!! I would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin k
1 review
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I went with my wife and two children 2 and 8 years old.very freindly owner and we felt very comfortable,cottage is about 10 mins drive from skegness town and was very clean and big enought for us and children.dishwasher and wash machine was bonus.we even welcomed with champagne and choclate.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we have had a fantastic summer and it has been lovely for our children to have so many wonderful play mates in the holidays! We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime Enjoy the rest of the summer x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

me and my husband and 2 young children have just returned after our weeks holiday in the old post house cottage. We have had a lovely holiday, our daughter cried when we had to leave as she's had such a lovely week playing with the owners children, and other guests children. The owners are lovely and very welcoming, and nothing was to much trouble. We were even greeted with a bottle of bubbly, box of chocolates, and a pint of milk ready for a cup of tea. The cottage was exactly as it looks in the photo and spotless. The beds were so comfy. We will defiantly returning and recommending it to friends and family. Thank you Gavin and April.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing