We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
209
6
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool outdoor shower costa rica beach bar every morning fresh fruit get away playing pool delicious food seafood an adventure all kinds kind hosts watching the sunset wheel drive vehicle wealth of information fabulous hosts
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

The place is on top of a hill, facing the ocean. Unreal - was the word most often coming to my mind. Beaches empty to the horizon, private swimming pool, monkeys visiting you every morning, great food and friendly people. Unforgettable. We just stayed one night but It was amazing all along. Breakfasts with fresh bread and big plate of fruits on the terrasse with a beautiful sun and facing the ocean are just the perfect way to start a day!
Thanks to Zene and Henner, the amazing owners.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOPHIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandpiperCR, Owner at Cristal Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Sophie, thank you!!! We truly appreciate your time to write such kind words about us and your time at Cristal Azul. Hosting you both was our pleasure and our time spent together was as always, like visiting with old friends. The music lives on in the Rancho, thank you! Stepping off the grid to a place like this allows travelers to really enjoy fresh, local foods and homemade treats as well as the indigenous beauty of the area and it's culture, even if the time spent here is short! You two wholeheartedly appreciated the pristine beauty of this area and the tranquil, easy going vibe - we hope to share it with you again someday in the future! See you on FB Sophie and glad we will be in touch! And please always remember - better rates are always offered for direct bookings, support local business! Pura Vida! Z, H, and all the pups big and small!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I volunteered in Costa Rica for six months and traveled extensively throughout the country spending weekends on both coasts, zip lining,visiting volcanoes, waterfalls, hot springs,museums, you name it I've been there.

Four years later I returned to CR with a couple of friends, one friend had been to Cristal Azul about ten years previously and insisted that we spend a few (4) nights with Zene and Henner.
I've read some of the reviews and can not agree more. It was an adventure getting to Playa San Miguel and once there we were greeted warmly by Henner and Zene and it was as if they had seen my friend only yesterday instead of long ago.

Getting to the point, Cristal Azul IS a 'hidden gem', it's safe, the view is gorgeous, the food is delicious, the hospitality is outstanding, there isn't a bad room on the property (love the outdoor shower and local shower products) and if you are interested in activities and touristy things there are plenty of options.

We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, the beach,LocosCocos (Henner and Zene's beach bar), the other guests, the friendship of our hosts, which has continued, and just a had an overall wonderful time!

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suzy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The property is excellent and the Zena is the most lovely and helpfull person.
The problem was, that when we came, there was no reservation made by booking.com (same as what happened on San Blas Islands, Panama before). We showed her the confirmation as received my booking.com. Zena had no information from their part about us arriving and we wre stuck in the middle of nowhere. Although, she had a private party going on for the next couple of days, she accommodated us with great hospitality in the most welcoming way. We just became part odf the party and it was smashing! Thanks, Zena

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank uschi_weegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Before Arriving to Cristal Azul, Zene (owner along with Henner) was in contact regarding tips on transportation, activities and lots of amazing tips.
When we arrived, Zene was on site to greet us and immediately made us feel at home.

What a STUNNING View! Upon arrival to the property, you see the Rancho, your outdoor living room for the duration of your stay. From the Rancho, looking down, you see a beautiful, inviting infinity pool and over the edge you see the ocean.
There are 4 cabinas on the resort. Each holds one room with one queen bed, (there is one with a set of bunk beds and a queen bed) my kids had air mattresses on the floor. The bathroom has a large counter, open shelves and open closet and safe. Then there was the outdoor shower with lovely scented organic soaps and shampoos provided. Everything is well maintained, clean and comfortable.

The bar in the Rancho is well stocked with beer, sodas and fresh juice. A delicious breakfast is served every morning. Rice and beans, fried egg, fried plantain and bacon, or French Toast. A HUGE platter of fresh fruit is also served with coffee and fresh juice every morning. You are on your own for lunch and dinner, although you can hire chef to cook a special meal, or order dinner from Locos Cocos (Zene and Henners café on the beach below) and have Henner bring it up when he closes up the café around 7:30-8pm. We did both and the chef meal was incredible and food from Locos Cocos was always fresh and delicious.

Days were filled with activities, restaurants, beaches, all recommended by Zene and Henner. At night, Zene, Henner and their 5 adorable dogs would come and we sat in the Rancho, playing pool, board games with the kids.

One of my favorite parts of staying at Cristal Azul was hanging out in the Rancho, staying up late trading stories of our lives and travels with Zene and Henner. It felt like we were staying with friends, it was so relaxing, comfortable and easy. My kids and I had a great time, Zene and Henner are incredible hosts, and we look forward to returning in the near future!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicitytraveler2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We spent 3 nights at Cristal Azul. We had a long drive from Arenal and glad that we took their advice to arrive during the daylight because the drive up to the hotel is tricky the first time. Henner met us on the beach at LocosCosos when we first arrived. He was warm and welcoming with a beer and the most delicious fish tacos we have ever had. He provided us with a map to the hotel and Zene met us there. The cabinas are well situated with ocean views and very clean. The outdoor shower is a bonus. Many reviewers have talked about the amazing views, the accommodating and friendly hosts and staff, the great food, the quiet and peaceful atmosphere and that dreamy infinity pool. All spot on. And we also found delight in bird watching from the pool and the dining area. We spotted amazing birds of all kinds! Our hosts picked up on our interest and lent us their bird book and other resources to use for identification. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For privacy, try to get the cabina at the far end so you have no foot traffic in front of glass doors.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 920judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews