We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A vacation within a vacation!”
Review of Cristal Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cristal Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

What a great place. Zene and Heiner were awsome hosts, making us feel as if it was our place!
The rooms were perfect. The huge central gazebo where everything hapens and the infinite pool looking over the sea is just magical.
This was defenetely one of the high lights of our Costa Rica vacation. Our only regret is that our stay at Cristal Azul was too short!
Thank you Zene and Heiner,
Pura Vida.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandpiperCR, Owner at Cristal Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Bernard! Thank you for your kind review! We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your family at Cristal Azul and so glad we were one of the highlights! Catering to families is one of the true joys of running this small private B&B in paradise. We do mean it when we say, "our home is your home"! I am so glad you enjoyed the rancho and the pool which truly is magical as you stated! Remember, now that you know the way, the road back is much easier! We hope to see you again on the beach...next time for a bit longer! As stated on our website, that is our one main goal....that you leave wishing you could stay a bit longer! Pura Vida! Cheers to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

The place is on top of a hill, facing the ocean. Unreal - was the word most often coming to my mind. Beaches empty to the horizon, private swimming pool, monkeys visiting you every morning, great food and friendly people. Unforgettable. We just stayed one night but It was amazing all along. Breakfasts with fresh bread and big plate of fruits on the terrasse with a beautiful sun and facing the ocean are just the perfect way to start a day!
Thanks to Zene and Henner, the amazing owners.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOPHIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandpiperCR, Owner at Cristal Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Sophie, thank you!!! We truly appreciate your time to write such kind words about us and your time at Cristal Azul. Hosting you both was our pleasure and our time spent together was as always, like visiting with old friends. The music lives on in the Rancho, thank you! Stepping off the grid to a place like this allows travelers to really enjoy fresh, local foods and homemade treats as well as the indigenous beauty of the area and it's culture, even if the time spent here is short! You two wholeheartedly appreciated the pristine beauty of this area and the tranquil, easy going vibe - we hope to share it with you again someday in the future! See you on FB Sophie and glad we will be in touch! And please always remember - better rates are always offered for direct bookings, support local business! Pura Vida! Z, H, and all the pups big and small!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I volunteered in Costa Rica for six months and traveled extensively throughout the country spending weekends on both coasts, zip lining,visiting volcanoes, waterfalls, hot springs,museums, you name it I've been there.

Four years later I returned to CR with a couple of friends, one friend had been to Cristal Azul about ten years previously and insisted that we spend a few (4) nights with Zene and Henner.
I've read some of the reviews and can not agree more. It was an adventure getting to Playa San Miguel and once there we were greeted warmly by Henner and Zene and it was as if they had seen my friend only yesterday instead of long ago.

Getting to the point, Cristal Azul IS a 'hidden gem', it's safe, the view is gorgeous, the food is delicious, the hospitality is outstanding, there isn't a bad room on the property (love the outdoor shower and local shower products) and if you are interested in activities and touristy things there are plenty of options.

We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, the beach,LocosCocos (Henner and Zene's beach bar), the other guests, the friendship of our hosts, which has continued, and just a had an overall wonderful time!

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suzy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The property is excellent and the Zena is the most lovely and helpfull person.
The problem was, that when we came, there was no reservation made by booking.com (same as what happened on San Blas Islands, Panama before). We showed her the confirmation as received my booking.com. Zena had no information from their part about us arriving and we wre stuck in the middle of nowhere. Although, she had a private party going on for the next couple of days, she accommodated us with great hospitality in the most welcoming way. We just became part odf the party and it was smashing! Thanks, Zena

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank uschi_weegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Before Arriving to Cristal Azul, Zene (owner along with Henner) was in contact regarding tips on transportation, activities and lots of amazing tips.
When we arrived, Zene was on site to greet us and immediately made us feel at home.

What a STUNNING View! Upon arrival to the property, you see the Rancho, your outdoor living room for the duration of your stay. From the Rancho, looking down, you see a beautiful, inviting infinity pool and over the edge you see the ocean.
There are 4 cabinas on the resort. Each holds one room with one queen bed, (there is one with a set of bunk beds and a queen bed) my kids had air mattresses on the floor. The bathroom has a large counter, open shelves and open closet and safe. Then there was the outdoor shower with lovely scented organic soaps and shampoos provided. Everything is well maintained, clean and comfortable.

The bar in the Rancho is well stocked with beer, sodas and fresh juice. A delicious breakfast is served every morning. Rice and beans, fried egg, fried plantain and bacon, or French Toast. A HUGE platter of fresh fruit is also served with coffee and fresh juice every morning. You are on your own for lunch and dinner, although you can hire chef to cook a special meal, or order dinner from Locos Cocos (Zene and Henners café on the beach below) and have Henner bring it up when he closes up the café around 7:30-8pm. We did both and the chef meal was incredible and food from Locos Cocos was always fresh and delicious.

Days were filled with activities, restaurants, beaches, all recommended by Zene and Henner. At night, Zene, Henner and their 5 adorable dogs would come and we sat in the Rancho, playing pool, board games with the kids.

One of my favorite parts of staying at Cristal Azul was hanging out in the Rancho, staying up late trading stories of our lives and travels with Zene and Henner. It felt like we were staying with friends, it was so relaxing, comfortable and easy. My kids and I had a great time, Zene and Henner are incredible hosts, and we look forward to returning in the near future!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicitytraveler2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa San Miguel
1.1 km away
Hotel Laguna Mar
Hotel Laguna Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa San Miguel
237 reviews
26.5 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 27 in Santa Teresa
605 reviews
19.7 km away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
0.7 km away
La Colina Pura Vista
La Colina Pura Vista
#2 of 4 in Playa San Miguel
58 reviews
33.3 km away
Mar y Sol Ecotel
Mar y Sol Ecotel
#1 of 5 in Tambor
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Azul

Address: Norte Entrada de Residencias San Miguel 1KM, Playa San Miguel 50906, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa San Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa San Miguel
Price Range: $200 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cristal Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Azul is the perfect destination for those looking to step off the beaten path and experience what Costa Rica was like before the world arrived. A totally private property with no public access, guests enjoy 180’ panoramic ocean views and the ultimate in barefoot luxury in a rustic setting. Prepare to unplug, unwind, and get lost in paradise! Great times are had here and memories of a lifetime are created! Four cozy "cabinas" guarantee there is never a crowd; each is equipped with AC, ceiling fans, screened doors that let in the ocean breeze and sound of the surf below, hot water, outdoor garden showers, fine linens, Raw Botanicals organic bath products, and the most impressive views in the area. An oversized, open air Rancho provides a luxe “Glamping” experience with an honor bar and billiards table as well as dining and lounge area ample enough for all guests. The vanishing edge pool overlooks six miles of undeveloped beach and provides a front row seat to the most amazing stargazing under the canopy of the Milky Way! A full typical Costa Rican breakfast is served daily and a chef prepares dinner nightly for guests in the Rancho upon demand. The only Costa Rica owned and operated hotel in San Miguel, your hosts also own LocosCocos (#1 Restaurant in area, #1 Beach Bar in Costa Rica; Lonely Planet)which is a guest favorite for sunset dinners on the beach. It is also a great place to spend the day steps from the surf with cold beers and catch of the fresh fish and seafood ready at your beck and call! 4WD and love adventure required too reach this area! Reservations required-gated entrance for guests only. For best rates, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cristal Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Azul Hotel Playa San Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing