We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax in front of the fire in our cosy holiday cottage, logs provided
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in front of the fire in our cosy holiday cottage, logs provided
Lots of lovely local art to admire Cosy sofa to chill out on, or you can relax in the rocking chair
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Relax in front of the fire in our cosy holiday cottage, logs provided
Lots of lovely local art to admire
Cosy sofa to chill out on, or you can relax in the rocking chair
Love these houses by Snowdrift
Can't beat a rocking chair.  Spot the handmade lampshade
Great to come back to after a day sightseeing
Lovely hand made kitchen fully equipped with everything you need.
Dining for 4, plenty of colourful Orla Kiely crockery to brighten up your meals
Bakehouse 24 bread and Cranbourne cheese, just a 5 minute stroll away at Gourmet Grocer
Colourful Orla Kiely crockery and lots of new funky utensils make cooking a delight.
Full size smeg dishwasher and butler sink.  Lots of sharp knives and utensils
Plenty of space for coats, boots and flip flops by the funky hooks
Spacious main bedroom with very comfy kingsize bed, feather duvet and Scion or John Lewis bedding
More fabulous art and lots of books to relax with
Plenty of wardrobe space for your holiday clothes
Along the landing to the family bathroom and attic den
The attic room, perfect for grown up friends..
Great for couples
A den kids love with lots of toys and books and colourful bedding to suit age
Seaside themed family bathroom, full size bath and powerful shower.  Endless hot water
Love the huts
Great shower, and fab fluffy fresh John Lewis towels provided
Colourful crockery and shiny cutlery for those who like to cook
Ideal for family meals
Fordingbridge High Street, pretty and sells everything you need
The Town Hall is listed, a lovely building with lots going on
Great shops to browse in
The bridge with its distinctive  arches.  Perfect when admired from the park or patio of The George
Be a pirate in the riverside park
Lots to play on for kids big and small
Graceful beauty on the river
Don't forget to bring your scooter or skateboard
The Forest is springing into life.  The baby foals are here.
So cute.  Come soon and see for yourself
Fabulous Furzey Gardens in full bloom
Bouncy baby donkeys make you smile
The Forest has a lovely bluebell carpet
The fields are turning sunny yellow
The beautiful gallops on Salisbury downs
Perfect for off road biking
Bluebells and primroses so pretty in the New Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a great 4 night break at Amble Back. The cottage was spotlessly clean and there are lots of thoughtful touches to make it a very comfortable and cosy stay, especially with the new boiler and the open fire.
We found the location ideal for visits to Stonehenge and Salisbury, the coast and the New Forest during our 3 full days there. Fordingbridge is a great little town with everything you need on the doorstep. The local people are very friendly too. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property and will happily return if we are in the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
We are delighted you had a good time and enjoyed a cosy few days in this lovely area. Thanks for looking after Amble Back so well and testing the new boiler, so glad it helps make the cottage even cosier. You are very welcome to come again anytime. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfrog...
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a great time staying at Amber Back. Sue is really welcoming and helpful, we got everything we need. The cottage is so cosy, comfortable and contemporarily designed with an open fire to relax. Everything is so pretty and clean, it feels like home from home! The location is great as well, it is walking distance to the forest where you can explore various ttails. It is also just a short drive to other part of the forest e.g. Boderwood walks and the pretty town of Lyndhurst. It is also another short drive to Salisbury too. We certainly enjoyed the break very much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thanks for posting this review, we are delighted you had a great time, loved and cottage and enjoyed all its great location has to offer. Come again soon. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dannyburn...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate comfortable”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well done to owners the cottage has been set up with everything and more needed for a holiday stay.
The place is very well furnished bright and cheerful and immaculately clean. The owners were very kind and responsive. Position for New Forrest and area is very good.
We were visiting relatives in UK from Australia so house was in good location for us.
Stairs a little steep and tricky and parking not great on busy road; but can park around corner so was not too much of a problem. Indian restaurant across road very nice, food and local shops very handy. Overall very good. Thanks

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed Amble Back and it's proximity to the High Street. Being on a side road on the edge of town is such a great location, near to everything and yet none of the traffic. Parking in the residential area nearby is always possible and we provide a car park permit as a fall back although it only seems to be used in other car parks on days out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loupower9...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage for a New Forest getaway”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Amble Back is the perfect cottage to stay in whilst holidaying in the New Forest. The booking process was quick and easy with Sue providing lots of ideas of places to visit.

The cottage was clean and tidy, very well stocked with lovely touches such as fresh flowers and a bottle of wine in the fridge. We crammed a lot in to our week, bike rides in the New Forest, a trip to the Isle of Wight, visits to the beach plus Paultons Park.

We would certainly consider staying at Amble Back again!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed all that Amble Back and this beautiful area has to offer. We are always willing to help with ideas of places to go and things to do - there is such a lot to chose from. We hope to see you again one day. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debhalfor...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage in the New Forest”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a great cottage, very comfortable and welcoming. Felt right at home. On arrival we found flowers on the mantel piece and wine in the fridge.

The fixtures and fittings are of a very high standard and the owners have thought of absolutely everything. Milk, sugar, tea, coffee - perfect for when you first arrive.

We loved the bird lightshade and cushion and the sofa was very comfortable, as were the beds! The bathroom here is quite large and had a very nice nautical theme - lovely.

We brought our two dogs and the enclosed garden was perfect for them, there was no way of them escaping.

The cottage is well place for exploring every part of the new forest and coast. Within 5 mins drive you can be in the forest. Go see the Donkey's at Godshill car park! There is a lovely park in the town with a great view of the famous bridge.

We had a great stay here and Sue the owner has been so helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and communication with her has been fantastic through out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed!
Liked least: The road outside could be a little noisy at times.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
I am delighted you had a good time and felt at home in our lovely cottage. The wild donkeys with their foals are so cute, it is a great time of year to enjoy the animals in the New Forest. Thanks for the review and for looking after Amble Back for us. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing