We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5star holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Tack Room

The outside of the cottage with a lovely patio, overlooking the garden and forest beyond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The outside of the cottage with a lovely patio, overlooking the garden and forest beyond.
The view from the patio and the sofa! Living and dining room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The outside of the cottage with a lovely patio, overlooking the garden and forest beyond.
The view from the patio and the sofa!
Living and dining room.
The views from the sofa, through the double sliding doors.
The kitchen where you can just as easily create a wonderful meal as a quick snack.
The kitchen where you can just as easily create a wonderful meal as a quick snack.
Lovely bright and comfortable double bedroom with built in wardrobe.
The New Forest, right on your doorstep!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Ashleigh...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5star holiday home”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The tack room was a perfect holiday cottage, the cottage was spotless on arrival and smelt clean and fresh. The cottage is well equipped, plenty of kitchen utensils so was able to prepare meals with ease. The bathroom was lovely and big with a huge shower cubicle and again it was very clean. The main bedroom was spacious, bed and bedding very comfortable and plenty of space in wardrobe for hanging clothes. Our son slept on the sofa bed in the lounge and he said it was very comfortable it was also very easy to put away so it didn't interfere with living space during the day. Cross over the road and you are in the woods and you might be lucky to see the deer. I would highly recommend this cottage and will book to go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thank you Stuart and Ashleigh for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Astrid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wanli S
1 review
“Great holiday rental”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful stay here with our two 6y/o kids. We love this place. It has everything we needed, there is even a laundry room for clothes wash. Garden is huge, extended into the forest. We saw some deer munching grass at the end of the garden. The information pack the owner left in the house is detailed, covering all aspects we could think of for holiday. Overall it is great and we would definitely like to come again.

Only the sofa bed is more for one adult than two as the extended parts do not seem to fit properly to the sofa itself. We let two kids sleep on the sofa without the extended part and the sofa is big enough for them, so we don't really mind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Sofa bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300barb
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage in Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a wonderful stay in this very clean and well finished property, which provided everything we needed, as well as being very quiet and peaceful with beautiful views of the countryside from the comfortable sitting room. The cottage was more spacious than we anticipated with plenty of storage, photos do not really do it justice it is situated in a lovely location and was very private. We really appreciated the tranquility of the cottage after spending the days with our young grandchildren who live in the area. The owner was very helpful and friendly without being intrusive.

Would definitely like to stay here again, Thank you Astrid.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah P
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“The photos don't quite do it justice!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Tack Room for 3 nights with our 2 year old daughter. The living space was larger than we expected with a decent sized open plan kitchen, lounge and dining area. It was lovely to look out through the patio doors from the sofa each evening across the private walled garden and into the trees. I think the pictures show this well. It is a very private location and although the host lives in a property nearby, you have plenty of space to yourself, including a private garden and ample parking.
The kitchen had more space than the photos show and although there are not lots of utensils and equipment, there was everything you could need to cook up a good meal for a small family and all of the kitchen equipment was in excellent condition and very clean! On the whole, the property is not cluttered with unnecessary items, it is quite minimalistic but has most things you need.
The shower room photos don't show you that there is in fact a large double shower and again the room is of a good size considering the size of the property and is very clean!
There was plenty of storage in the bedroom and we were able to fit a travel cot at the bottom of the bed and still get around which is not always possible in double bedrooms!
The porch came in really handy for storing our outside shoes, coats and boots from walking in the forest opposite the road. We took our daughter over to the forest over the road a couple times and she loved seeing the horses, ponies and deer that were roaming freely.
We were warned that mobile phone reception can be a problem however both my husband and I managed with Orange and O2 networks without too much trouble. There isn't however any wifi but having been pre-warned we did some research before hand and used our mobiles when needed. I know that for some this can be a real issue so would suggest that they fix this up sooner rather than later if at all possible.
Astrid the host was very friendly and welcoming and ensured we had everything we needed when we arrived and gave helpful suggestions of places to visit with a little one which was very kind of her.
If you are looking for days out, nothing is all that far away in the new forest and although most roads are restricted to 40mph we managed to get most places within 20mins and you could make it to the south coast in around 30mins. We visited the Romsey swimming pool which is brilliant for children (mostly 12yrs and under!) and our 2yr old loved it! We also visited the Raptor and Reptile Centre near Ringwood where we saw a great presentation of birds of prey but its only a part day activity (a few hours max I'd say!). Mudeford was a nice coastal place to visit and has a play park for children as well as a large open quay/green where you can eat a picnic near the water. Lyndhurst is worth a visit but don't drive through there unless you intend on stopping at the car park in the centre as traffic was very heavy even on a Sunday and you will queue in and out of the town.
We had a lovely stay, enjoyed the peace, quiet and space that came with this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, quiet, space and cleanliness of this property
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing