We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday home in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior View Cottage 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior View Cottage 1
Entrance Hallway Dining Table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Exterior View Cottage 1
Entrance Hallway
Dining Table
Dining Area
Lounge Area
Open Plan Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Downstairs Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Upstairs Shower Room
Upstairs Shower Room
BBQ Area
River Avon
Surrounding Fields
Fishing August 2015
Fishing August 2015
Fishing August 2015
Fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shellbell...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home in great location ”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have stayed at the cottage twice now, once for New Year and again for the weekend in May. We thoroughly enjoyed both times. The cottage is really nicely finished and in a great location for exploring the New Forest. We were a group of six adults and found the cottage to have ample of everything we needed, the kitchen is extremely well equipped for a holiday property and would be ideal if you plan to cook during your stay.
This time we were also able to spend time in the lovely secure garden and make use of the BBQ facilities.
I would highly recommend this cottage and we will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Hi Michelle,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased your second stay lived up to your first. We would love to welcome you back anytime!

Kind regards,

Shepherds Spring Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandAl...
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideally situated”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The owner was really good communicating with us via email, shame we didn't meet in person. We really appreciated the 2 person discount - this limits you to using the downstairs bedroom and not being allowed to use the upstairs bedrooms but this is no hardship. For a pet-friendly place we were slightly worried that there might be a doggy smell about the place but were very relieved that this wasn't the case at all. We chose it for being pet-friendly as we needed to take our two budgies with us! The cottage is really well equipped in the kitchen department. The only downside for one of us with a slightly dodgy knee was that it was difficult to lever herself out of the settee which is quite low - this put us off recommending the cottage to a friend with similar difficulties. The single chair in the lounge was easier to get out of but not too comfy to sit in all evening. The cottage is ideally situated for days out in town, country or seaside and we enjoyed a day on the Isle of Wight, the ferry at Lymington being so close. We can recommend The Fighting Cocks just up the road for a really good meal too. All in all, we enjoyed our time at Shepherds Spring Cottage No 1.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Shepherds Spring Cottage 1 and we thank you for your kind comments.

We are sorry that you struggled with the height of the sofa, this is the first time we have had a comment regarding the sofa so we will definitely take this on board when advising potential guests in the future.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to explore the surrounding areas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterhA70...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Shepherds Spring is a lovely cottage in a great location close to the New Forest and the coast. All the rooms are a good size and there is everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. The outdoor BBQ area is a wonderful little corner for children to relax and then play. Only downside would be the extra costs for towels which you would ordinarily find included for stays at a cottage within this price range.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Hi Peter,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Shepherds Spring Cottages and for the lovely comments. We have noted your thoughts regarding our towel hire. Thank you for all your feedback it is much appreciated.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Cottage 1 and were able to make use of the BBQ garden area.

Kind regards,

Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage situated in the beautiful New Forest area”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage provided everything we needed for our weekend stay in the New Forest...and more! Very modern and spacious for the 6 of us staying the cottage. Facilities were also excellent (television, wifi, shower, plenty of spaces for parking etc). Surround by beautiful countryside as well whether you prefer to walk straight from the door or drive a short distance to local treks. There's also shops and a really great pub a short drive away. Felt very cozy in the evenings as well!

Overall, I would 100% stay at this accommodation again! The New forest is truly a beautiful spot, and these cottages represent the perfect place to stay for such a weekend! They really were first class, for what was a brilliant weekend getaway!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Hi Andy!

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the beautiful New Forest and surrounding countryside.

We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Shepherds Spring cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishwasaB...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed in the cottage in middle March . The cottage is big , very well equipped, large rooms and was perfect for hosting a special 60th Birthday party ,of 20 people!!
Joaanna was absolutely brilliant with any questions we had and help we needed like late checkout . The surroundings were really nice with the stream at the back . Really enjoyed time here - we have already decided we are going to hire this and next door cottages for big parties in the future. Would recommend. Thank you Joaanna

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Shepherds Spring cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing