We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too hot”
Review of Hotel Le Pressoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Pressoir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Chinian
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too hot”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The room was so hot we couldn't actually sleep despite the fan. If the curtains were closed the windows had to be as well. Felt exhausted. Food was OK, but one of the waitresses refused point blank to let us eat out at the tables under the trees - not for people on demi pension I assume. I tackled the proprietor on the last day and managed it. Won't ever go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    9
    5
    10
See reviews for
11
22
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Narbonne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We live near St Chinian but this was the first visit to Le Pressoir. We only ate at this restaurant (thank goodness). Food awful - The egg mimosa was an unappetising, inedible grey offering on salad that must have been plated hours before. The vegetables were hardly warm at all. One of the worst meals we have had in the Languedoc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Chinian hotels

Dorset2Gers
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We'd had a long day driving through the beautiful Herault countryside and were tired and despairing of finding anywhere to stay when I found this hotel, called them up and booked a room believing it to be in the lower to middle end price range as this was early June. We arrived at the roundabout and found the hotel which was designed with a beautiful garden and pool area. Disabled facilities and WiFi were advertised but seemed non existant. Up we went to our room via a steep and dark staircase. The room was tiny and VERY hot - with no air con. The shower room was just about big enough to swing a cat in - alone! We were disappointed so went down to the bar and ordered a drink where only the meaty and under dressed proprietor knew how to make a gin and tonic. We sat down enjoying the view waiting for dinner. However we had to move to sit in a line with all the other diners when the meal arrived as we weren't allowed to stay where we were. It tuned out that it was the proprietor's smoking table and he had to be obeyed. The meal was nondescript, the wine overpriced but the worst shock was to come. After an uncomfortable night in the tiny and hot room we went down to a very cheap breakfast - factory croissants and the cheapest jam - and were horrified to be charged 99€ for the room. We thought there had been a mistake but - no - the unfriendly woman told us that was what they charged in June. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Check pricing and ask for climatasasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GasconyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

This hotel has a perfect location just outside the beautiful city of Saint Chinian. It has a nice pool-area and a nice terrace for the evenings. The rooms were small but OK, and the food acceptable to good. The problem for us, as we travelled in a group of 25 people is that the landlady seemed to dislike guests. Everything was OK untill one evening, we sat at pool-area until midnight and had some wine and normal conversation. The next morning she was in a bad mood and unwelcoming, basically sour as a grapefruit. She demanded that we should be quiet from 11 pm and that she had not slept very well. Some of our people had been in their room after 11, and had disturbed her. Mind you, -we were the only guests at the hotel. Unnessecarry to say the walls between the rooms were extremely thin.
So if you travel and are just passing through, wanting an early night and leave early in the morning, this might be the place for you. If you want to sit by the pool for a while in the evening, sipping to their 10 euro cognacs, don't stay here. The landlady don't really like having guests, and even our french busdriver was appalled by the lousy attitude from this hotel.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — The owner/Landlady
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oddjob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Chinian
15.1 km away
La Bastide Cabezac
La Bastide Cabezac
#1 of 1 in Bize-Minervois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
25.6 km away
Hotel Le Monestie
Hotel Le Monestie
#1 of 1 in Boujan sur Libron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
22.3 km away
Hotel des Thermes
Hotel des Thermes
#1 of 3 in Lamalou-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Le Clos Mazerolles
Le Clos Mazerolles
#1 of 1 in Cruzy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
11.2 km away
Chateau Les Carrasses
Chateau Les Carrasses
#1 of 2 in Quarante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
10.0 km away
Domaine La Veronique
Domaine La Veronique
#1 of 1 in Puisserguier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Pressoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Pressoir

Property: Hotel Le Pressoir
Address: 300 avenue de Saint Pons, 34360 Saint-Chinian, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Saint-Chinian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Chinian
Price range (per night): $93 - $116
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the hotel restaurant " Le Pressoir " , located in the charming valley of Vernazobres . A family friendly welcome awaits you . Evening meals reserved for residents or reservation (the previous day) for lunch by reservation only ( 2 days before ) . For gourmets , the chef offers traditional cuisine prepared on site based on local products , served in the pleasant dining area or on the terrace with panoramic views of rolling hills . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Le Pressoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing