We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“There is a reason that I come back every year...”
other travellers have booked this property
Acanthus Holiday Home in St Chinian
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Acanthus Holiday Home in St Chinian
The light and airy living room Living room - dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Acanthus Holiday Home in St Chinian
The light and airy living room
Living room - dining area
Living room - sitting area with French door to balcony
Living room - sitting area
The Romeo and Juliet balcony at Acanthus in Saint Chinian
The kitchen retains the traditional Languedocien fireplace hoood.
The kitchen towards the living room
Bedroom one with double bed
Bedroom two with two single beds
Market day in Saint Chinian
The windmill just above the village of Saint Chinian
Cloisters in the former abbey in St Chinian
Caroux mountain, great for hiking
Landscape near the village of Saint Chinian
Fete at the Saint Chinian Cave Cooperative
View along the River in Saint Chinian
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saint-Chinian, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
1 review
“There is a reason that I come back every year! Acanthus is a wonderful house with every comfort one could wish for”
Reviewed 9 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The village of St. Chinian is a beautiful place to spend some time in the Midi, and the hosts of Acanthus (Andreas and Anthony) are very welcoming and helpful. When I arrive from Canada I know that I will find absolutely everything that I need to live comfortably, from kitchen (amazingly well equipped) to the luxurious bathroom.
The house is located only a few steps from the Grande Rue, and everything that it offers: restaurants, pharmacies, bakeries, and butchers. The twice weekly markets (again only a few steps away) are also not to be missed.
I have stayed at other villages I n the Midi, and other houses in the village, but in my opinion, St.Chinian is the most welcoming and Acanthus is absolutely the best spot to use as a base for enjoying the Languedoc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2018
Dear Elizabethw,
thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about Saint-Chinian and my house. It's wonderful to know that you feel so comfortable here and I look forward to hosting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2vabien
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming old house,clean and sunny and comfortable, steps from the village center”
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I've rented here many times, not just for the middle-of-everything location, but because it's unusually light and sunny for one of St. Chinian's old houses, with actually comfortable furniture, appealing decor, and just a tinge of agreeable funkiness, e.g. the bedroom-size bathroom, old stone staircase, ridiculous kitchen sink (which I've learned to love and would miss if it were updated). Mainly, it's impeccably and thoughtfully maintained by the friendly and helpful owners. As with most old houses in this region, you gotta like steps. The only possible shortcoming might be that, apart from the little balcony, there's no outside space or landscape view. But the whole lovely Languedoc is just outside the door!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2018
It's wonderful to read your review - thank you for taking the time!! The fact that you have been staying at my house for so many years speaks volumes, and I'm looking forward to seeing you again before too long!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dempseyki...
Newbridge, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent, everything and more.”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We really enjoyed our stay. From Andreas,s warm welcome to the lovely house that we felt at home in straight away. The photographs don't do the house justice. Andrea s was very helpful and informative. The house contains everything required and one minutes walk from everything in the village. Lots to do from cycling mountain biking and hiking. A great base to explore nearby villages such as Minerve and Roquebrun and only 40 mins from beach. Biggest compliment I could pay was our teenager wanted to stay another week. Thank you Andreas we will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2018
Dear Kieran and family,
thank you so much for your lovely review - I'm very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay at my house and that the location of Saint-Chinian worked really well for you!! I'll be very happy to host you again and look forward to welcoming you to Saint-Chinian again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna B
2 reviews
“Charming House in the South of France”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Comfortable, retro house in very good location within easy walking distance of all local shops and the great market which takes place on Sundays and Thursdays. Saint Chinian is a well placed little town within easy reach of the delights of the coast or a drive north will take you to some more interesting places in the foothills of the mountains. The owner speaks very good English and is very informative and helpful. Book and enjoy the local restaurants, good food and delicious local wine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenient nature of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
Hi Anna, Thank you so much for taking the time to review my house! It's been a pleasure to host you, and I'm pleased to know that you were able to enjoy some of the many things which Saint-Chinian and the area around it has to offer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyd120...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Acanthus”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We can only repeat the other reviews and add it was a wonderful stay in a great location . The welcome was as if we were old friends and Andreas gave so much helpful information on both the house and the town.

It's no wonder so many people on this site have returned many times . I was very sad to leave. If I ever return to the region Acanthus will most definately be my place to stay.
Thank you

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing