We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday home in stunning surroundings.”
other travellers have booked this property
Gold Award accomodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gold Award accomodation
 view from all front windows of cottage view from lounge & kitchen of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Gold Award accomodation
view from all front windows of cottage
view from lounge & kitchen of cottage
early morning view from cottage
master bedroom
lounge
lounge
kitchen/diner
kitchen/diner
kitchen/diner
kitchen/diner
patio outside kitchen
sunset from back of cottage
evening & a beautiful sunset view from bedroom of cottage & garden
stunning walks along the leeds to liverpool canal are less than 5 mins drive from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thornton-in-Craven, Skipton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miriam L
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday home in stunning surroundings.”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fernside cottage is so comfortable and welcoming. It is very well equipped and comfortably furnished. The views over the countryside are peaceful and picturesque. Despite this being a return visit we still found much to do and see in the area that we haven't done before. Fernside cottage is the ideal location for a holiday or short break and I am sure we will be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you Miriam. It was good to see you again and I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much you have become a regular visitor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paradise!”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a self catering cottage near Skipton and the Dales for a few days hiking and relaxation. Having found Fernside Cottage, we will most definitely come here again. It is an ideal place for two people, fully equipped with state-of-the-art kitchen, bathroom and very comfortable double bed, all furnished with impeccable taste. And then there are the views, from the sitting room, a broad panoramic vista of the Dales in front of the village whilst the view of the sunsets from the bedroom had us running upstairs with cameras almost every night. Fernside Cottage is located in Thornton in Craven,some 15 minutes drive from Skipton. There are no shops or pubs in the village but you can stock up on everything you could possibly need at the Keelham Farm Shop on the outskirts of Skipton. There is a bus service to Skipton, but a car is indispensable. The cottage is run by Pauline, a wonderful and friendly hostess who has made a tremendous effort to provide a real home from home for her guests at the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a great pleasure to have you both stay at the cottage and I look forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesB356
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect base for exploring North Yorkshire...”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful countryside, amazing walks, immaculately clean and extremely comfortable accommodation - what more could you ask for!?
Fernside Cottage is bright, spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Having the private outside area was a huge bonus to sit in the early spring sunshine.
Pauline is very knowledgeable about the area and her advice was invaluable to us as first time visitors. Pauline is the perfect host, very happy to help but only there when needed.
I definitely recommend Fernside Cottage and hope that it we will be able to return another time. Thanks Pauline!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
thank you for your kind review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you both again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaMcc3...
Donaghcloney
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the pleasure to stay at Fernside Cottage on two occasions during the summer while we were house hunting in the area. The standard of accommodation is very high and far exceeded our expectations. The cottage is beautifully decorated, comfortable and was spotlessly clean. On arrival there was fresh milk, tea, cookies, fruit and a lovely bunch of flowers. A great location with wonderful views and ideally placed to explore the dales, Skipton and Ilkley.

Pauline is a friendly host and nothing is too much trouble; I have no hesitation in recommending this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the lounge
Liked least: Can't think of anything I didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
thank you Linda. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the cottage and I wish you every success with your house hunting and your new job.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet P
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy little cottage to go home to each evening”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just had 11 nights at Fernside cottage, a delightful cottage not far from Skipton. The views from the cottage were sensational. The cottage had everything you could possibly want and was our little home from home. Pauline, the owner was there to greet us upon arrival with a basket of fruit, biscuits and flowers. Very clean, cosy and private. Convenient location for Skipton and many of the attractions nearby. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, private and out of town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
It was lovely to meet you both and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing