We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely disappointing ”

Sale & Pepe Pizzeria - Barrio
Ranked #94 of 1,589 Restaurants in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Pizzeria Sale & Pepe, es un local moderno, fiel al concepto de la cocina italiana tradicional; pastas de todo tipos, un buen repertorio de pizzas cocidas en nuestro horno de lena y una serie de postres caseros muy recomendables. Nuestro personal es italiano y nuestra filosofia es dar siempre productos de primera calidad acompanado de un servicio eficaz y profesional. Celebra tus aniversarios, celebraciones y cenas de empresa con nosotros.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

As a family we have been coming back to this restaurant for about 9 years as it was so good. Last year the food was a little below standard as was the service but we thought we would give it one last try this Easter. Unfortunately it has gone even further down hill, the service was extremely poor with a surly waiter and food that was ordered only arriving when the rest of the party had pretty much finished their meal. Food was ok but not worth the money and subsequently many friends have had a similar experience.

1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialalct, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sale & Pepe Pizzeria - Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Richard,

Thank you for you review! We are sorry that your experience in our restaurant has not been as you expected. We try to improve and be better. We hope that you will give us another chance and see you again in our italian restaurant Sale & Pepe Barrio!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stumbled upon this place by accident we didnt realise that the Easter celebrations started from just across the square so it was very busy
I craved a good spaghetti Vongole and seeing this on the menu we jumped at the chance the restaurant was very busy but there was a lovely funny waiter who said if we had a drink at the bar there would be a table free very soon, within 10 minutes the table was free and we were seated our order was taken and the starters came out nice and quick i had the beef carpaccio and my wife had the giant prawns which were both huge and very delicious the main course followed but left us both expecting more the pasta was tasteless and had more shells than clams but to be honest we were pretty full after the starters !
It was a great location and i understand how busy it was maybe we will give it another go at a quieter time
The waiter was fantastic a very funny cheeky chap who made our night

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smig9y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialalct, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sale & Pepe Pizzeria - Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear smig9y,

Thank you for your opinion! On Easter break we had a full restaurant but we are glad that our waiter could give you a lovely dinner. We want to give you a perfect service with less people. We hope you will give us another chance and see you again in Sale & Pepe Barrio!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We're seated quickly at a tableand ordered quickly. The food arrived quickly but it went down hill from there. The pasta in my dish was undercooked and all I could taste was pepper. My fiances dish was okay. They took ages to take our empty plates and take our dessert order. I ordered a tiramusu which was so covered in cocoa powder that it stuck to the back of my throat and caused a coughing fit. My fiancé ordered a double expresso but got a few drips in the bottom of a espresso mug (not even single espresso size but we were charged for a double) . At no point were we asked if it was okay or I would have expressed our disappointment.

Thank JustM1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialalct, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sale & Pepe Pizzeria - Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear JustM,

Thank you for your opinion, we are really sorry that this visit was not as you expected. We are trying to improve our meals.

We really hope you will give us another chance, we work hard to get better every day.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Really nice home made pizzas, and jug of sangria, and wine, always can take large groups! Good service.

Thank Hendrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialalct, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sale & Pepe Pizzeria - Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Hendrik,

Thank you so much for your opinion and 5 stars! We are glad you enjoyed our italian pizza and wine in our restaurant located in the old town of Alicante. We hope to see you soon in Sale & Pepe Barrio!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We liked this restaurant. Friendly staff - welcoming and cheerful. Food excellent. Our salad was fresh, tasty and the balsamic dressing perfect. Both had pasta, well presented and prepared and full of flavour, and the portions were just right! They really care about what they cook
Good value for money, and the house Rioja was very good.
Busy restaurant (Monday evening). Good location too, in the Barrio - worth finding.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Petsnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialalct, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sale & Pepe Pizzeria - Barrio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Petsnelson,

Thank you so much for your opinion! We are glad you enjoyed our food, service and location in our italian restaurant in the city center of Alicante. We hope to see you again in Sale & Pepe Barrio!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sale & Pepe Pizzeria - Barrio also viewed

Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Sale & Pepe Pizzeria - Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing