We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,828)
Filter reviews
2,828 results
Traveller rating
1,634
650
318
138
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,634
650
318
138
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el mirador kids club private beach the main hotel the club lounge golf buggies adult pool jamon jamon playa san juan one bedroom suite water circuit guest relations ocean view half board main pool family pool tapas bar
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 2,828 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

The hotel is a 5+star beautiful hotel set in wonderful grounds with 3 swimming pools a magnificent golf course and a fabulous 10th. Floor “members club” which I fully recommend the staff are excellent the views breathtaking from every part of the hotel the restaurants in the main are fabulous the hotel is a mellow pink reminiscent of a Maroccan palace! From the moment you arrive you know you are going to be spoilt for your entire stay. Every member of staff from the maids through to the managers are charm personified and so polished. Nothing is too much trouble you feel completely relaxed and pampered. How I wonder do they remember your name wherever you are within the hotel??? There are several choices of rooms and villas none would disappoint.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view you can choose the 10th. Floor and be in the “member’s club” which we loved!
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank didempseyinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRCAbama, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear didempseyinteriors,

For the Ladies & Gentlemen at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, it has been a pleasure to host you and attend to your every need.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed our exclusive Club Level and its breathtaking views, as well as our variety of pools. We have 7 in total, did you get to see all of them?

I personally hope to welcome you back in the near future, so you can keep adding Ritz-Carlton Memories.

Sincerely,
Arianna Calcaterra
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We had 5 days at the Abama - and really loved everything about it. Although not a particularly cheap holiday, there were no hidden extras; water was in abundance as was fresh fruit. My husband and I played golf three times - a beautiful (although hard!) course and our son drove the buggy.
We went for the half board option, and found that our evening allowance was more than enough to feed us all.
There's a great choice of restaurants - the food at all was exceptional.
We also used the gym and the driving range - free of charge to guests.
Loved it!

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool - which was lovely and not at all noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRCAbama, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Anne A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am so much delighted to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay. I believe we take great advantage of our secluded location, and offer our guests a destination within a destination - with our challenging Abama Golf Course, our exclusive Abama beach, our different pools and of course, our wide range of restaurants and ways to move around the resort.

The Ladies & Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Abama look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Arianna Calcaterra
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Just returned from a week in paradise at Ritz Carlton Abama... serious luxury, space, amenities etc.

It is our second holiday at Abama, and have to say, it was even better than the first, if that's possible.

I am a Platinum Elite member of the hotel chain and we booked on a combination of loyalty points and cash (it is expensive!). Was slightly concerned that the service level would not be as good as if paying all cash, but, if anything, the opposite was true!

The Manager was at Reception to greet us as we arrived, we didn't even have to check in! There was an issue with our room, and we were moved... everywhere we went, we met with excellent service from genuinely very nice people - from the concierge's to the tennis club, golf, the guys at the front door on transportation... could not speak more highly of this place.

I agree with other posts here that it would be great to have a casual / less expensive dining option at the resort... but in the absence of it, we used a combination of trips to the (very close by) village of San Juan, where there is excellent value places to eat, and dining at the hotel.

The only disappointment on our stay was the meal we had at El Mirador... nothing wrong with the food, but we were soooo cold, we couldn't enjoy it! There were too many doors open. We did raise this with the staff, at the start, during and at the end of our meal... but there was no recompense, which was disappointing... we left as soon as we finished our maincourse...

It wouldn't detract from giving the 'excellent' score for this holiday tho.

I have just booked to go again just after Xmas!

If you're lucky enough to get a few days here... enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are good... we had a separate living / sleeping room as we were travelling with our 12 year old daughter
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRCQuality, Quality Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Tom D,

I am delighted to hear that you are enjoying your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and with another travelers.

We are everyday amazed by the energy that our Ladies & Gentlemen have to offer!

I personally hope to welcome you back in the near future, so you can keep adding Ritz-Carlton Memories, especially of our views, to every journey.

Warm Regards,
Sandra Zaragoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 2 adults, a 3 and 1yr old.
The room was totally outstanding. Huge area, immaculatly clean after every clean and very comfortable.
The breakfast is excellent and resturants are high standard. However, they are Very expensive and you must eat in them as nearest food places are several miles away. Shame there wasnt a cheap option or buffet to choose from as 7nights at high end resturants will add an easy £1k to your week.
Kids club was good but didnt have a playground for some reason so kids got bored quickly. This isnt the best hotel for kids - Sensatori would be more suitable.
Golf course is one of the best in europe. Ive played the best in the world and at a high level and this one is up there - the greens are incredible. Amazing service there too.
All in all, very relaxing and high quality. Few changes like more choice for kids and more practical eating places would make it 10/10. Dubai would be same price but slightly better but this was a lovely place.

Stayed: February 2018
3  Thank roadsterBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRCQuality, Quality Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear roadsterBristol,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay, I am totally agree with you regarding our Golf course, is one of the best in Europe and has incredible views ¿right?.

The Ladies & Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Abama hope to host you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Sandra Zaragoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We are fully into the Marriott / Ritz Carlton system, but quite shocked when we saw the huge red pile of The Abama appear before us when we arrived. (By the way the hotel is known just as Abama locally). But we were soon won over. The building is striking, but the “ladies & gentlemen “ are superb. The staff take service to a very high level and in every department. The hotel itself is indeed large and confusing but works well. The art works placed throughout the corridors and grounds are worth a special look. The gardens ... and koi ... are delightful. Internal transport over the large area is by van, buggy or train ... and all made quickly available. Our room was comfortably large with an excellent private balcony which we enjoyed: housekeeping was very good. The restaurants were varied and we tried all except the MB and Kabuki ... mainly because we can have that type of experience in London. Our favourite was El Mirador with remarkably good fish preparation and cooking and a delightful setting. The restaurants are all expensive and rely in part on the captive audience. The nearest external alternative is a ten minute drive away which is a bit of a hassle: the relative isolation of the Abama is a downside. We are tennis players but the wind at the Academy put us off: the courts must be on the windiest part of the site. The beach and cove area is well done and relaxing. A memorable location and hotel, particularly the service, though inevitably this is well reflected in the Ritz Carlton pricing!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRCAbama, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Jeff H,

I am so much delighted to hear that you've enjoyed your experience. I believe we take great advantage of our secluded location that makes the hotel stand out from afar, and offer our guests a destination within a destination - to enjoy the exclusive Abama beach, our various pools, the different ways to move around the resort, and of course, our wide range of restaurants (my favourite is also El Mirador, but don´t tell the others).

Our Ladies & Gentlemen look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, hopefully when it´s a little less windy so you can ace your Tennis match.

Sincerely,
Arianna Calcaterra
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews