We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little cabin home on the hill”
other travellers have booked this property
rustic log cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
rustic log cabin
view from log cabin LIVING QUARTERS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
rustic log cabin
view from log cabin
LIVING QUARTERS
BUNK BEDS
VIEW OF HARBOUR FROM LOG CABIN
VISITING CRUISE SHIP IN LOUGH FOYLE
VIEW OF CRUISE SHIP LEAVING LOUGH FOYLE
LIVING QUARTERS
VIEW OF LOG BURNING STOVE
VIEW FROM BEDROOM
BEDROOM
FRONT DECKING AREA
VIEW FROM BEDROOM
SHOWER ROOM
BEDROOM
VIEW FROM FRONT DECKING BENOWN STRAND
VIEW FROM BESIDE CABIN
outside decking area
shrove beach
inishowen head with shrove lighthouse
shrove blue flag beach
benone strand
viewing point  at top of hill
kinagoe bay
kinagoe bay
kinagoe bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Greencastle, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
tmcgooks
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little cabin home on the hill”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This little cabin home on the hill was just that,a home from home. Everything you need for a self catering holiday. Michael and Sheilagh were the perfect hosts,very warm and welcoming but also unobtrusive. After the initial run through of amenities and a bit of craic with Michael we were left to it,to come and go as you please but they were both always on hand if needed.Always a wave and a hello when you saw them. The cabin was clean and tidy with fantastic views over Lough Foyle and Benone Beach with a great deck to have breakfast on
(weather permitting). A great base for exploring the Inishowen peninsula and all the great beaches Donegal has to offer. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be making a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
i would like to thank you for your kind review and pleased to hear you had a good stay hope to see you in the not to distance future regards michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcgca
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Idyllic Log Cabin”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was an amazing getaway, we would have loved to stay longer but we will definitely be back in the near future. We stayed Friday to Sunday, brought our two dogs Gaby and Jerry. On arrival Michael met us at the harbour and we followed him to the Cabin 5 minutes up the road. We were instantly amazed by the breathtaking panoramic views from the cabin and the amount of outdoor/indoor space. Michael showed us were everything was, he also lit the barbecue for us on the Saturday night and provided rope for the two dogs to safely run about the large front garden. The cabin is warm, cosy and next time we won't pack as much as everything you need for a getaway is provided. There was a hamper full of surprises like oreo's, hot chocolate and even dog treats. There was also tea, coffee and milk etc. There is lots to do nearby we recommend Rosato's for food, Doagh Famine Village and Kinnagoe Bay one of many blue flag beaches that surrounds the cabin. We did travel all around the Innishowen Peninsula and to Malin Head Ireland's most northerly point which was stunning. Hats off to Michael and Sheilagh we are so glad we found this wee gem. Cannot wait to go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location with breathtaking views
Liked least: had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
i am sorry for not responding sooner but would like to thank you for using our log cabin and hope to see you in the near future
regards michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs & Mr”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful Honeymoon in this beautiful rustic log cabin. We loved the fact that our lovely bedroom was a separate wee walk down the decking it was a little adventure going to bed every evening. Sheila and Michael are lovely friendly warm people who made us feel more than welcome and nothing was too much trouble, our welcome package was wonderful. We will certainly be back for a visit as soon as we possibly can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Hi karen and rodney thank you for your lovely review we look forward to having you back in the log cabin
Michael and sheilagh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crazybear...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rustic log cabin with excellent view's”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for two nights, Michael met us in Greencastle and took us to the log cabin which is only a few minutes away. Welcome package was much appreciated which contained basically everything you need to settle in, tea,coffee, milk etc... Great location for touring inishowen and surrounding area's. Spectacular views from the cabin and it also has a veranda and outdoor BBQ. Peaceful and very private. It is also pet friendly which was a plus for us! The wood burning stove and rocking chair are cosy. Free Wi-Fi TV fully equipped kitchen, central heating, all you need for a great holiday. Thanks Michael for your hospitality. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and freedom to come and go as you please.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review hope to welcome you back in the future
Regardd
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen w
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy with spectacular views”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I had a great couple of nights stay at the log cabin, Michael met us in the town and led us to the cabin. He gave us a warm welcome and showed us around. The cabin has everything you need including a small stove which provides great heat and makes the space so comfortable and cosy.

It is a great base for visiting all the local beaches and shore walks, including kinnagoe bay which is stunning and only a 5 minute drive from the cabin. I had my dog with me so the nearby beaches and walks were perfect for him and he loved it!

The beds were comfortable and waking up to a view like that in the morning was priceless!

Had a great time and will definitely be returning for some more relaxation and peace and quiet.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Hi karen i would like to thank you for the nice review and would like to welcome yous back again in the near future
Best regards michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing