We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Greencastle holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

Entrance to the Boathouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to the Boathouse
View from along the beach Bird's nest bedroom upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Entrance to the Boathouse
View from along the beach
Bird's nest bedroom upstairs
Early morning rising sun...
The bay outside...
The Boathouse, from across the bay...
Evening view
From the pier in nearby Moville...
Beach outside
Beach view
Fireplace
Shroove lighthouse
Looking from entrance to bay
Bird's eye view...
Boathouse entrance
Living room area (different suite of furniture now though!)
View from upstairs bedroom into kitchen
View into living from from upstairs bedroom
upstairs bedroom
upstairs bedroom
view up to upstairs bedroom from kitchen
View inside front door showing original roof structure
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Greencastle, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DayTrip66...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greencastle holiday”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Me and the family have just returned from a holiday at the boat house lovely relaxing holiday with stunning views

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Great to hear you had a super time - hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thank you Jenny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
morneen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

I've rented many a property from TA and comparable sites and have to say this was by far my favorite!
This place is what it says on the tin, a converted boathouse. Right on the water, with stunning views from inside the property and out, and access to a small private beach area.
The boathouse was beautifully clean and and we loved the tasteful decoration in keeping with the property. It's not super modern but that's it's charm and I wouldn't change a thing. The beds were comfy, it was well equipped and had everything we needed for a comfortable, enjoyable stay. Greeencastle was five minutes drive away and is a lovely town to visit with great places to eat. Rosattos was lovely but I have to say the food in The Point Inn was gorgeous!
Columb made the trip easy and his communication was great. Margaret who greeted us was a lovely and welcoming. Equally, the neighbor was very kind.
We hope to return to enjoy the beautiful location and warn welcome. Thank you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the property itself
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sine220
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a short relaxing break”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

this property was perfect for our short family break. The property is very close to the water... I appreciate the photos show this but we were amazed at how close it was when we got there....literally a stones throw....this made for a really perfect, scenic base for our trip. We went out exploring during the day and in the evening had the fire lit and could hear the water lapping against the wall outside....very relaxing.
On arrival we were met by a charming lady who talked us through the history of the building etc...The property was clean and there was plenty of firewood etc...
Kitchen was well equipped and we benefitted from the washing machine being there as we'd underpacked a little!
Directions to the property were perfect, host sent a google pin to me and this directed me straight to the property.
Cannot recommend this property highly enough, hosts were very helpful and the property and surrounding views are amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Thank you. We appreciate how well you took care at the Boathouse and look forward to seeing you again. Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing