We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well-situated, and excellent view of the ocean.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Libertad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada de Don Lito
Ranked #20 of 24 La Libertad B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Overall - no complaints. Staff was wonderful to us.
Rooms were basic, but clean. Each room has its own bathroom with shower. We had a small TV with cable and a refrigerator. Loved waking up to sunrise over the ocean each day and being able to watch the surfers. The hotel is close to a several restaurants in an area that seemed well-patrolled by the local authorities.
Hotel served our group breakfast daily, which was delicious. Not sure what "standard" menu has on it. Everything was fresh and hot.
Hotel also has one area with a wifi hotspot for guest use.
Only dislike of hotel was that neither of the pools looked real clean, but saw many of the locals swimming anyway. Plenty of other things to do, so didn't feel like we were missing anything. On weekends the promenade just outside the hotel comes alive with kiosks of food, bands, and karaoke. (Very quiet during the week.) Can get a little noisy, but still seems safe enough.
I really liked this hotel overall - not posh, but all the necessities are covered. And it is right on the shore! La Libertad is definitely worth seeing.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

I went to El Salvador first two weeks of January 2011 and was hoping to spend my entire stay at this hotel. I was truly hoping to enjoy my stay there as I had seen the website and pictures, etc. I had also negotiated a better price for my 2 weeks long stay with the owner. However, my stay at this hotel ended up being a nightmare and I want to share my experience in TripAdvisor.

The location of the hotel is great as it is in front of the malecon and the ocean. During the weekends the hotel is full of people, mostly locals, who come to enjoy the hotel, pool, food, and the beach. However, beside weekends, the hotel is mostly empty and for the first five nights, I was the only person in the second floor of the hotel. I was told by the owner that there are two security guards in the hotel at night. However, I only saw one: old man with a machete doing his rounds at night.

The sixth night I was at the hotel, I went to have supper with some friends at a local restaurant. When I returned to my room about midnight, I noticed my video camera, cell phone, and memory sticks were gone from the counter. When I checked my suitcase, I noticed the zipper was broken and they had stolen $200 dollars in cash. Luckily, they did did not take my passport, credit and debit cards, etc. When I went looking for the security guy (old guy with machete) he was nowhere to be found, and beside the security people this hotel does not have other staff at night. I immediately got my belongings and left the hotel, as I was scared they may return for more money and/or for my papers. I ended up checking in at a smaller hotel close by who reluctantly let me in after I explained I was robbed at the Posada.

Next day I returned to the hotel and I talked to the owner. I explained situation to the owner and he apologized. However, he put the blame on my as he said that the night I was robbed I had friends visiting me at the hotel. When I explained that my friends (whom I know for a couple of years) had gone with me for supper, he still blamed me for my lost. He said that the hotel could only compensate me with $100 dollars for my lost, which was going to be deducted from the security guard (old guy with machete). I had already prepaid for 7 nights the day I checked in; however I only stay 5 nights. They did not return my money for those 2 nights I did not spend at the hotel.

I try to keep an open mind and I do enjoy writing positive reviews about the places I visit. However, this is my first time that I am robbed in a hotel and where the owners treated me badly. Locals I talked to in La Libertad agreed that this was an "inside job" and that tourists had been robed at this hotel before. There are many places you can stay in La Libertad, especially if you go for surfing trips, but I would strongly suggest you stay away form the Posada de Don Lito. Good luck.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank M0NcHiT0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: al parecer solo hay una habitacion que tiene television en todo el hotel, habra que peguntar a el ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank david_ues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Libertad
0 km away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
209 reviews
0 km away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
88 reviews
0 km away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Posada Luna
Posada Luna
#17 of 28 in La Libertad
13 reviews
0 km away
Punta Roca Surf Resort
Punta Roca Surf Resort
#13 of 28 in La Libertad
30 reviews
0 km away
Tunco Lodge
Tunco Lodge
#3 of 24 in La Libertad
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Don Lito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Don Lito

Address: Final 5 Av Sur #37-6 | Playa La Paz, La Libertad, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > La Libertad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in La Libertad
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
La Posada De Don Lito El Salvador/La Libertad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing