We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
64
41
28
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
41
28
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reef sharks buffet style beautiful beach bathroom facilities beachfront bure island hopping tour sunset walk turned up local community food was fantastic barefoot kuata summit hike locals village yasawas resort
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Lets face it, its not often you get to stay with Fijian villagers in their own resort. This resort was built in 1984 and consists of some lovely thatched bures and a longer 'motel' style building (which used to be their school) but which now houses the dorm and the twin style rooms.

Beautifully located and smartly built into the hillside (to protect from high storms, winds, waves) this island resort offers a different experience than the others. We were stranded here during the recent cyclone and the manager gave us a nice 35% discount on our enforced extended stay. Unfortunately we didn't get to do any trips due to the high seas but was very impressed with the alternative things they set-up for us to do.

Like everywhere in Fiji, bring the mossie spray, food is similar healthy option of rice, pasta potato etc but not a lot of variety. Again, power is limited due to generators being used which is the same on some of the other islands but a few hours in the hammock gazing at the gorgeous beach and ocean will soon make you forget it all.

Definitely worth a night or two on this island!

Room Tip: cant go wrong. bures at the front but dorms higher at the back all with beautiful views.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 981Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Myself and my fiance were travelling on the bula combo pass and had our last stop here. It's a Fijian community owned resort and unlike a lot of the other resorts that have foreign owners and money invested in them. This means it's not as fancy as the other Islands, but the rooms are spacious and the facilities are good. There's only electricity from 6pm to 6am but that's not really a big deal.
There are as many activities as the other Islands have but here you can go shark snorkeling. It's a must. Absolutely amazing.
The people are friendly and help you if there are any problems. No wifi on the island but good phone reception. The food is a bit homely but still nice.
It's a nice place to come to and knowing that your putting money into the islands and not a foreign investors pocket is good to. I would recommend this resort.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hamish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Wayalailai is warm, friendly and real. The facilities are basic but no one should go to a remote island and expect 24 hr electricity and unlimited water. The resort was doing its best despite a 9 month drought. Our thatched bure was adorable and the food was tasty and filling. And when my daughter fussed about the sauce on the chicken, the cook immediately offered to make her some eggs. The reef snorkel was amazing, the hike to the summit was stunning. Staff was friendly and accommodating, and lovely to our kids. Sundays are quiet with less activities available but the music at the village church was an incredible experience. If you want to contribute directly to a village and have people say 'bula' to you because they want to, not because they were told to, this is the place. We spent the previous 2 weeks in a luxury villa with a pool and my kids preferred Wayalailai.

Room Tip: Try to get a thatched bure - you will stare at the ceiling in wonder at the craftsmanship!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank EllieMichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

I can't believe the wimps who travel these days. I've just been reading reviews from a guy who was transferred from the Yasawa Flyer to Wayalailai by the island boat (wooden with outboard motor) and he was shocked by the waves hitting the side of the boat. Poor love - it must have been a horrendous few hundred metres and I hope he doesn't still suffer from flashbacks. Another was worried that his 2 years old would find the Flyer's journey too long. In 2007 my wife and I (then 65 and 68) travelled from Lautoka to Wayalailai by the island boat and during the few hours journey time we experienced thunderous downpours and scorching sun from which there was no shelter. As the boat was not equipped with life jackets or radio we were very grateful when land appeared on the horizon. Our welcome was amazing and during our three nights stay we relaxed and made many friends, especially when we walked around the village and were invited in to their homes for tea and snacks. Big Bill, Big Jerry and Maggie in the restaurant made us particularly welcome and Bill told us we were the oldest people to have visited the island. Despite our protestations everyone called us Aunty Gill and Mister Tony! Bure facilities were basic but what do you expect? When we left the island we travelled on the Flyer and it was noticeable that Bill was also a passenger. In fact, when we docked in torrential rain he insisted on carrying Gill's rucksack and getting us a taxi. A great holiday but one we won't repeat because it would spoil wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2014 via mobile

I have been for 3 night and a I had the best time! The beach is amazing and I scuba dive with little sarks. The sunrise in the mountain is amazing, but the climb mountain is discomfortable, because is in the night and dark. The way have fountain and the rocks is slip.

Stayed: November 2014
Thank Wkampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews