We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really great place to spend a holiday !”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Umbertide, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
DeGeniete...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really great place to spend a holiday !”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great place, nice location, house and pool is excellent condition thanks to Leonella's care. Ideally located to visit Gubbio, Assisi, Perugia etc ...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“To feel part of nature”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Spring of 2014 will mark our 6th visit to Villa Costa Piccola. This speaks for itself. We keep coming back because we love the house and the surroundings. The house enjoys a perfect privacy and calmness within Mount Acuto National Park. It is spacious, comfortable, fully equipped and the garden and the view are breathtaking. The owners are very nice and warm people, always willing to do the best they can. This is Italy at its best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and calmness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply amazing - most relaxing location you'll find”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this villa for a week in Umbria with friends to celebrate our 30th birthdays. The pictures can't even begin to describe the beauty of this location. You are truly in the middle of nowhere - or rather a wonderful nature reserve. Because of this, the only sounds that can be heard is the nature around you.

The villa itself is warm and inviting. Very modernly decorated, but still comfortable and charming. We stayed in the room with the only bathtub - the bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed the large bathroom.

Common areas have more than enough space for many guests and are very comfortable. We enjoyed the outdoor table and had dinner indoors because of a late summer chill. The owners very thoughtfully put screens on most doors and windows and this helps a lot with insects.

Advice:
-Car definitely needed, and it might be a good idea to get something with a large enough engine and good traction to make it up gravel roads that are on hills. We struggled in our small car, unaware of the many hills we'd need to climb to get to the villa (it's in the nature reserve so there's only 'rustic' access.

-Tip for local wine tasting and meal: we found this place, Giasoli di Sant'Andrea, and booked a tasting tour and lunch for £30 per person. Only 15 minute drive from villa, and worth the trip. Our guide was British, and the owner speaks lovely English. The lunch at the trattoria is HIGHLY recommended (they have a special local beef/steak): http://www.igirasolidisantandrea.com/

-Hairdryer: villa lists one, never found it.

-there are beach towels

-the pool may be chillier that you're expecting; attribute this to being at an altitude. Still it was quite refreshing!

-wildlife: there are some 'charms' around like spiders, wasps, and scorpions. Don't worry, the latter are only little. However we didn't know to expect them so it was a little bit of a shock! Harmless.

-the villa will probably not have many basic things on hand. Be prepared to purchase things like bin bags, toilet paper, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, olive oil, hand soap, washing powder (if you plan to use the washing machine).

-If you do plan to use the washing machine, ask for instructions. It is very old and quite complicated to figure out. However we figured it out with the help of the owner: Start at #10 (wait 45 minutes), then go to #2 (wait 10 minutes). Press key button to open door!

-fresh herbs around the grounds like rosemary, sage and treats like fresh figs. Look around!

-Umbertide is a 10-15 minute drive away. The Co-op store is most likely not open on Sundays. We experience the Euro Spin (think Aldi)...actually not too bad because Italians love good quality food!

-There are many traditional coffee percolators on hand to make espresso (there's also an electric machine - but we didn't use this). So get some lovely Italian coffee grounds!

-Wood fired pizza over: a revelation! There's a wood stack up behind the pool, and we loved making pizzas on multiple occasions. Watch some videos on YouTube before attempting this, there are tricks! Only let down was the lack of pizza slice to remove the pizzas from the oven - we improvised with tongs.

-Rubbish and recycling needs to be taken to the main road for disposal - remember this!

Highly recommend a stay here! You'll certainly relax! We loved the large kitchen and having the opportunity to cook many amazing meals in it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility of the locations and the open, clean house.
Liked least: Lack of basic goods in house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vacation Home with Gracious Owner”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Complete privacy to enjoy this well constructed and modern home. 4 ample bedrooms with private baths, large closets and comfortable beds. Kitchen has all that you need to prepare meals. It was too cold for us to use the pool but we did use the outdoor stone pizza oven, which after a lesson from Nunzio down the road and some online firemaking help worked well and was a memorable experience. This is good for extended family with outdoor (hiking or biking) interests, but also for visiting the surrounding towns. There is no ipod connection to the CD player, the TV does not receive English channels and the WIFI is limited to inside the house. (We have mentioned this to the owner, who seems eager to please and he may make these changes.) A car is manditory for this location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the mountains, the beauty of the setting and the modern house
Liked least: The 1km gravel road leading to the house from the main road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena F
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Grazie per la bella recensione. Spero di potervi avere nuovamente come nostri ospiti.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing