We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
looking south towards South Head
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield
looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
living room
living room
Harold the farmer
wet room
kitchen
upper bedroom
en-suite to upper bedroom
the view south from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BHAgirl
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 9 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Stayed for 4 nights, a perfect place to relax. the only noise comes from the sheep and baby lambs! lots of walks close by, also within walking distance of the village.The shack is just fab, everything you need, also instructions on how to find or use anything. BBQ to use in the warmer months with seating area in small garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Reviewed 2 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Muddypudd...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, fantastic tranquil location.”
Reviewed 7 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful farm building renovation. We had booked after finding the 'Sheep Shack' website but the cottage and its location exceeded all our expectations. The views all around are fabulous and it is so peaceful.We had lovely weather during our time there and enjoyed sitting out on the patio at the end of the day simply admiring the fantastic views and listening to the stream below! It is an excellent location for walking with walks from the door in every direction.
The whole cottage is furnished/equipped to a very high standard.We found there to be many items of equipment which you would not normally expect to find and which enhanced our stay.
Our family group consisted of 3. The main bedroom and ensuite are upstairs and the small bedroom downstairs with bunkbeds that comfortably slept our 6ft 16yr old! It did however not have any storage in this room but this was not a problem for us.
We did not use the car much during our short break but the newly created private parking space did provide a challenge to get in/out of and would be even more challenging with a bigger car (we have a Toyota Prius).
We took food etc with us but basic supplies are available in the village although that is quite a walk if you just wanted to nip out for something. During the summer the camp site at the bottom of the hill has a VERY small shop but sadly when we walked down on our first morning for a daily paper was told you have to order them!
We would love to return here and felt very sad leaving after our short break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Reviewed 6 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: High standard of facilities
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BenEnglan...
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous small cottage for a very reasonable price”
Reviewed 13 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Small but well equipped, recently rennovated cottage a short distance out of the village of Hayfield. The building has been restored recently with high quality fixtures and fittings. No hand-me-down furniture or cheapness here.

The remote location is great for the views, tranquility and nearby walks, but it is a short drive to the village for the pubs and shops (especially if you've been walking all day!).

Everything you could need - fully kitted out kitchen, blu-ray player, wood for the fire, local maps, books, bed linen, towels, etc.

Excellent value for money. I'd definitely recommend this for a romantic break or a weekend away with young children (note the second bedroom is very small and has only a bunk bed).

Only downsides to this trip was it takes a day for the geo-wat-not heating to warm up and a bad case of food poisoning from the Sportsman pub. Avoid at all costs - the Pack Horse further down the road was lovely.

Certainly one of the smartest and best equipped UK properties we've stayed in. You won't be disappointed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing