We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Bifora e le Lune
Nearby Hotels
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso(Santo Stefano di Sessanio)
USD 220*
USD 214*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Ristorante Monte Selva(Barisciano)(Great Value!)
USD 49*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 96*
USD 94*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiordigigli(Assergi)
USD 98*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Hotel Giampy(Assergi)
USD 83*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 86*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 73*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
55
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2015

If you want to live with an Italian family, stay with Mirela. If you want to have quiet time and not be bothered, stay with Mirela. Either way works. If you want to have samples of home made jam at breakfast, stay with Mirela. If you want to learn to cook, talk to her mother. I have had few grander hostings for a week than I have had at Bifora. Great honor to the family. To cap it off, I got poetry at the kitchen table for leftover (we had cooking class the night before) dinner as dessert. And then there was an hour of argument about the meaning of the poetry. Home. Hats off. This i a house full of love.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here with two friends while walking in Gran Sasso last week. Lovely atmospheric old village and this is a very impressive house. Mirella is lovely - no other word will do - and breakfast in her very impressive dining room with views to die for was quite a spread. Nearly gave this 5 stars but the boiler wasn't quite up to the task of delivering hot water to our room which was last in line. In all other respects very comfortable and well-equipped accommodation with free no-fuss wifi to boot.

Room Tip: Avoid the downstairs bedroom on the left if you want hot water!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Over the Christmas season, my family came here for a relaxing ski vacation. We could not have been more impressed by this lovely B&B that combined a welcoming atmosphere with the alpine charm of Santo Stefano. Our hostess was extremely accommodating, she even provided us a much needed hand with parking--Italian style! From the excellent restaurant recommendation she made to the homemade breakfast with direct mountain views, you can't go wrong. As for the rooms, they resemble something out of a swiss alpine chalet but at a fraction of the price. Being located steps from the main cathedral and inside the pedestrian only walls is just a bonus. Cinque stelle!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

La Bifora e le Lune is a small B&B with three rooms in the centre of Santo Stefano. The rooms are very clean, tastefully furnished and guests have use of a shared Kitchen which is located on the first floor. Breakfasts are served downstairs in the main building which is beautifully constructed, trimmed with stone and houses the famous mullioned windows (i.e. La Bifora) that the B&B is named after.

The owner Mirella is a lovely Italian lady who is very friendly and tries to make you your stay one to remember; she only speaks a few words of English (and we only speak a few words of Italian), but we managed to communicate without too many problems.

We stopped here last September and enjoyed it so much, we decided to return. Initially, we had difficulty locating La Bifora, but it is actually just a short walk from the top car park at the rear of the town - you simply walk down the arched street "via della archi" past the shops and it leads you to La Bifora on the left.

Santo Stefano is a small hilltop village, close to Calascio; it is set high up 1250m in a beautiful setting and attracts a small number of daytime tourists. There are a number of shops selling local products - candles, soaps, trinkets, local products but more importantly it has a good selection of restaurants, a bar, shop and gelateria which are close by.

We came here to walk in the Gran Sasso National Park. Campo Imperatore is about 30 minutes drive away where a number of the more popular walks start. We had great weather, with only a few rumbles of thunder in the afternoon, so managed to walk for four full days. The walks are very varied and can be simple or more challenging depending on your fitness and experience.

We would definitely recommend La Bifora and we will return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

La Bifora is just a perfect escape for a romantic weekend. Me and my fiancé had a wonderful time. thanks to lovely attention of the owner Mirella. Wonderful breakfast, romantic fireplace and good wine. Can only recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews