We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property so peaceful”
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Exterior
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Sitting Room Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Exterior
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Sitting Room
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Bedroom
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Dining
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Exterior
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Bathroom
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Living Room
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Dining
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Living Room
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Bedroom
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Bedroom
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Living Room
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Exterior
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Bedroom
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Bedroom
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Exterior
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Exterior
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Kitchen
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Floor Plan
Hunter Valley Accommodation - Dalwood Country House - Dalwood - Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Branxton, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew D
kiama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent property so peaceful”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The overall place is fantastic. It was the perfect place to celebrate my 60th birthday with my family. Out of the way and still not too far from wineries. We booked this place as it had a playground for the kids. Couldn't get them off the trampoline and when the weather warmed up they were in the pool. My 7yr old grandson said it was his best holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity
Liked least: I'd say the flies but that"s what you have to expect in the country spring/summer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2015
Hello Matthew, thank you so much for your kind words and this fabulous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Dalwood Country Retreat and that the children were able to use the playground and utilise the great facilities this property has to offer. That is so lovely that your grandson enjoyed his holiday! The Hunter Valley Stays Team look forward to welcoming you back to the Valley soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for a large group”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Dalwood Country Retreat is a fantastic house for a large group. We loved our stay - needless to say the pool was fabulous on a 41 deg day! Living areas are large as are bedrooms which were sooooo comfortable. Bathrooms are plentiful so no problem there & there are large verandas outside too. We loved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself
Liked least: A few leftovers from last guests
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thank you for this fantastic review Patricia! We are delighted that you were able to enjoy all of the facilities Dalwood has to offer. It was very good it is great you were able to utilize that stunning pool. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hunter Valley soon. Kind Regards, The Hunter Valley Stays Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikola B
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Excellent for large group with kids”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great stay over the long weekend. The house was well equipped to keep 4 families entertained and comfortable. The pool and pizza oven were fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, size of house, pizza oven
Liked least: Location was a bit further out of the wine region
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thank you for your positive review, we are so happy you all enjoyed Dalwood Country Retreat and had everything you needed for 4 families to relax and be entertained. The pool and pizza oven do make entertaining families so easy and so much fun! Looking forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to Dalwood again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemayF
2 reviews
“Top class property.”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

"All our dealings from booking to end were prompt, friendly, helpful, smooth & easy. The property was better in reality than in the pictures. And all amenities & facilities were as promised. Couldn't have been happier."

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
WOW!! Thank you for your amazing feedback and sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community!

We are thrilled that you took great advantage of our facilities and location and your kind mention of our team is very well received.

We look forward to accommodating you again soon!

Hunter Valley Stays Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style, size and comfort of the property.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
It sounds like you had a wonderful stay at Dalwood Country Retreat with your friends and family. The stone pizza oven set out on the large deck overlooking the grounds, is definitely, a favourite by those who stay at Dalwood Country Retreat. We look forward to seeing you and your group again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing