We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday in a delightful cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Spaxton, Bridgwater, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iggycat62
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday in a delightful cottage”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We arrived fairly late after a long-ish journey to find a lovely cottage - a welcome pack, which included tea, coffee, milk, biscuits & chocolates, had been left for us and was very welcome indeed. A designated parking space has fairly recently (I believe) been created in the front garden - this is very useful as the terrace of houses, of which Hillside Cottage is a part, got quite busy and it would have been difficult to park on the narrow road otherwise. There is also the facility to charge an electric car if you have one! The cottage is very comfortable and nicely decorated. There's also a washing machine and dishwasher; the fridge is on the small side but it was ok for us. The wood burning stove was lovely - the first basket of logs & kindling being free with a charge for additional logs used which is fair enough. The bedrooms are a nice size and the beds comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped. Mobile reception isn't great - there are a couple of spots in the cottage where you can get a signal but this is mentioned in the cottage guide. The Wi-Fi is very useful.
Spaxton is a lovely quiet village and, as it has no street lights, is good if you want to check out the night sky. The village has a community shop and there are plenty of supermarkets in Bridgewater, about 6 miles away. Hillside Cottage is very well placed for exploring Exmoor & the coast and I would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning stove
Liked least: I can't think of anything I didn't like.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had a lovely holiday at Hillside Cottage, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. What a thoughtful gesture to leave you a welcome hamper, certainly a great sight after a long journey! We hope that you return to enjoy the property all over again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith P
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our holiday was absolutely wonderful, due in no small part to this chocolate box cottage in an idyllic setting ! superbly furnished throughout. a great place to spend a week and recharge your batteries. Would highly recommend this wonderful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our daughter loved the garden, we loved the open views over the fields,we loved everything about the property.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevefear...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, relaxing cottage - great for dogs!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This cottage is lovely - very clean and tidy. The dog loved the outside enclosed garden. All mod-cons, everything you could ask for. Lots of info provided for things to do and theres lots to do! Great places to take the dog! I shall be definitiely recommending this little haven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D N
northampton
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, beautiful location”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in the Hillside Cottage in Spaxton in May for a week. We found the cottage clean, well looked after an very welcoming. The location was easy to find and isn't too far away from a few smaller towns with supermarkets, but is far enough in the countryside that it is very quiet. Well found the cottage well equipped for a family holiday (for us two adults and a 4 year old). The cottage has a modern feel with the perfect mix of old cottage environment. There is a wide variety of cooking utensils - although I'd suggest bringing a few knives, forks, spoons as those at the cottage are plastic. There are a lot of sharp knives and other cooking utensils otherwise. The only other thing worth noting to is to do some food shopping every couple of days - the fridge was ideal for us for fresh food for about two days, there is a freezer but it is a small freezer box in the fridge (ideal for us as we just needed a way to freeze our ice packs for our lunch bag). The beds were comfy and we slept well. The garden is a good size and although we didn't bring a dog I can see why people with a dog feel it's an ideal place for them. The washing machine was very useful - prevents loads of washing when we get home! LOVED the fire! There was a lot of information provided about walking routes and local attractions. Very very ideal for walkers. For us it was a little out of the way - about an hour to most kid friendly attractions, but there was a lot of variety on offer in the location. Also notable thing about the cottage is it is surrounded front & back with rapeseed fields and if you have hayfever or allergies make sure you bring some tablets. The views are spectacular though! Also wifi is located in cottage (or not shared off near location) - all info supplied in the house welcome book. Phone reception in and out in areas of the house. Overall we've been really impressed and have had a wonderful time. I'd highly recommend it as it's been so so lovely. I'd definitely come back again, excellent value for money

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace
Liked least: Didn't dislike anything in particular
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave your helpful and complimentary
review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Hillside Cottage. The
cottage is surrounded by beautiful arable farmland. The fields of yellow
Rape are planted every fourth year usually flowering in May, it is very
attractive and the honey bees love to collect the pollen. The owners of the property and have been in touch with us to apologise for the misunderstanding over the stainless steel cutlery and would like to let you know that they have relocated the cutlery to the kitchen area which they hope will help . It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequentf...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked over the bank holiday weekend with our two dogs. The cottage is amazingly well equipped, a real home from home. It was a relaxing break, such a peaceful place to stay. Lovely outlook from bedroom window of fields and more fields. Dogs loved the back garden. Very central to tour Somerset and Devon. Would definitely recommend this cottage and would love to go back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing