We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummmmy”
Review of The Snooty Fox

The Snooty Fox
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Howick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 15
Description: The Snooty Fox is an award-winning a la carte restaurant in the heart of the Natal Midlands, South Africa. Located at the iconic Fern Hill Hotel, The Snooty Fox caters for both in-house hotel guests, and the general public. Home of the best Sunday Carvery in the Midlands, and delicious, organic, locally sourced and freshly prepared food.
Restaurant details
Description: The Snooty Fox is an award-winning a la carte restaurant in the heart of the Natal Midlands, South Africa. Located at the iconic Fern Hill Hotel, The Snooty Fox caters for both in-house hotel guests, and the general public. Home of the best Sunday Carvery in the Midlands, and delicious, organic, locally sourced and freshly prepared food.
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

The food is excellent, taste fresh and appealing to the eye (presentation). Though it takes long to migrate from the kitchen to the table, depending on hungry you are, it's worth the wait

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Lerato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We went to Fern Hill hotel to look at a venue for a special occasion.

We decided to have a cup of coffee and we were enticed to try the scones....

Well we were not let down. A huge scone with ample helpings of cream and jam arrived. The scone was nearly the size of a side plate and was fresh and warm. The coffees where just the right temperature and strength.

Service was awesome and the venue was a delight.

Can't wait to have our occasion at Fern Hill!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank NJC112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Great, cosy restaurant, big variety of dishes on the menu and brilliant service. What more can you ask for

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank SugarFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely venue, great service, best pork belly I have in years, highly recommend the Snooty Fox. There was a wedding on at the time that we were at dinner...it was very noisy at the bar but the service and the food was not compromised in the Snooty Fox. This restuarant is noted for our future visits to the Midlands.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Wga23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Wonderful venue, great service and "haut cuisine" Chef Alex's food compares with the best in the world. Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank AMBER830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernHillHotel, Owner at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear AMBER830

Chef Alex will be overjoyed to read this review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. It means a great deal to us. Thank you for your patronage. We are very happy to hear you were so well looked after.

Here's to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Stephanie Szecsei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Snooty Fox also viewed

Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing