We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect holiday house in a beautiful, peaceful...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Case Eli

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Pieve Fosciana, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DannyJ600
1 review
“A perfect holiday house in a beautiful, peaceful location”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The property was located down a farm track, giving it a sense of seclusion but also near enough to the local village - walkable across the river which runs alongside the garden. The house is spacious, clean and has all the facilties you need (apart from an oven inside - although there is a wood fuel oven outside). The garden is large and well maintained with a very good pool and bikes available to use. The views of the distant mountains from the garden add to the beauty of the place. The house is 1.5 hour drive from Pisa airport and 1 hour from Lucca - worth a visit - as is Firenze (Florence) although I recommend you park in Lucca and take the train. We had a lovely time at Case Eli and would certainly return - we recommend it to you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location., pool and gardens - plus the weather
Liked least: All good - no complaints. Minor quibble about lack of oven in the house.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed this lovely location and well maintained house.
We are sorry about the oven. The guests prior to you left it on for days with the door open and it all burnt out/melted. This cannot be rectified now until the end of the season but the owner has placed a stove top oven in the kitchen which works the same as an ordinary oven and she is currently trying to find a larger one. This will be rectified as soon as possible.
Loriana will be really pleased to welcome you again! Thanks again, Lorraine at tuscan-retreats.co.m
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy R
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The photographs for Case Eli do not do it the justice it deserves. It is true to say that the entrance at the top of the lane is very tight, but with a competent driver this isn't a problem. The house itself is very spacious and airy. The weather during our stay was not brilliant and unfortunately we only got to use the pool a couple of times. We have never had such a big pool in a private accommodation. The garden is immense, more like a field, with plenty of wildlife around. Deers playing in the mornings, bats and owls around at night. A 20 minute scenic walk through the woods brings you to the village. A brilliant base for catching the train from Castelnuevo or enjoying the house itself. If straying in Pieve Fosciana a visit to the restaurant il posso is a must, try the degustation menu at 30E a head may seem quite expensive, but you get to sample a wide variety of speciality dishes. Both the house and the restaurant are well worth the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the property
Liked least: The tight entrance
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you loved the place, the local restaurant and the fantastic wildlife! We hope to see you again. Lorraine at tuscan-retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and outdoor living space
Liked least: Tight turn at top of drive but fine once you got used to it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are really glad you enjoyed this beautiful house, and the surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review, and we are really pleased you enjoyed all this peace, yet within walking distance of facilities!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The car access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing