We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umzolozolo Lodge(Ladysmith)
USD 369
USD 356
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 52
USD 49
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 72
Booking.com
View Deal
Hunter's Lodge(Ladysmith)(Great Value!)
USD 70
USD 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 60
USD 58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller's Rest Lodge(Ladysmith)(Great Value!)
USD 82
USD 80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 521
USD 486
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 493
USD 453
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
249
27
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
27
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringfig treegame rangerthe reserveindividual cabinswatering holeindividual attentionlast minute decisionafternoon gamedaily game driveswent the extra milefamily suitehis jobamazing sightingswater holepersonal servicethank you so much
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

My family of five (two adults, 9,7 and 4 year old) made a last minute booking to Cheetah Ridge and stayed in the Family Suite. The rooms and amenities were excellent and extremely spacious. Aside from the minor problem that most modern travellers face (shortage of accessible plug points and two pin adaptors for all the electronic and photographic devices we brought along), the rooms were very well appointed (Nespresso Heaven). Despite having 3 kids with us, we almost felt like we were on honeymoon!

The food and dining ambience was classy but casual and the catering team were always happy to go the extra mile to make our kiddies food that they appreciated! The oxtail stew was to die for!

Game drives were very well organized and aside from not being any of the big cats, there was more than enough game to keep my 4 year old interested! Justin was our ranger and he was knowledgeable and charming. He managed to keep us all cool and calm when a stray male elephant in musk got too friendly with our vehicle! (I think my little girls developed a bit of a crush on him!).

I cannot comment on the spa facilities as during "downtime" from game drives I was forced to swim or play tennis with the kids but these were definitely not hardships!

Considering the quality of accommodation and hospitality, I would say this was great value for money - it certainly rivals game lodges I have tried in Botswana and Zimbabwe but save me the hassle of international flights and malaria prophylaxis. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Family suite was very spacious and had a nice lounge and verandah but no view of the watering hole.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun N, General Manager at Cheetah Ridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Cazrz,

We thank you for your lovely review on Cheetah Ridge Lodge.We are thrilled that your family enjoyed the stay here in the very well appointed Family suite. This suite is so convenient for families, having their own living area upstairs, and yet part of the Lodge which is safe for children to roam around. Our staff are fully committed to giving all the service you need which is part of the experience staying here at Cheetah Ridge. The Game drives are full of sightings, not to forget the little things which often go unnoticed !
We are pleased you enjoyed the time with your children playing in the swimming pool, playing games in the garden, which they so enjoy especially with their parents.
Justin is a dedicated Ranger who enjoys his time with Guests experiencing the wonders of the African Bushveld here on the Nambiti Game Reserve.
We are so looking forward to having you back to see the Big Cats which you missed. We wish you a safe travel home and looking forward to seeing you all soon here at Cheetah Ridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

I spent 3 days at the lodge in early February. From the moment I arrived I loved the place... the staff was attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. In particular I would like to thanks Jamie, our guide. He made those few days even more enjoyable, his commentaries during the twice daily drives in the bush were on point and is enthusiasm was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JG F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun N, General Manager at Cheetah Ridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear JG F,

Thank you for giving Cheetah Ridge a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cheetah Ridge, and of course that your stay here was the highlight of your trip to South Africa.There is nothing like enjoying the African Bushveld to rejuvenate the soul and absorb the energy for the new year ahead.Jaime is passionate about the bush and his enthusiasm makes the experience so rewarding. We thank you for your kind comments about the staff. We do agree the staff are fully committed to our guests making their stay extra special. We hope to see you again soon to experience Cheetah Ridge and its beauty on the Nambiti Game Reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We were there in late December 2017. The animals we saw at the watering hole outside our cabin and on the game drives each day were out of this world. Richard was an outstanding game driver!! He worked well with all age groups and was knowledgeable, engaging, and accommodating. Shaun (?), Isaac, and the chef all worked together to make our stay delightful. A highlight was eating under the 101 year old fig tree and seeing 7 hippos come out of the water hole at one time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank USCJo .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun N, General Manager at Cheetah Ridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear USCJo,
We thank you for giving Cheetah Ridge a wonderful review. The rooms are special having that outlook onto the waterhole. We hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, special sharing that time with family, as I was with my family over this time which was special. We do at every opportunity have meals under the old fig tree, to enjoy the sounds of the bush while chatting with your friends and family over a delightful meal prepared by our very capable chefs. Thank you for visiting us and hope to meet you all on your return stay with us. We wish you a good year and wish you a safe and good 2018 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

The rooms are lovely especially the Nespresso machines that are in every room. The staff are great and we had a fantastic time making special memories with our entire family. They catered so well for the kids who ranged in ages of 18 months to 8 years old, our 2 year old nephew was even able to join us on the game drives which was so special. They have a swimming pool, kids games room and lovely open lawns for the kids to entertain themselves. My only complaint is the exotic trees that are in the camp, that really took away the "bush" feel for me. Other than that we had a great time with different scenery to the typical game reserve experience that we are used to, Nambiti is truly beautiful and offers some different wildlife sightings such as Serval (I think this is one of the best parks to get sightings) and a few unique birds to the area like white bellied korhaan, corn crake etc.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CandyMckibbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snalson, General Manager at Cheetah Ridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear CandyMckibbin,
We thank you for reviewing Cheetah Ridge on Trip Advisor. Cheetah Ridge is a special place and a lovely place for Kids to enjoy the freedoms of a fully fenced big Garden surrounded by the African Bushveld and spectacular views. However having said that, the Kudu and Warthog still frequent the property including the garden in front of the Lodge, so one must still be careful of the wild animals to which whom we are Guests in their world. The exotic trees are still existing from when the Lodge was the original farm house, which are still big beautiful trees and have their own beauty and place in the garden. The sightings as you mention are frequent and abundant, even Lion sightings from close up. The Bird life here is alive with song and chatter, which makes ones visit ever so special. We hope you will come back and see us in the not too distant future. Wishing you all a very prosperous 2018 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

We love Nambiti and have been to 3 other lodges on the reserve, all of which were outstanding. This time we decided to try out Cheetah Ridge and once again we were not disappointed. The lodge has spacious and beautiful gardens, which is ideal for younger kids. A swimming pool and games/entertainment room make this lodge better than some of the others, especially with kids. It's also the only one with a self catering unit. We stayed in the luxury rooms which are ideal for 2 people sharing. The rooms are stunningly decorated with outstanding views over a watering hole. Giraffe, zebra and hippo were regular sightings. Beds were comfortable and the air conditioner was an added bonus in the heat. The game drives twice a day are always a highlight. But this time Jaime Levin, who according to my son, is The Best Ranger ever, made our drives even more special. He is so passionate about his work that even a 2 hour drive spotting only antelope and birds was riveting!! The food is great. We did ask for a specific dietary requirement but somehow that was not conveyed. No matter, as the chef ensured there was veg and fish options specifically for us. I would highly recommend Cheetah Ridge to anyone wanting to come a long on a bush holiday with children and teens.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sadiyya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snalson, General Manager at Cheetah Ridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Sadiyya H,

Thank you for giving Cheetah Ridge a review. We so appreciate the kind words about our beautiful Lodge which is really special, as you mentioned, the Rooms overlooking the waterhole, and the numerous animals that frequent the waterhole. Jaime is so passionate about being in the Bush, and entertaining the Guests with beautiful sightings one can experience here at Nambiti. We hope one day your Son will come and work at Cheetah Ridge as a Field Guide, and he too can experience the incredible wildlife and share his experiences with Guests visiting Cheetah Ridge ! We hope you will return with your extended family as you mentioned while here, and we will be happy to host you. We wish you a happy and prosperous 2018, and hope to see you all in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews