We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vValue”
Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Reviewed 19 September 2017

On arrival the interior of the Hotel was good.The room we had 123 a you entered looked great clean, neat and spacious, but on entering the bathroom I thought I had walked into a cupboard. If was of a large disposition I could not have sat on the toilet in comfort, the wash basin was small, the shower was great. The meals at the the hotel were very good both evening meal and breakfast. My wife has a special diet (coeliac) and the staff coped very well. Overall the stay was comfortable but you have to watch which room you have in case you get a tiny bathroom.

Room Tip: check the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stef1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

This hotel looks like it has an impressive history as the facade is gorgeous, however, upon arrival the hotel has clearly been under invested in for many years as the exterior viewed from the car park, which is often the first view a customer has, was not good. The interior is not much better, the original features have been removed and the owners seem to have been to a Premier Inn boot sale, bought the contents and inserted them into the hotel as best they could. All the communal furniture was stained or badly worn.

Saying that, our room (No. 104) was spacious and clean (exluding the scatter cushions which were stained), although I was worried about opening a window in case it fell out! There were also exposed water pipes running through the room which catered for the room upstairs, so you new when the customer above used the facilities due to the noise of the water rushing through the pipes. Also, the pillows needed replacing, the curtains were coming off the rails and they had simply painted over any poor plaster etc.

Bring your own hairdryer as the one provided wouldn't blow a candle out.

The breakfast was adequate for the price paid and the staff we encountered in the bar, at breakfast and reception were all very friendly and helpful. Huge TV in the bar area which I thought was a little intrusive but that's a personal thing.

If you're on a budget, this hotel is perfectly fine but if you're looking for something a bit special, look elsewhere. Great location for Woodhall Spa golf course as it's within walking distance, as is the town centre.

Room Tip: Room 104 overlooked the front of the property which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussy Beatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant 2 nights at the Golf Hotel. The room was nice, as was the ambience of the place. Woodhall Spa is rather like an oasis, a charming place and of course there is an excellent golf course

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICKPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We spent only one night at The Golf, attending a large dinner with about 120 guests. The room itself was very good, with our only criticism being an incredibly slow filling cistern in the bathroom. (It's a pain having to schedule flushes of the loo!) However, it was other aspects that were deficient such that I would caution about holding a major function at the hotel.
Firstly, when people arrived during the afternoon, a number felt they might enjoy a tea, but were met with the answer that nothing was available, although the chef might be able to defrost a muffin from the deep freeze. Adjacent establishments did well!
Secondly, our 3 course set dinner started at 8 pm , but coffee wasn't served until about midnight, after which the first speeches were given. Either there wasn't enough staff, or the kitchen was incredibly slow in plating up the courses. Whatever the reason, since the wine service at table also suffered badly, it killed the fun aspects of the evening and the speakers had an uphill struggle as their audience was desperate to get to the bar or bed by that time.
Which brings me to my final comment - the bar prices. Although a bottle of wine was very reasonably priced (c£15) I did not expect to pay London prices of £4 a pint for beer. Perhaps there's an import duty into Lincolnshire!? It was a little alarming to be charged £9 for a pint of bitter and white wine spritze.
In sum, a fairly good hotel that needs to reassess its planning for major functions.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WIWOL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely break staying in this hotel for a couple of days, the food was delicious and there was always something on in woodhall spa including the kinema and plenty of ice cream shops. It was a lovely visit and the hotel room was lovely and big. We had a really great time.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.8 km away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
1,020 reviews
0.3 km away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
419 reviews
0.2 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
167 reviews
27.8 km away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
23.6 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Address: The Broadway, Woodhall Spa LN10 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range: $145 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Bedroom Hotel, Built in 1880 and set in seven acres of gardens, lawns and woodlands, the hotel is ideally situated for the Woodhall Spa Golf Club, village and surrounding tourist sights. The Golf Hotel is currently under new management and under going a full refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel And Aqua Sante Spa
The Golf Hotel & Aqua Sante Woodhall Spa
Hotel Aqua Sante
The Golf Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing