We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
96
107
60
35
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
107
60
35
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge tvpowerful showerthe ground floornight staybar areafor sunday lunchbuffet stylefull englishlovely breakgolfvillageweddingwardrobekinemacourses
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This hotel looks like it has an impressive history as the facade is gorgeous, however, upon arrival the hotel has clearly been under invested in for many years as the exterior viewed from the car park, which is often the first view a customer has, was not good. The interior is not much better, the original features have been removed and the owners seem to have been to a Premier Inn boot sale, bought the contents and inserted them into the hotel as best they could. All the communal furniture was stained or badly worn.

Saying that, our room (No. 104) was spacious and clean (exluding the scatter cushions which were stained), although I was worried about opening a window in case it fell out! There were also exposed water pipes running through the room which catered for the room upstairs, so you new when the customer above used the facilities due to the noise of the water rushing through the pipes. Also, the pillows needed replacing, the curtains were coming off the rails and they had simply painted over any poor plaster etc.

Bring your own hairdryer as the one provided wouldn't blow a candle out.

The breakfast was adequate for the price paid and the staff we encountered in the bar, at breakfast and reception were all very friendly and helpful. Huge TV in the bar area which I thought was a little intrusive but that's a personal thing.

If you're on a budget, this hotel is perfectly fine but if you're looking for something a bit special, look elsewhere. Great location for Woodhall Spa golf course as it's within walking distance, as is the town centre.

Room Tip: Room 104 overlooked the front of the property which was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyBeatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant 2 nights at the Golf Hotel. The room was nice, as was the ambience of the place. Woodhall Spa is rather like an oasis, a charming place and of course there is an excellent golf course

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICKPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We spent only one night at The Golf, attending a large dinner with about 120 guests. The room itself was very good, with our only criticism being an incredibly slow filling cistern in the bathroom. (It's a pain having to schedule flushes of the loo!) However, it was other aspects that were deficient such that I would caution about holding a major function at the hotel.
Firstly, when people arrived during the afternoon, a number felt they might enjoy a tea, but were met with the answer that nothing was available, although the chef might be able to defrost a muffin from the deep freeze. Adjacent establishments did well!
Secondly, our 3 course set dinner started at 8 pm , but coffee wasn't served until about midnight, after which the first speeches were given. Either there wasn't enough staff, or the kitchen was incredibly slow in plating up the courses. Whatever the reason, since the wine service at table also suffered badly, it killed the fun aspects of the evening and the speakers had an uphill struggle as their audience was desperate to get to the bar or bed by that time.
Which brings me to my final comment - the bar prices. Although a bottle of wine was very reasonably priced (c£15) I did not expect to pay London prices of £4 a pint for beer. Perhaps there's an import duty into Lincolnshire!? It was a little alarming to be charged £9 for a pint of bitter and white wine spritze.
In sum, a fairly good hotel that needs to reassess its planning for major functions.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WIWOL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely break staying in this hotel for a couple of days, the food was delicious and there was always something on in woodhall spa including the kinema and plenty of ice cream shops. It was a lovely visit and the hotel room was lovely and big. We had a really great time.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Some of the staff especially will regard to catering had a poor understanding of English which was concerning when dealing with a peanut allergy. The food took ages courses did not all arrive at the same time. One meal contained a piece of metal.
No all of the electric sockets worked. The night porter was non existent when a medical situation arose.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hclgamarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews