We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shadow of its former self, down at heal and over priced”
Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Reviewed 3 July 2017

As someone who has spent 20 years living out of hotels I like to think I know a thing or two and not too judgmental but this hotel has really annoyed me. From the outside its really shabby now, no investment or maintenance. The room was ok, nothing more or less, far too much money in this day and age for the facilities offered. Cannot check in until 3 pm which in this day and age I think is pretty late, its not a big issue but none the less, what more incredible is breakfast is only till 10am on a Sunday ! Sorry but that's just rubbish in todays market place. The bar has a huge television which if your a sports fan is great but its nigh on ridiculous for the size of the room, more importantly the bar desperately needs some attention, I swear its not seen a varnish in the last 30 years which was the last time I was here. The Golf used to be the go to place in Woodhall Spa but now its looking very tired, run down and a shadow of its former self. I get the impression its trading on its former glory and the fact the golf course brings it business because of the few alternatives.
The staff were very good though and they do work hard so they are probably holding it together. The reception though was a vey different story, enough said.
Closing thoughts, next time I'll use the Petwood !

Room Tip: Best tip is to book a different hotel or get the room at half the price ! Its all its worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

Stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding in Woodhall Spa. Our room was on the ground floor and thought it was going to be a bit noisy but it was very quiet, it was very clean with plenty of room, massive bed and very comfortable! We only had breakfast here but this was very good with a reasonable choice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We recently had our wedding reception at the golf hotel and could not of been any happier with our day so would like to say a big Thankyou to everyone, from us arriving after church the day ran very smoothly
Our choice of wedding breakfast was fantastic and we were all served so quickly and efficiently many of our guests commented on this, The choice of pizzas for our evening reception went down really well,
If you are getting married and are looking somewhere for your reception I could not recommend this place highly enough
So once again Thankyou to you all

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Creamtea1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Stayed there 2 weeks ago on a business trip for one night, on arrival it looks very good, nicely kept front gardens, building looks tidy from the outside and couldn't fault any of the staff I met.
Didn't get to eat there as we had to meet some customers for our evening meal but the buffet breakfast was nice.
The public rooms downstairs were decorated nicely and the place looked clean.
The 2 main things I wasn't too happy about was the smell in my bathroom (not a dirty smell but was like a chemical smell / hair perming solution) that didn't go away even with the light / fan left on permanently all night and the mattress on the bed felt worn.
I didn't see the point complaining as it was anly a 1 night stay but I wouldn't have enjoyed staying any longer. I've stayed in better places for the same price or cheaper.
The bedroom was nicely decorated but let down by what looked like a massive water mark / stain next to the radiator, something that probably could have been painted over at very little cost.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveJ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We arrived and the hotel looks quite grand when you arrive and the communal dining room looked lovely. The reception is a little tired looking and the staircase area is difficult to negotiate.
The room when the key finally worked was too hot, the window could have been opened, but it was a sash window which could easily have been opened from the outside and would have been easily accessed from the outside. The toilet was noisy and the bathroom was not clean, there was hair on the floor and a plastic lid cover, presumably from the previous occupant, the side of the bath had something brown all over, which didn't fill me with the joy.
Beds were comfy, TV was massive (didn't turn it on). Didn't have breakfast as we had to be out for 7.15 and breakfast didn't start until 8.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.8 km away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
1,027 reviews
0.3 km away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
423 reviews
0.2 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 km away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
23.6 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,891 reviews
36.5 km away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Address: The Broadway, Woodhall Spa LN10 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range: $140 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Bedroom Hotel, Built in 1880 and set in seven acres of gardens, lawns and woodlands, the hotel is ideally situated for the Woodhall Spa Golf Club, village and surrounding tourist sights. The Golf Hotel is currently under new management and under going a full refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel And Aqua Sante Spa
The Golf Hotel & Aqua Sante Woodhall Spa
Hotel Aqua Sante
The Golf Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing