We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed much....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed much....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We made our booking via telephone and was ideal as they accepted our Dog, however, they said we had to have a Part-refurbished room as its was the only Dog room they had, we thought that was fine and was cheaper anyway as the website stated a promotion running for part-refurb rooms (bedroom done but bathroom not refurbed yet) and the staff on the phone re-iterated this. So we booked in for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, as the rate was so cheap we went for the full works.
I was then sent my confirmation email after booking.
We arrived on the day and the Reception interior and Bar, and Restaurant had all been nicely refurbished.....but then you walk through to the bedroom corridors and you are thrown swiftly back into the 1970's with an awful musty smell! The hotel is truly awful behind the scenes and is need dire need of refurb!!! We didnt complain as we knew this is partly why they are letting the rooms so cheap, and also we had a bathroom in our room which was exteremely run down with barely any hot water running through, but it was cheap so we compromised.
At dinner that evening, the very friendly waitress asked if we were residents and we replied yes we have Dinner included in our rate, and then halfway through our Dinner, a lady who i think was a member of the family who runs the Hotel, rudely interrupted us and said we do NOT have Dinner included in our rate and that we had paid for Bed and Breakfast only!!! I then replied and said this is not the case as we are in a very run down part of the hotel and in a part-refurb room so we are on the cheap rate and so we paid extra to have dinner included, she argued with me and said the rate we paid was for B&B only! I was then forced to show my confirmation email to prove this which i did, and then she said, very defensively, "Fine i will have to honour it then i guess!!!" and walked off. What i found very odd was, my parents came up a day later, booked DBB for one night in a FULLY refurbished room and PAID THE SAME as us ?!?! According to the Lady owner, we should have paid MORE for only our PART-REFURB room on a rate only of B&B?? She really wasnt making any sense and clearly had no idea what she was doing.

All in all, the Hotel is ok, the staff very friendly but the Lady who owns the hotel (or maybe the Daughter of the owner) hasnt any idea what she is doing and likes to bark orders at her very patient staff it seems....and her customers!! However the rest of the Family seem very nice!
Like i say, dont expect very much......but its ok....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    98
    50
    30
    35
See reviews for
36
132
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I booked my wedding 18 months in advance and was not disappointed on the day. Raj the manager was brilliant. The hotel is still getting refurbished but the main areas are well decorated and classy. On the day the food was the best and couldn't have asked for more. I would recommend this hotel if you can accept that corridors are still very dated but youhardly spend a lot of time in then do you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayleighRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Was not impressed by the smell in the room ..sewage type smell.I only booked in for 1 night so put up with it they were also fully booked..I asked for some air freshner and they said they get someone to go up .On going to the room very late that night the corridor smelt very nice but the room was the same.I ended up spraying perfume and opening all the windows wide.The room did however have a lovely view...over a flat roof which was covered with soil pipes from other rooms toilets.!
Breakfast was very nice with friendly helpful staff. ( egg was a little under done for my liking but thats personal preference.) I thought overall it was however overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I took a party of 19 golfers to Woodhall Spa and as our planned hotel was flooded out we were accommodated at short notice at the Golf Hotel. Raj and his team were very helpful and the hotel's recent refurbishment of the public rooms and some of the bedrooms has greatly improved the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed her via groupon, we did not check trip advisor before booking. It was run down, our room was basic, the bed was uncomfortable, bed linen really cheap, the bathroom was in desperate need of a face lift. The breakfast was awful, I could not eat it, we ate out on both nights even though we were entitled to an evening meal with the booking. Lovely pub just up the road from the hotel to eat at and the vegetarian food was lovely.

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woodhall Spa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.8 km away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.3 km away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
6.5 km away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
36.5 km away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Property: The Golf Hotel
Address: The Broadway, Woodhall Spa LN10 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price range (per night): $112 - $183
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Bedroom Hotel, Built in 1880 and set in seven acres of gardens, lawns and woodlands, the hotel is ideally situated for the Woodhall Spa Golf Club, village and surrounding tourist sights. The Golf Hotel is currently under new management and under going a full refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel And Aqua Sante Spa
The Golf Hotel & Aqua Sante Woodhall Spa
Hotel Aqua Sante
The Golf Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing