We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
175
142
39
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
142
39
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscuckoo clockblack forestbig clockwonderful propertysouvenir shopcoach tourfairy talespecial menulocal attractionshotel groundsboth breakfast and dinnermajor roadwindow boxestwo singleshotel restaurant ishiking trailssleep quality
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We stayed here with a group tour to see the Christmas Markets in surrounding cities and countries. Our room had a balcony right over the rushing creek beside the hotel - beautiful. The shops on the hotel grounds were lovely and the big clock on the one building was such a beautiful surprise! The only drawback was the service in the restaurant - they seemed totally unprepared for our group's visit so the service was not great. The food, however, for both breakfast and dinner was very good.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony over the creek.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FergusMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

In the hills, and December, next to the Christmas market. Great. And it snowed- a bonus. Wonderful, cosy ideal location. Better if you have car and the roads are clear☺. The restaurant MUST booked otherwise no chance. Even though it was minus 7 outside we had a night with no heating.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alexingohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Let me tell you the bottom line - we absolutely loved this hotel !!
Why? Modern and spacious rooms, comfortable beds, a large bathroom, an excellent location, a stunning view, a great service ...and
the breakfast, wow the breakfast ...everything was so fresh and tasty, with a good variety as well.
Another big plus is that they give the Hochschwarzwald Card which includes dozens attractions in the black forest for free !!
We stayed there 8 nights (2 adults and 3 kids) in the family room, which is actually 2 huge rooms together, and loved every second ! Were so sad to leave.
It was with no doubt one of the best hotels we have been in Europe, so don't think twice, just book it today !

Room Tip: we stayed at the modern family room (huge - actually 2 rooms), which was absolutely lovely !
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I was with a group tour so I have no idea of value but they were very accommodating and and it is lovely place.

They provide a tablet in each room, but ours was inoperable and not replaced for two days, It is nice but the WiFi is very low band width and you will do better with a phone with data but even that requires careful location. It is in a deep valley.

The site is a popular stop for tours like Viking which is how I first visited here about fours years ago. These tours fill teh shops but the eopel on it met were nice and I liked talkign to them.

Breakfast buffet is very good as were dinners there but as part of tour I do not know cost. They did make a special arrangement because of a food problem I had and were very accommodating.

teh place is clean and well located.

The shops carry excellent quality items are fair but not bargain prices.

The hotel is quiet at night but when large tour groups arrive a bit boisterous.

Our room was large clean and well set up.

Room Tip: Try for the Goethe House. It is away from the dinnig and restaurant area and is historic.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nhdrjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

You have to see this place to appreciate how nice this place is. The rooms are clean and roomy. The restaurant is clean and the food is very good. The only drawback is that it is really in the middle of no wear but the place was sold out the night we stayed their.

Room Tip: try to book in the main lodge
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews