We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location, welcoming hosts, plenty of space...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Sunny spot to relax
Kitchen with double oven, fridge freezer, washing machine, microwave etc.
Bathroom with shower/bath
View from the top of Duncryne Hill looking approx North West
View from top of Duncryne Hill looking towards the southern end of Loch Lomond
View of Duncryne Hill from the noth west edge of the village
5star retail outlet and coffee shop next door
Glengoyne Distillery 10-15 min drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HolliDave
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location, welcoming hosts, plenty of space and still very cosy!”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome from the hosts to the quite little village. Stunning scenery all around and not too far from Glasgow. Plenty of walking to be done if the rain holds off, and a cosy fire for when the weather changes. Only 2 minutes walk from the village shop which was really handy for breakfast essentials. Loved are stay, thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Howling wind on one stormy night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments and hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards
Neil and Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful few days staying in Fiona's cottage. It's a perfect size for two people, warm and cosy without being at all cramped. The surrounding countryside is just beautiful. Make sure you visit the 'dumpling', a nearby hill that has spectacular views over the lake. Fiona was incredibly helpful and responsive in the weeks before we arrived, and was there to welcome us on the day. Sadly we couldn't stay longer - we'd love to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Thanks for your kind remarks. I am so glad I was able to assist you with your arrangements. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonLilian
Neede, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice cottage to stay.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay that offers you comfort, stay at Tighbeag cottage.
Friendly and a warm welcome, always a good start!
From this location you can easily explore the environment, Loch Lomond, Stirling, different castles and gardens, you name it.
Neil and Fiona, thanks for having us at your cozy cottage!!

Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We would like to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brucejack...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here in July for a few days and had a great time. Fiona - the owner - met us on arrival and was very friendly. The cottage itself is lovely and cosy, with everything you need to for a relaxing getaway, including some nice little extras like Sky television and free wireless internet.
There's an outdoor area where you can sit and you are only about a 15 - 20 minutes walk from the loch's edge. All in all a great cottage and we'd be more than happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Fiona and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el_tel7
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We both had a great time at the cottage. It is situated in the village of Gartocharn which is a great base in which to explore the nearby villages of Loch Lomond. The cottage itself is very nice with everything you would need.
The owners are very nice and helpful and we would stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing