We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 303
View deal
ZenHotels.com
USD 291
View deal
Destinia.com
USD 291
View deal
Lol.travelUSD 305
FindHotelUSD 300
EtripUSD 300
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
165
114
36
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
114
36
13
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2021 via mobile

We were on the first floor. The ensuite room was very clean and spacious. We were a few metres from the beach. Easy access. Perfect! Continental Breakfast was included. Staff are friendly, especially Bene and Rupe in the dining room and Leilani at reception. The 80’s music in the dining room was epic, thanks to Bene. Thanku for a lovely stay!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dawnnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana Sands Group, Marketing at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Kia Orana Dawnnapa.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are delighted to that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have passed on your feedback to the team and they are thrilled that they had made such an impression on you, and we all hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Cook Islands in the future.
Meitaki ma'ata e kia manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

No prior information as to the renovations. We did notify our travel agent for his future references. He was told that we had been offered alternative accommodation. NOT TRUE. We were not even given a free drink. Our agent was told that they were doing upgrading to balcony railing, also not true looks like a complete refit ( I should say that it’s well overdue for the whole property). Lighting is a must considering walking down a few stairs with no lights.
The situation is perfect for snorkeling, beautiful outlook, staff friendly but would we go back. No.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank paulinew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire McErlane, Marketing at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Kia Orana Pauline I would like to take this opportunity to apologise sincerely for the very long delay in responding to your review. We have been through some major changes here at the Moana Sands Group, and unfortunately your review slipped through. With regards to your experience at our Hotel, we have looked into the matter, and apologise that you were not informed of the necessary unplanned maintenance work prior to your arrival, however unfortunately the work had to be done immediately to guarantee the safety of our guests. Due to the inconvenience to you, upon arrival you were offered an upgrade to our Villa property. Once again, we do sincerely apologise. Kia manuia, Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

Hotel is located on the private beach and each room has a perfect view. If you enjoy swimming, snorkeling and kayaking choose this hotel. They have a good selection of snorkeling gear, flippers, reef shoes and kayaks for guests to use. The beach is safe for swimming. You have to be careful when selecting a hotel in Raro as some do not have access to nice sandy beaches. There are many rocks and corals. The beach in front of Moana Sands hotel is perfect for swimming and snorkeling. You can see fish even standing in the water or kayaking. We saw a turtle from our kayak. The rooms are spacious and clean. They have a small kitchen with a fridge, jug, toaster, plates. We enjoyed having lunches on our balcony. The hotel restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast is included in price. Cooked breakfast meals are about $12. Hire a car, so you can explore the island. We used Island Car Hire and they were cheap and reliable. We would definitely select the same hotel if we come back. For younger people I would suggest Muri Beach Club hotel in Muri.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ninab153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay here.
We believe the best location on the island.
All staff were fantastic.
Marshall the groundskeeper was very helpful with anything outdoors.
Merylin for room services was incredible. She even did our muddy washing when we were in a rush.
Reception staff were extremely helpful and full of information.
The rooms were very comfortable and basic. Full range of kitchen goods to cater for in room easy meals.
We had an early morning flight.
The ladies prepared a full breakfast tray for us the night before.
If you don’t want all the glitz and glamor of a fancy resort... this is the place for you.
10/10

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank P7901RPpeterd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

Hotel a bit tired but rooms are very clean. Small kitchen area with microwave, kettle, fridge, crockery etc just right. Don’t do lunch which is a shame. A La Carte menu is good but didn’t change much over the week. Spot on for beach access and total relaxation. Would highly recommend if you want a chilled out break.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 220tinaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews