We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
141
104
32
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
104
32
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the ground floor fish cook islands across the road continental breakfast tropical breakfast every morning loved our stay the hotel manager bus stop cleaning staff restaurant staff different places paw paw white sand beach wigmores supermarket serviced daily
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Moana sands beachfront villas opposite wigmores. Confusing with the same name as the hotel, especially when you don't get picked up, which happened. We had the two bedroom apartment which was quite New , it was great had everything you needed. The staff were fantastic especially Petra. Had a spa which did fantastic massages. Great snorkeling aswell. Would recommend

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danandtrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Sea views, directly on the beach, wonderful sunsets, friendly staff. What’s not to like? We loved it! Especial thanks to Anita at Reception for always being so warm, friendly and welcoming. Amy was so helpful keeping our room tidy too.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Sandra201255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, General Manager at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Meitaki for your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in our slice of the "Little Paradise" of Rarotonga.

I look forward to possibly hosting you again in the near future.

Regards
Wayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Our party of 4 (2 couples) enjoyed our 5 day stay. The room cleaner was friendly and did an awesome job for us. The kitchen staff were also friendly but one in particular did not aknowledge our greetings nor our gratitude. No smiles from her for our whole 5 night stay. Very sad that because of this we chose not to eat at the resturant other than our continental breakfast.
The reception staff were so helpful and friendly and it is because of them we would return to Moana Sands. The location is picture perfect and worth the stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cmurray1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

My husband and I stopped in at the restaurant inside the hotel on a rainy afternoon to pick up some takeaway pizzas to bring back to our place. Wow, they were delicious! The pizzas are shareable but also small enough to consume on your own. My husband got a meat lovers pizza and I got a traditional cheese. We did not call ahead to order, rather just popped in, ordered from the friendly staff, grabbed a beer, and waited our on their back deck which is right on the water - gorgeous! Pizzas only took about 10-15 minutes to cook and then we were on our way.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank _day_kimberlyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel 8 times over the last 16 years. In that time it has undergone a number of refurbishments and improvements. It does not feel like a typical resort hotel which is what we like so much about it. Staying here in this tranquil place with the sound of the waves on the reef and the palm tree leaves clattering you feel you are miles away from everything and truly relaxed. The booking process is efficient and the rooms are clean, spacious and good value for money with kitchenettes and en suite bathrooms. The ground floor rooms lead out directly on to the beach and a safe lagoon swimming area. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The meals in the adjacent restaurant are great. In all we can't fault this hotel which is so much better than some of the other characterless beach resorts on Rarotonga.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Studiobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, General Manager at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Kia Orana Studiobob,

Thank you for your review. These are valued as they keep us in touch with you, our guest, and shows we are doing things right. My Team and I look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Regards and Best Wishes
Wayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews