We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

OSTERIA MADRE TERRA
Ranked #8 of 161 Restaurants in Andria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 33 - USD 46
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We were happy to find a table without reservation, a Sunday noon in August. Nice place, well crowded but still intimate enough.
Waiters were professional and quick, despite the busy holiday season.
We had the antipasti specials, about 7 plates filling the table completely.
Not just the typical things you get everywhere but nice mix of cheese, vegetables, sausage and kind of quiche. All very nice and well presented, a very nice introduction to Puglia's terra cuisine.
The antipasti plate is enough for two people, we were struggling to finish our primi afterwards. These as well were very nice and well seasoned. Once again proof best restaurants are off the beaten track, double as nice as the tourist restaurants on the coast, half the price and far better service.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank 588BBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2016

After our visit to Castel del Monte just a week ago, we asked for advice where to eat well and, among other suggestions, we were given the name of Madre Terra. - We started off with a very copious antipasta, and the food was really wonderful: simple and yet sophisticated small dishes, and everything beautifully prepared and presented, a pleasure both for the eye and the mouth. The reception and service was both friendly and discreet, in one word: professional. Madre Terra can most definitely be recommended.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Inger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Located at only 6 km from castel del monte this is a lovely place to stop off for lunch when in the area. Their starter mix gives you a great selection of the local produce. Another must is the Strascinati with cima di rape and mushrooms the pasta literally melts in your mouth. Price is also very reasonable in 2 we paid 45 euros (2 bottles water, 1 mixed starter, 2 pastas, 1 dessert and 2 coffees). Will definitely return when in the area.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzanitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

it was good. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and very reasonable. I don't understand the poor and terrible reviews. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RichardSW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Once again, if you know a local they are the best guide to the best places. We visited this restaurant a little off hour. If you go to Castle Di Monte and you want to finish the experience with unique cuisine then it will be worth it.

Our hosts ordered a variety of unique dishes made here. I think it is one of the major reasons for coming here. We had the anti pasta, lamb, and a different variety of specialty dishes.

The restaurant is unique and captures a time period in Italy's history. The food is all local and as an Italian Descendant it was very different from Mama's cooking. Mama cooks well but these people cook differently. Superb!

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scarborough39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OSTERIA MADRE TERRA also viewed

Andria, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
Montegrosso, Andria
 
Andria, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
 
Trani, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
Andria, Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani
 

Been to OSTERIA MADRE TERRA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing