We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Amanzi Beach House

A little piece of heaven...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A little piece of heaven...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
A little piece of heaven...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Umzumbe, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David9981...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Well what a awesome week. First thing is position and let me assure you cannot get better I spent many a hour sitting on the deck just soaking in the atmosphere and listening to the waves. Sleeps 12 so with our extended family group we had heaps of space. All the home comforts where their Big Screen Tv , well equipped kitchen . Our hosts Carol and Peter couldn't do enough for us and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The house was serviced daily and everything was always clean and tidy. We did a bit of touring and the houses position close to the highway mad this easy. All in all I would have no hesitation in going back and hope to when I am in South Africa again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing stands out as causing dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonmost...
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
“Great experience with fabulous location and easy access to pristine beach”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in March 2014

The house is very well located and appointed. The beach is is easily accessible and lends itself to great walks and a good swim

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Railway line
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndamV87...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“BEST KEPT SECRET ON KZN'S SOUTH COAST”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A hearty thank you to Carol and Peter, and of course Hugo, the big lovable Labrador, for making our stay at Amanzi Beach House so very pleasurable and most memorable. All I can say is "Wow, this place has everything one could ask for when looking for a peaceful break away from home". We had a wonderful weekend with all the family, our doggy too. There's plenty of room for everyone, so well equipped and with views to die for, not to mention the easy access to the beautiful beach. We'll most certainly be back .... and looking forward to seeing Amanzi Lodge in Nottingham Road for a country getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views of the ocean
Liked least: Lack of parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
After a few rather hectic months of contractors, electricians and plumbers - Amanzi Country Lodge is open for business!
Looking forward to welcoming you to our new guest home :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicus E
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to relax for me and my doggies”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What an awesome place, my wife and I and our 3 dogs went there as it was near my parents in law and brother in law, so they could come visit. Wow wow wow, what a nice experience, spacious and beautiful. 10 x better that the photo's. Thanks Peter and Carol, and of course Hugo

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck and the view to just relax, and nice close beach
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for the kind words and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our previous guests, who like to go on holiday with their dogs, complain how difficult it is to find quality accommodation - so I'm glad you weren't disappointed with our venue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianmprint...
Benoni, South Africa
2 reviews
“A wonderful family Beach House to rent overlooking the sea, South Beach, Kwa Zulu, Natal”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We recently had a wonderful, restful week’s family holiday at the Amanzi Beach House on the South Coast at Umzumbe Beach in Kwa Zulu Natal which after much consideration and research was our final choice of venue for an overdue holiday and family reunion. We were not disappointed and hope to return there as soon as we have opportunity.

Firstly concerning the location, we could not have chosen better. The Beach House overlooks the sea and one can easily walk down to the beach from the garden within three minutes. The whole environment of this particular stretch of the South Coast is particularly beautiful, green and tropical with many quiet, pristine and unspoilt beaches. Upon exploring along the beaches one can observe and discover some amazing fauna with shells, rock pools and an abundance of marine life. It was not unusual to spot seals in the ocean. We also spotted otters etc. One is spoilt with multiple choices of interesting, exciting places to explore, and activities to do. It truly is a perfect place for a family or group, desiring a good holiday by the sea. One can access seaside towns or beaches that are busy and buzzing or choose quieter places each with its own unique character and features.

Although there were nine of us, covering a wide spectrum of ages. There was so much to see and do from that location all within easy reach that everyone in our group enjoyed themselves to the hilt. A visit to Oribi Gorge was a thrilling and major highlight, regretfully, we ran out of time and could have easily spent more time there. Even visiting UShaka Marine World for a days outdoor ocean related fun and activities was in good reach and an enjoyable worthwhile drive.

The Beach house is large with a bright, sunny, and open plan layout. The décor is tasteful modern and breezy following a beach/ocean theme. Kitchen was large and well equipped as advertised. We could easily have accommodated a few more as there were five bedrooms and sleeper couches in the large lounging area and a few camping beds could have been pulled out, so the venue is ideal for large or small families or groups. Everything which we needed was provided for incl. wi fi, tv, laundry facilities, etc. The prices for a group are very reasonable and we feel we received very good value for the cost.

Some of the features we enjoyed were:
The large well furnished/equipped deck and deck pool overlooking the Indian ocean where we spent much of our family time. A beautiful braai area had just recently been completed. We loved watching and hearing the occasional steam train passing by which
added to the indigenous character and colour of that part of the world. Amazing how we sometimes never grow up.
We loved having our bedrooms overlooking the magnificent ocean. No need for alarm clocks, we just got into rhythm with the early morning sun rising over the sea.
The home is serviced every day, including washing up of dishes as needed. [so truly a good break for moms]. Cleaning staff was very sweet and did a great job of needful daily housekeeping.
Carol and Peter our hosts were amazing, friendly, funny, outgoing and efficient in running a great beach house with care. We loved having them around and often invited them to join with us for the pure pleasure of their company. They also were not obtrusive but it was good knowing that they were always accessible should we need them. They had provided beach towels, even surf boards as needed and were able to direct us and give us good advice re best places to visit etc.
Finally but not least of all, we enjoyed getting to know Hugo the master of Amanzi Beach House, who humbly took up his responsibility to watch over us and always gladly accepted our invitations for him to accompany us down to the beach as he so much loved to join in our walks along the beach and romping in the surf.

We certainly had a truly happy time which was enjoyed by each one of us. The only complaint was that we would have loved to stay a little longer. Thank you so much Carol and Peter and Jenine for sharing your beautiful home and making such a wonderful holiday possible. Thank you Jenine too for the lovely tea and spread we shared with you at the Amanzi Lodge, an equally beautiful location and home in Nottingham Road.
Hoping we will be able to visit you all again some time in the foreseeable future;
Best regards and love from Ian and Jen, Michael, Di and Paul. Natalie, Jesse, Rebecca and Caleb

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular view and quietness
Liked least: cant think of anything..it was all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
I have a feeling a travel magazine may be contacting you to write reviews for them after reading this :)
Thank you for the comprehensive and thoughtful review. It truly expresses what a stay at Amanzi is all about.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing