We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
29
7
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
7
4
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The owners Robert and Gerda were very friendly and helpful.Rooms, were spacious and very clean ,nice view, very quiet surroundings,perfect location in the middle forest.
Excelent cuisine- great food,especially the evening meal.
Robert and Gerda do everything with dedication.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ovix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights as part of our tour around Italy on our large motorcycle. The hotel is beautiful, typical Alpen style wooden flowered decked balconies, wooden floors, decorative walls, immaculate condition. The drive/ride up to the hotel is equally as beautiful steep narrow twisting road (perfect for a motorcycle) with glimpses of the view below. The approach to the Hotel is stunning, natural grasses and flowers, green meadows etc.

Our room wasn't huge but was adequate and very comfortable all wood, a large balcony with breath taking views of mountains and the towns below, a large bathroom all very clean.

Breakfast was plentiful with a huge choice of meats, cheeses, bread, cakes, fruit salad, fruit juices,etc etc very good coffee or tea if preferred. Evening meal was very good, very reasonable (just wish they had English menu). We ate evening meal each evening and enjoyed it each time - the chef speaks some English and he was happy to help us out. Staff were friendly didn't any English, spoke Italian and German.

Outside space is amazing lots to look at very clean and tidy. Plenty of seating to eat or just have a drink, parking very good.

This place was a tonic for us, fresh air, gorgeous views, comfortable room with large wrap round balcony. We must return!

Stayed: June 2016
Thank betty072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A lovely bright clean traditional (but newish) hotel perched right on top of the mountain it seemed! There is a long, steep and twisting drive up the side of the mountain, and more than once we wondered if we could possibly be on the right road, but then, we emerged above the tree line to find the hotel with the most awesome views back down into the valley. Spectacular. Large comfortable rooms with more of the beautiful bedding that you seem to get in hotels in this part of the world. The hotel wasn't too busy, but we had no intention of driving down 'that road' again to eat,so without any great expectations, we booked dinner in the restaurant.
I ordered the table d'hôte menu without paying much attention to the courses . . . . (I couldn't understand the language anyway!) To my absolute delight, I was served one of the best meals I'd had in a long time. Presentation was beautiful, really outstanding, and the dishes were all delicious . . . . . truly of a standard you would expect from a Michelin star restaurant! What a wonderful surprise, and I'd love to think that the two young chefs who'd prepared and served the meal, really appreciated how much we'd enjoyed it and how impressed were!
The mists fell during the night shrouding the road back down the mountain so that we were above the clouds at breakfast! Breakfast was good too, and then we were off down into the valley with another days motoring ahead of us. If you're ever in this part of the world, give Berggasthof Haidenberg a try. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Agamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is one of the finest hotels we have ever stayed at. The building itself is beautiful and is set in superb surroundings The staff are very good indeed, as is the chef - we had one of the best meals of our entire holiday here. Be warned, the hotel is located 3km up a narrow, rutted tarmac drive, and is not easy to find, but once there, you really have climbed a stairway to heaven.

Room Tip: Rooms with views across the valley are simply to die for. We stayed in 102, a corner room, which enjoys such a view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavidHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Staid here 4 nights in the end of August and would like to stay 4 more nights easily. Hotel is really nice, it looks like brand new. It is a little bit tricky to find it as my navigation system was not able to show the address so had to spend more time driving through village to see the sign showing the way to the hotel (good thing would be if owners could place more signs). The road to the hotel is narrow and you have to climb up the hill, so when you come first time you better arrive during light time, not in the evening or night otherwise you could have problems to find the hotel.
The territory outside is clean and well maintained. Everything inside is tastefully decorated in Alp style, wooden floors all over. Room is not really big but absolutely comfortable and cosy with a nice opened balcony. At the same time bathroom is rather big and perfectly equipped, like a 4* hotel.
Staff is not really friendly and well trained, hardly speak English (just German or Italian). One day our room was not cleaned despite the sign on the door to make up the room. Another point you have to take into consideration that they would charge you 5 EUR/day/person to change your towels and it is not written anywhere – you will receive the bill afterwards at your check out, this is not really nice.
At the same time restaurant staff is good and polite. Restaurant itself is not big, but offers rather wide choices, food is delicious, everything we tried there was good. At evenings you should arrive before 21:00 (strictly) otherwise they woun't offer you any warm dishes, may be just some salads so keep it is your mind if you are planning to eat there.
Breakfast is served at the same restaurant, everything is absolutely fresh, variety is good, coffee is good so breakfast earns really good points from me.
Parking is free of charge but seems that there is not too much space – at the same time never had problem to find the place to park the car even if arrived late.
All in all, hotel is not bad at all and I could easily recommend it to everyone taking into consideration some minor points mentioned above.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews